Helhetsomdöme
4,2
Antal per omdömesnivå
  • 82 % av omdömena har 5 stjärnor
  • 3 % av omdömena har 4 stjärnor
  • 2 % av omdömena har 3 stjärnor
  • 2 % av omdömena har 2 stjärnor
  • 10 % av omdömena har 1 stjärnor
Redigerat 29 september 2023

UPDATE: Just in case AReviews deletes their own reply to my comment here's what they commented under my original review:
"Areviews App replied September 29, 2023
Sorry for the experience, but you never contacted us regarding the importing issue all your messages were about displaying reviews on Pagefly and our team send you a video of how to do it then installed all codes for you,

Also, we never claimed that we offer live chat anywhere in Shopify list or in our app"

Heres my response to their comment below: Login and when you're in the main dashboard, look to the bottom right. You'll see a little chat icon. Click on it. I can't attach images so i'll just copy the text here:

Welcome to Areviews LiveChat
Our agents are not available right now. Please leave a message and we'll get back to you.
Domain: (Ex: shop.myshopify.com)
pelleprima.com
E-mail:
Subject:
Message:

Leave a message
Powered by LIVE CHAT

I don't know about you guys, but that CLEARLY says LIVE CHAT. It's not nice to accuse people of lying. I have screenshots. I'll keep the review at 2 stars though even with the personal attack because when you guys ARE able to help, you guys are very capable and usually fix things in under 5 minutes.

End updated review.

it wont extract all of the reviews from the source page. How do i know? because the source clearly shows 1500 reviews and when i import im only getting 80. No filters on.

the biggest reason for the 2 stars is that they dont have LIVE help. it says they do but its ALWAYS OFF and you have to send a message. I've sent 2 emails asking for help now and they just send me the bad youtube videos i've already seen. The turnaround time has been almost 24 hours.. which feels like a lifetime when you need help NOW. I need LIVE HELP. EVERYONE NEEDS LIVE HELP.

Pelle Prima
USA
Ungefär 2 månader användning av appen
Areviews App svarade 29 september 2023

Sorry for the experience, but you never contacted us regarding the importing issue all your messages were about displaying reviews on Pagefly and our team send you a video of how to do it then installed all codes for you,

Also, we never claimed that we offer live chat anywhere in Shopify list or in our app

18 januari 2024

areviews was better before you could change comment info now that is not possible anymore y'all should upgrade instead of downgrade hard to see a good app going downhill

My Store
Österrike
16 minuter användning av appen
Areviews App svarade 20 januari 2024

Edit reviews was removed by shopfiy team as it's against their policy, we can do nothing regarding this.
Sorry for that.

27 september 2023

I'm having a lot of difficulties in insert images in the reviews of my products, even importing them through Ureviews, the images is not upload. Help me please

Descontos pra já
Brasilien
Ungefär en månad användning av appen
Areviews App svarade 29 september 2023

Sorry to hear that, but you never contacted us
Please reply to our message so we can solve your issues.

10 januari 2024

Lleva más de 5 horas sin funcionar y no me estáis dando repuesta alguna.

RENOVA
Spanien
3 månader användning av appen
Areviews App svarade 12 januari 2024

Sorry for the experience we had urgent server maintenance from the host with Google servers. We didn't have downtime for the last 1 year.

The servers are back on the same day after the maintenance is finished.

Thank you for understanding.

21 april 2023

Impossible de modifier les textes comme avant. On pouvait modifier les textes et faire beaucoup plus de choses mais là on ne peut plus rienb paramétrer. Je déconseille

Stavia
Frankrike
Ungefär 21 timmar användning av appen
Areviews App svarade 21 april 2023

Sorry for the incontinence, we removed the edit option according to Shopify policy as it considered as violation, and edit option will get removed from all Shopify apps not only us.

12 mars 2021

Sadly not so happy. Wish it would work better. Sometimes it does import 6 (free plan) reviews good. Sometimes not at all, evewn though reviews exist on Ali. Also the integration into Oberlo works even less good with less options. Most of the times it cannot import the reviews.... :( wish it would work....

Lucky-Garden
Tyskland
Nästan 2 år användning av appen
Areviews App svarade 12 mars 2021

Hello, you didn't contact us regarding this issue

As you know we have many filters and if you enabled many filters they might remove all reviews

like if you enabled reviews with images only

if no review has image nothing will be importing based on enabled filter

contact us and we will check what causing it

7 december 2022

There is a problem with this app, how can I contact the technical support team???????????????????????

Minisforum
Hongkong SAR
Mer än ett år användning av appen
Areviews App svarade 8 december 2022

Sorry for the inconvenience; it was an unexpected and unavoidable error.
We fixed the issue, and now everything is back to normal we will make sure such errors won't happen again.

7 december 2022

The app messed up my entire product page, a bunch of weird codes popped up, I lost all my social proofs

Paraíso Seu
Brasilien
8 månader användning av appen
Areviews App svarade 8 december 2022

Sorry for the inconvenience; it was an unexpected and unavoidable error.
We fixed the issue, and now everything is back to normal we will make sure such errors won't happen again.

2 augusti 2021

Most pathetic customer service. No chatbox. Response time 3 to 4 days.
There is no way to export reviews. Avoid

A10 SHOP
Indien
3 månader användning av appen
Areviews App svarade 5 augusti 2021

Hello, most of the time we reply within 12 hours, anyway we sent you the file sorry for the experience

7 december 2022

Estou com problemas no app.. Não está pegando na minha loja. Está dando "Fatal Error"
Desinstalei.. voltei para instalar, mas não consigo

Nalubi
Brasilien
5 dagar användning av appen
Areviews App svarade 8 december 2022

Sorry for the inconvenience; it was an unexpected and unavoidable error.
We fixed the issue, and now everything is back to normal we will make sure such errors won't happen again.