Reseñas (447)

Calificación general
4,7
Recuentos por nivel de calificación
  • El 85% de las calificaciones son de 5 estrellas
  • El 4% de las calificaciones son de 4 estrellas
  • El 2% de las calificaciones son de 3 estrellas
  • El 1% de las calificaciones son de 2 estrellas
  • El 8% de las calificaciones son de 1 estrellas
Fecha de modificación: 1 de junio de 2021

Appalling experience. Account suspended, didn't get started until trial almost over. Once it was on delivered only 1 sale (compared to my 10+/day). Now my campaigns are deleted, all work gone & they're accusing me of uninstalling when I never did. They're unprofessional amateurs. Ontop of all this only had 2 days left of trial (so I barely got to actually trial it!) and they refused to reset my trial back to 14 days. Ridiculous steer clear of this company!

Our Baby Nursery
Australia
12 días usando la aplicación
AdScale respondió 2 de junio de 2021

Hi, accounts occasionally get suspended by Google - this is Google's policy and nothing to do with Adscale. We notified you once this happened and offered to connect your Google account instead - which you refused.
We are reaching out to help get things worked out and get you running again ASAP.

Fecha de modificación: 31 de octubre de 2020

Added Adscale after reviewing it's proposed benefits: AI created advertising for marketing. Not at all as advertised! Zero AI ad creation, you create ALL ads yourself on the site, then Adscale creates different versions of that ad. Well that would be great except every single alternate ad version created by Adscale was REJECTED by Facebook. EVERY SINGLE ONE. No follow up from Adscale, No alternative ads offered, ZERO, NADA, ZILCH. CPC worse on ads with Adscale than on those created ON MY OWN through Facebook. In addition, after adding Adscale and having 95% of ads rejected by Facebook, now ALL of my own ads have come back REJECTED. THANKS ADSCALE!
DEFINITELY NOT spending $99/month for REJECTED ADS, ZERO SUPPORT, and the created havoc of all primary advertising RUINED!!!!!!!
Waste of advertising dollars and my time. TWO THUMBS DOWN!!!

Elevation Outdoors
Estados Unidos
12 días usando la aplicación
11 de agosto de 2020

Absolutely useless.

Don't bother to respond to thing but spams your email. Useless service and set up one ad account and they used another and began billing card that was required for set up instead of what you would assume would be the damn ad account I selected. Wasn't even linked to the ad account that I selected it changed to another one that Shopify set up for their ads which have never used.

They must have heaps of money as they don't do a damn thing to respond to anyone but I can bet they will jump on the defensive and blame anything but themselves for responding or lack their off.

For the $15 I bothered to spend before turning off the cost was as high as. For a click. I can go and create my own ad in FB and get it for 1/4 of that instantly.

Messy to use on mobile also. Not set up well. Bad interface. Even on PC the layout is all over the shop. Plenty of better AI services out there that respond to emails and actually worth paying for that don't charge you 10% or 5%0of ad spend or something. Will be using their competitors now that only charge a flat fee and ALSO do AI.... Fancy that guys a company that is cheaper that works also and that actually bothered to have some decent service unlike service!

Beardy Goat
Estados Unidos
9 días usando la aplicación
6 de agosto de 2018

Didn't work, contacted developer who said it would be fixed. Only way I could get it past page 2 of setting it up was with edge browser only. You also get charged a card transaction fee of 5%. And unlike most apps it does not go through your own adwords so you pay adscale upfront for your monthly budget!

Gift Moments
Reino Unido
8 días usando la aplicación
20 de julio de 2020

I used this app on my store and it was horrible experience so far from the past 4 days. 60 usd spent with 1.20 cpc!!!

All my regular manual cbo campaigns are doing fine and its not 1000% ROI it actually 0% ROI dude...

irepeller
Estados Unidos
6 días usando la aplicación
AdScale respondió 20 de julio de 2020

We apologize that you feel this way. As we mentioned, getting a positive ROI is something that can take more time, your campaigns were running for only 4 days, and that's not enough for the campaigns to start to optimize and come out of the learning phase, and it doesn't matter if you run it with AdScale or by your own,

Moreover, we noticed your ads setup was not optimized and you choose only a few advertising channels, what's limited the option to optimize your advertising.

We'll be happy to help you set up everything and guide you through to optimize your campaigns and help you succeed.

