Advanced Cash on Delivery , 111 recensioner

Helhetsomdöme
1,9
Antal per omdömesnivå
  • 14 % av omdömena har 5 stjärnor
  • 7 % av omdömena har 4 stjärnor
  • 6 % av omdömena har 3 stjärnor
  • 13 % av omdömena har 2 stjärnor
  • 60 % av omdömena har 1 stjärnor
27 december 2023

Not Working for Us, Tried a few methods mentioned in other Reviews but nothing is working for us, actually after activation of this app, COD option all together not coming on Check-out page.

Tried Deactivation of Pre-Paid payment gateway but not working for us!

Mebadass
Indien
Ungefär en månad användning av appen
Shopify svarade 2 januari 2024

Thank you for reaching out to us. We would be glad to investigate this further with you and encourage you to connect with our Support team (https://shopify.link/vRnL) so we can do so. -Olivia, Shopify Support

27 januari 2024

Worst service and worst app. The different fees for COD based on order price does not work. COD option vanishes altogether.

Powernoms
Indien
4 månader användning av appen
Shopify svarade 29 januari 2024

Hey! We appreciate your feedback. We would be happy to look into this further. Our live support can be reached here: https://shopify.link/WJna

Please follow the prompts given by the virtual Help Center assistant in order to access our live chat support. - Dirk

4 november 2023

Highly Usable App ! Keeps crashing and does not even open. How do I do settings when the app doesnt even open? Please setup a Meeting to sort this issue. I have 2 stores

Myaara
Indien
8 månader användning av appen
Shopify svarade 6 november 2023

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you're experiencing some trouble with the Advanced Cash on Delivery app. If you haven't done so already, I'd encourage you to confirm that both your device and app are up to date to see if this helps to resolve. If after giving that a try the issue persists, please feel free to connect with our Live Support so we can take a closer look into this: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. - Blair, Shopify Support

8 december 2023

Hello ! I have installed COD on my checkout page and have kept every setting to default but yet, when i enter the address and pin code/postal code, the COD option vanishes from the page. This has been happening constantly. Please help !

RARE PATTERN
Indien
6 dagar användning av appen
Shopify svarade 12 december 2023

Hi! This may happen when rates created on the Advanced Cash on Delivery app didn't properly register with the system. A possible fix for this would be to:

1. Open the Advanced Cash on Delivery app.
2. Choose “No extra fee associated with Cash on Delivery” option and click on “Save”.
3. Choose “Create new Cash on Delivery shipping rates” and click on “Save”.

If after the above steps the issue still persists, please contact our team: https://shopify.link/qLKl so that we can investigate and troubleshoot this further with you. Thanks! -Kimi, Shopify Support

29 december 2023

not working

Accessberry
Indien
Ungefär en månad användning av appen
Shopify svarade 2 januari 2024

Thank you for sharing your review with us. Please connect with us directly (https://shopify.link/vRnL) and we'd be glad to address your concerns with further troubleshooting. -Olivia, Shopify Support

9 november 2023

Can not edit preferences.
The app isn't even opening

Street Culture
Indien
21 dagar användning av appen
Shopify svarade 14 november 2023

Hey, there! Thanks for reviewing our app. We would love to help you with the issue you're experiencing. Could you please perform the following troubleshooting steps to attempt to fix it?

-Clear the cookies and cache of your browser (https://shopify.link/nWZD)
-Try a different web browser, as well as an incognito window or private browsing window (https://shopify.link/xy5o) to rule out any browser issues. If you are still experiencing the error using incognito, confirm you have disabled browser extensions as these can change how the pages look.
-Ensure the web browser (https://shopify.link/3zvN) is up to date (https://shopify.link/ynwg) on the latest version.
-Try another device, such as another computer or mobile phone.
-Try the Shopify mobile app.
-Try another internet connection (switching to a cellular network on a phone rather than wifi, for example).
-Ensure you do not have any firewalls or pop up blockers enabled on your device as these can interfere.

If none of these fix the issue, please visit our Help Center (https://shopify.link/WJna) to create a support ticket so we can investigate. -Summer, Shopify Support

17 oktober 2023

Can not edit preferences.
App isn't even opening

99Bookstore
Indien
4 månader användning av appen
Shopify svarade 21 oktober 2023

Hi - this sounds like we may need to do some troubleshooting. Can you please reach out to our support team for this. Our live support can be reached here: https://shopify.link/mLA Please follow the prompts given by the virtual Help Center assistant in order to access our live chat support. Thanks so much!  -Ivy

27 februari 2024

The COD option, completely disappears with this app, please fix this bug.

Aegon Power
Indien
30 mars 2023

I have Installed the app, now i am not able to collect COD on my website. I am also not able to remove this app from my payment dashboard.

Sarmaya.store
Indien
Mer än 2 år användning av appen
Shopify svarade 2 april 2023

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience using Advanced Cash on Delivery.If you haven't done so already, I'd encourage you to connect with our Live Support so we can take a closer look: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. We'd be happy to chat with you regarding the app to see if we can locate the issue. - Blair, Shopify Support

8 augusti 2023

Keeps Crashing. Not even once I've been able to access this app. Every single time I click on it. It goes in to a vicious cycle reloading and crashing.

Fresh Thread Tees
Indien
21 dagar användning av appen
Shopify svarade 11 augusti 2023

Thank you for taking the time and bringing this to our attention. If the app is stuck on loading or crashing, then it could be due to certain browser settings. We'd recommend checking to make sure that third-party cookies (https://shopify.link/dpjy) is enabled and to allow website tracking (https://shopify.link/7G84') as this is required for many of the integrations on Shopify. Should the issue continue to persist after reviewing the browser settings, then we'd be happy to further assist you through live chat and take a closer look at your account. Simply visit the Shopify Help Center (https://shopify.link/vRnL) and login to your account to create a support request. Cheers. -Elias, Shopify Support