Ali Reviews ‑ Product Reviews

AliReviews Collect Product Reviews. AliExpress Review Importer

Shopify app insights
  • Popular with businesses in the United States

Free plan available. 7-day free trial. Additional charges may apply.

App highlights

  • Seamless workflow: use directly in Shopify admin

  • Up-to-date tech: works with the latest themes

Reviews

4.9 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

Counts per rating level
  • 92% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 1 stars

Filter and sort reviews

1 - 10 of 287 reviews

Family Wildfire Survival Equipment

Location United States
Time spent using app 39 minutes

The app required that I install an extention, which I did. It did not import the product reviews because it said I had the wrong URL. I could not find a URL that they said I should find. Then, I uninstalled it, and now I have an error message on ALL my pages that says, "Liquid error (sections/header.liquid line 439): Could not find asset snippets/alireviews_aggregateRating.liquid. I don't know how to get rid of it. WTH??????

Developer reply

October 24, 2022

Hi Janet,

I'm William from Ali Reviews and we sincerely apologize for unexpected experience with our app

In relation to your issues, we have seen that one of our colleagues is taking care your case, he gave you clear explanation along with its solution on your case, please let him know if you need further support

Looking forward to hearing from you soonest

Best Regards
William
Ali Reviews by OneCommerce

Rolle

Location United States
Time spent using app 4 months

Horrible low effort customer service that does not help their customers out when needed. WILL NOT use this again. Horrible

Developer reply

September 6, 2022

Hi Jose,

Here's Julia and we're deeply sorry for this inconvenience causing to your experience

1. As we have checked your conversation with the agent and seen that your case was supported normally by the agent, she tried to answer all your queries, maybe her response did not reach your expectation. Please consider to reinstall our app and let us have a chance to support you with the highest priority

2. As we have seen that one of our colleagues is taking care your case, he gave you clear explanation on your case, please let him know if you need further support

Looking forward to hearing from you soonest

Best Regards
Julia
Ali Reviews - Product Reviews Support Team

Senbark

Location United States
Time spent using app 5 months

Terrible app with terrible support. They're all clueless & they take AGES to install the app on your store. Don't even bother, stamped.io and Loox are 10x better. Don't install this.

Developer reply

July 21, 2022

Hi there,

Here's Kyle and we sincerely apologize for what happened to you and your store

For unexpected support from our agent, we personally talked directly to them in order to avoid it in the future. Also please believe us that single conversation does not reflect the whole support and product quality we have built for years so I highly appreciate your understanding on this situation.

As we have checked your conversation with our colleague and seen that we have explained clearly about your issue, please let them know if you need further support

Best Regards
Kyle
Ali Reviews - Product Reviews Support Team

Glimmerine

Location United States
Time spent using app 3 months

Horrible app. Full of glitches, and they take all your reviews down when you switch plans. Then they ask you to pay them more if you want them back up (although you're already on a paid plan). Scammers.

Developer reply

July 21, 2022

Hi Sir,

Here's Michael and we sincerely apologize for unexpected experience with our app

Regarding to your case, as usual after downgrading your plan review will be published as well unpublished according to the plan's limitation. However because we have recently restructured our app under "embedded app" it leads to the effect that all reviews were unpublished after downgrading your plan, it's a known issue and will be fixed in the next releases, hope you sympathize for it

One of our colleagues has been reaching you but unsuccessful, please let them know if you need further support

Regards
Michael
Ali Reviews - Product Reviews Support Team

Alorawear

Location United States
Time spent using app 10 months

This annoying, scammy app refuses to let you publish all your reviews at once if you switched to a lower plan. They just take all your reviews offline and say you gotta pay for a higher plan to publish them back. Super scummy. All other review apps just leave your reviews on. Try Loox.

Developer reply

July 21, 2022

Hi Sir,

Here's Keva and we're deeply sorry for this inconvenience causing to your experience

1. First of all, it's our agent mistake because they supported your case in the wrong way. This agent was given the relevant feedback after that to avoid this mistake again, so we highly appreciate your empathy on this situation

2. As we have seen that one of our colleagues is taking care your case, he gave you clear explanation on your case, please let him know if you need further support

Looking forward to hearing from you soonest

Best Regards
Keva
Ali Reviews - Product Reviews Support Team

Berry Nice Home

Location United States
Time spent using app 3 days

It's a shame that Oberlo has ceased to exist and that we are forced to migrate to fireapps like this! Their technical support is not trained to handle complex issues, they do not understand the problems well, they lack resolution and logic. I have paid for your application and we have received a medicocre application. We have lost 4 days of work, trying to speak with support. We've sent you screenshots, specifically told you about the bug, and even sent you a video, but your tech support is tech-savvy and has no idea what they're doing. Their responses are short and eager to help only to leave the support ticket open! DO NOT INSTALL THIS APP, IT IS A WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY. Hopefully there is some other company that releases an app that actually works and has trained support because they suck.