Fecha de modificación: 31 de agosto de 2021

I don't know how good or bad this App works. I am facing facebook integration issues and the person in support team doesn't seem to be bothered. I have been waiting for the revert from this support guy from last two hours. I had an existing FB Ad account which was not pulled by Adscale apparently and they created a new account for me. With this new account, I am facing challenge with adding my payment information, Facebook is not allowing to add any credit card information. Facebook support team asked to check with Adscale since they set up this new account for me. On reaching out to their support team, the person has put me hold from last two hours. Such a bad very first customer service experience.
Below is the chat with the support guy. pasting it here since attaching screenshot is not an option here.
"great, now it will appear in the dropdown
are you with me?
is the problem fixed
O
?
let me check
no.. still not able to add credit card
even same problem with editing business details
are you there?
???
this is too much of turn around required to answer a query
let me know if you are not able to resolve it
instead of making me wait for hours
you seem to be least bothered to reply"

India Ethnic Wear
India
5 días usando la aplicación
AdScale respondió 8 de septiembre de 2021

Hi,
During the onboarding process you had the option to select the existing accounts or create a new one. I guess a new one was selected and this is what was created. In any case we can switch over to your existing account if you like.
About support - an agent was on the chat with you and let you know we are looking into switching over you account but when they returned some minutes later you were not on the call anymore.

Support has contacted you several times to complete the onboarding to your requested account.
Please answer them so you can properly evaluate the app and not get the wrong impression.

18 de abril de 2019

Suport delay to answer.They try to get money from my bank account without infom me before and with unknow amount.I need to know what amount need to withraw and i want to have control on my bank account.Later they toll me that i can st my daily budget but the budget button on this app is with black color and not work.Disapointed.

Fashion Jewellery Shop
Grecia
5 días usando la aplicación
AdScale respondió 18 de abril de 2019

We sincerely apologize for the experience you had.

Our app doesn't take any charges without informing you first. You have full control over your budget and you set your daily budget limit during the installation of the app.

You can adjust your budget or pause your advertising campaigns via the 'Budget' page. The reason that the 'Budget' was not available to you yet is because you only installed yesterday and your advertising campaigns are not active yet.

We'll be happy to assist you if you need anything else.

3 de agosto de 2019

Stay out as far as you can, do not install this app.
I've been quite happy finding this app, however my happiness ended very quickly. Basically no support - i've sent 3 reports to support within the last 7 days, I've recieved 1 reply with template pasted that did not even depict my issue. My technical issue has not been resolved (after activating trial period pop-up with trial period offer started to show up on every page completely paralizyng its functionality). The worst however was their eagerness in spending my money - I've managed to partially create a campaign (could not finish due to tech issue) and AdScale started running my partially created campaign. The problem was that I did not pick target location - they run my Poland-targeted product ads all over the world.
Terrible service, app itself has its potential but with such "automated" approach or just plain laziness of your support I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS SERVICE TO ANYONE.

Sabor Gourmet - smak tradycji i natury
Polonia
4 días usando la aplicación
AdScale respondió 4 de agosto de 2019

We sincerely apologize for the experience you had with the app.

However, we would like to clarify a few matters that you mentioned in the review and apparently are misunderstood.

1. You chose the target location for your ads during the installation process of the app. Your ads were targeted solely to Poland.

2. Your ads on AdScale spent less than $2 from the time you installed until you removed the app.

3. We see your first support inquiry that was sent during the office working days received a response within less than 12 hours (Inquiry: Jul 31 - 11:34PM, Response: Aug 1, 10:00 AM)

Please note that like many other apps and services our support is not responsive during the weekend.

Nevertheless, we would be happy to contact and assist you with any technical or on-boarding matters regarding the app.

Fecha de modificación: 30 de agosto de 2020

Verry bed experience, till add campighn is setting, just Google search take all budget, even that all others were in revew. CPC was 1.75$, which is insane

IArt-For you
Estados Unidos
2 días usando la aplicación
AdScale respondió 30 de agosto de 2020

Dear Marlena, you just connected 2 days ago. Your store has 0 past orders, it takes time to bring customers to new stores. Furthermore, you have a budget of $5 per day and you are targeting 5 countries. Please answer our email and we will help you to set up the system correctly.

17 de marzo de 2020

doesnt worked well. customer ervice doesnt reply after 5h ( suppose to be 10 min....) no coupon as advertised well bye bye

Le Coin Intelligent
Bélgica
1 día usando la aplicación
AdScale respondió 17 de marzo de 2020

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. If you experienced difficulties setting up the app we will be happy to assist you. Please note that the $75 Google Ads Coupon is credited to your account once you complete the AdScale installation.