Calificación general
4,9
Recuentos por nivel de calificación
  • El 92% de las calificaciones son de 5 estrellas
  • El 6% de las calificaciones son de 4 estrellas
  • El 1% de las calificaciones son de 3 estrellas
  • El 1% de las calificaciones son de 2 estrellas
  • El 1% de las calificaciones son de 1 estrellas
28 de noviembre de 2023

Such a bad Customer services , I tried many times to connect with them , there is no feedback , they mentioned they have 24/7 Live chat option , but after waiting few days , I still not able to find it

CUBIC
RAE de Hong Kong (China)
5 meses usando la aplicación
Secomapp respondió 4 de diciembre de 2023

Hi there. This is Stark from UpPromote support. We actually replied to your email but we received no response from you at all. We recently tried to reach you again. We hope you can check your mail box once again and give us another chance to assist you. Looking forward to hearing from you :)

24 de octubre de 2023

We had used another App (BOGOS) developed by Secomapp. The experience was so bad: because of their failure to warn Merchants about a bug of their app that allow users to place 0 value orders from the app, we lost a large sum of money.

As a result of this experience, we would not recommend this app to any merchants. And we would warn all Shopify users that we know not to use any app developed by Secomapp.

EcoFlow UK
Chequia
5 meses usando la aplicación
Secomapp respondió 25 de octubre de 2023

Hi there. I'm Stark from UpPromote support. Since UpPromote always strives to give users the best experience possible, we appreciate the reviews from users very much. Therefore, we can't help but feel truly sad receiving a review about an app which is not UpPromote. I've contacted the BOGO team and had them reach you as soon as possible. We hope that they will have a solution and clarify all misunderstandings.

All the best.

17 de octubre de 2023

Started getting inundated with fraudulent orders after installing this app, all linking back to an affiliate. Reached out to customer support, zero support given, just denial. Wouldn't recommend.

Willow and Beech
Australia
5 meses usando la aplicación
Secomapp respondió 18 de octubre de 2023

Hi there. This is Stark from UpPromote support. I think there is some misunderstanding here. You mentioned that the orders were placed with a compromised credit card. Since you have already denied the referral and removed the affiliate from UpPromote, we suggested you contact the buyer for more information and didn't receive a response from you. Please note that we cannot trouble who made the order and who uses the affiliate links, but we would love to know if there is anything else we can do to help.

1 de noviembre de 2023

the worst company in the world i gave them nearly 100,000 affilates and they completely screwed up everything you speak with 7 different people a day i have no idea how they have these reviews

Cali Tiger
Australia
Alrededor de 1 mes usando la aplicación
Secomapp respondió 2 de noviembre de 2023

Hi there. Thank you for sharing your thoughts here. Just a clarification here, all 100,000 affiliates you mentioned are for your own use only, and UpPromote will not initiate any contact with any of them. Also, we're sorry that we don't have any agents who can be available 24/7 just to support you. We had no choice but to support you with different agents. We believe all of our agents are capable of assisting you with your concerns in a timely manner. We have been trying our best to do every single one of your extra requests. Unfortunately, our team effort seems to not meet your expectations. We will keep trying to show you how we deserve those reviews.

Regards,

9 de noviembre de 2023

really bad, it creates a bubble over the chat bubble and just makes the website uglier.

windingropes
Australia
3 meses usando la aplicación
Secomapp respondió 10 de noviembre de 2023

Hello there. This is Stark from UpPromote support. I think there's some misunderstanding here. As we checked, UpPromote did not create any bubbles on your store site. We would like to investigate more on the issue you had there and make things right for you. We've just sent you an email. We hope you can check it out so we can troubleshoot this issue. Hope to hear from you soon.
Cheers!

19 de abril de 2023

Cannot open app and support hasn't gotten back to me. Being charged $139USD per month for nothing.

Solar Kit Depot
Canadá
6 meses usando la aplicación
Secomapp respondió 19 de abril de 2023

Hello there. This is Stark from UpPromote support. We're sorry that you couldn't reach us earlier. We've sent you an email with the solutions for the issue you got there. We hope you can take a look at it soon. Cheers!

19 de marzo de 2023

I don't recommend this app
They don't have phone support you can only chat with them the person chatting is dealing with multiple people at the same time so you will grow old before you can get an answer, extremely disappointing!!

Secrets Of Tea
Estados Unidos
10 meses usando la aplicación
Secomapp respondió 19 de marzo de 2023

Hi there. This is Stark from the UpPromote support team. Thank you for the feedback. Other than the 24/7 in-app chat support, we do provide phone support for urgent cases or users who need help setting up. We will now try to reach you to give you a hand :) Cheers!

29 de enero de 2023

This is a difficult program to set up! And you also have to pay to experience its capabilities! Not worth it! Look for analogues!

Cosmos Art Ceramics
Estados Unidos
3 meses usando la aplicación
Secomapp respondió 30 de enero de 2023

Hello there. This is Stark from UpPromote support. Thank you for the feedback. We will try our best to help you with setting up the app. We would love to hear you out and have a chance working with you to resolve any issue. Please check the in-app chat for our messages <3
Cheers!

28 de enero de 2023

The worst app ever! If you care about your SEO, do not install it. The app populates pages in a foreign language that are getting indexed. You can check it on your google search console. As soon as I removed the app the problem disappeared

Beauty & Cutie
Estados Unidos
Alrededor de 1 mes usando la aplicación
Secomapp respondió 28 de enero de 2023

Hi there. Thank you for sharing your feedback. The generated pages you mentioned are meant to support our 4 specific functions: Embedded form, Embedded login, Customer Referral and Third-party tracking. However, we've never received any report about those pages affecting the store's SEO of users. We suspect that there might be some misunderstanding here. We do hope to get a chance working with you to investigate further. Those 4 pages totally can be removed and handled anyway. We have already sent you more details via this email address in**@bea********tie.com . We hope you can check your mailbox as well as give us another chance to help growing your business.
Cheers <3

16 de marzo de 2023

App makes my whole Shop freeze. It required a external Login and redirect to a Site with endless Pop Ups.

ThugDrive
Alemania
12 minutos usando la aplicación
Secomapp respondió 16 de marzo de 2023

I'm Stark - UpPromote's CS Manager. I hope you're doing well. Thank you for the feedback. We'd love to hear more from you in order to investigate the issue you got there. We've sent you an email with more details. We hope that you can check that out so we could make things right for you as well as other users.
Have a great day and stay safe <3