Developer reply

June 18, 2022

Hi Ricardo,

Here's Kane and we're deeply sorry for this inconvenience causing to your experience

First of all, we fully take responsibility because of unexpected support. Also please believe us that single conversation does not reflect the whole support and product quality we have built for years so we highly appreciate your understanding in this situation

We have seen that one of our colleagues is following your case, he gives you a clear explanation as well as solutions for your case, please kindly check and let him know if you need further support.

Looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Regards,
Kane
Ali Reviews - Product Reviews Support Team

Queenhair

Location France
Time spent using app 9 months

DE PLUS EN PLUS DECU DE CETTE APPLICATION QUI ETAIT BIEN, AVANT...
Aujourd'hui le support boycotte, il ne repond plus, ils lisent les messages et ne repondent pas, les avis ne s'affiche plus, il n y a plus aucune communication avec eux !
J'attends demain, et je supprime cette appli s'il ne me repondent pas Francement à fuir

Developer reply

June 12, 2022

Hi Faris,

This is Oscar and we're deeply sorry for this inconvenience causing to you

First of all, we fully take responsibility because of unexpected support. Also please believe us that single conversation does not reflect the whole support and product quality we have built for years so we highly appreciate your understanding in this situation

We have seen that one of our colleagues is following your case, he gives you a clear explanation for your case, please kindly check and let him know if you need further support.

Regards,
Oscar
Ali Reviews - Product Reviews Support Team

Enamel Camel

Location United Kingdom
Time spent using app 4 days

The bulk importer is the main selling point for this app as I do not have time to find Aliexpress links, one by one, to copy over to an app when each of my 3 stores have over 1000 products. THE BULK IMPORTER IS NOT WORKING when you also use the Dsers app (because Orberlo is shutting down) . The support team is unhelpful, they cut and paste links from the support documentation ( which I have already read) and then one of the dev team suggested that I delete my other stores ( I have 3) from Dsers so that I can bulk import reviews for 1. This would lead to me losing all the product data for 2 stores rendering them usless, wtf ?!!

Developer reply

May 19, 2022

Hi Cara,

Here's David and we sincerely apologize for this inconvenience caused.

In relation to your issue from Dser account because of many stores logging at the same time in 1 account, so you cannot import review in bulk, you need to logout the rest of stores, however we have realized log out one of your store from Dser means removing its data, this is a known issue and we surely noted it to improve it in the next releases

As an alternative solution, please consider to install Ali Orders and it will help you bulk import review like Dser, also because Ali Orders is fully controlled by us, if there's anything wrong with it we can check and fix it immediately

I have seen that one of my colleagues has been sending you follow-up emails, please kindly check it and let them know for further support.

Regards,
David
Ali Reviews - Product Reviews Support Team

Heralore

Location United States
Time spent using app 3 months

Do NOT install this app! It doesn't actually work (you can't import reviews), and the support is inexistent. These people barely speak English and they got no clue how to fix their broken app. Avoid it. Get Loox Reviews or Stamped.io, something else.

Developer reply

April 12, 2022

Hi Eduard,

Here's Fiona and please accept my deepest apology for this unexpected situation

Recently our app has met the trouble with AliExpress, so it prevents you to import review, meanwhile we have provided you temporary solution to handle this. Now I would like to inform that it's completely resolved and you can import normally as it should be.

I have seen that my colleague is reaching out you via email, but unsuccessful, please kindly check your email with clear explanation and let them know if you need further support.

Looking forward to hearing from you soonest

Regards,
Fiona
Ali Reviews - Product Reviews Support Team

MAGIA TOY

Location Brazil
Time spent using app Over 2 years

are killing the app, now to be able to make basic changes you need to be on the $20 plan i.e. a junk app estão matando o aplicativo, agora para poder fazer alterações básicas, você precisa estar no plano de US $ 20, ou seja, um aplicativo lixo

Developer reply

April 12, 2022

Hi GUSTAVO,

Here's Erik and we sincerely apologize for this inconvenience causing to your experience.

In relation to your concern, for making it clear the setting as hiding flag as well as icon is available on Essential plan and above, so hope you consider to upgrade your plan to use these settings.

Also as you know that Essential plan is considered as the best choice for most of users, because it brings not only the advance settings like this but also more useful functions to attract buyers' attention on the products. We completely understand that costs are a big part of every merchant's decision of which apps to use, but we are confident that our app will provide a great return on investment.

I have seen that one of my colleagues has been sending you follow-up emails, please kindly check it and let them know for further support.

Looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Regards,
Erik
Ali Reviews - Product Reviews Support Team

Previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 28 29
Previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 28 29