Gesamtbewertung
4,8
Anzahl pro Bewertungsstufe
  • 87 % der Bewertungen sind 5 Sterne
  • 11 % der Bewertungen sind 4 Sterne
  • 1 % der Bewertungen sind 3 Sterne
  • 0 % der Bewertungen sind 2 Sterne
  • 1 % der Bewertungen sind 1 Sterne
25. September 2023

Avoid AutoDS at all costs!

My experience with their services has been incredibly frustrating. First of all, their automation service, which they advertise as included, is actually an expensive 'add-on' that you have to pay for separately. What's even more infuriating is that even after paying for this service, it never functioned properly. I had to contact their support team numerous times due to recurring errors on their end. In the end, the automated service proved useless, forcing me to manage everything manually.

One of the most aggravating incidents involved items that AutoDS marked as 'shipped,' but they never reached my customers. Shockingly, I only discovered this when I proactively sought tracking information and was told that the product had gone out of stock on the supplier's website. AutoDS failed to notify me of this issue, which is the least one can expect from such a service!

As a result, they couldn't fulfill my customers' orders, leading to sudden cancellations, refunds, and financial losses on my part.

To compound the frustration, their online chat support is consistently unavailable. When you face an urgent issue, your only recourse is to open a 'ticket' and wait for a response, which can be excessively time-consuming and inconvenient.

In conclusion, I strongly advise against using AutoDS. Their services are unreliable, their pricing is deceptive, and their customer support is sorely lacking. There are far better alternatives available for your automation needs!

MOVLY STUDIO
Vereinigtes Königreich
4 monate mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 29. September 2023

Hi "MOVLY STUDIO",
We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with our service.
We want to assure you that our team is already taking actions to resolve the issue.
As of now, we have already offered a solution and hopefully, we will make it right for you 🙏🏻
Please contact us at yuval@autods.com
We will be glad to help you with all your concerns.
AutoDS Team

20. Oktober 2023

I had such a bad experience with AutoDs.
The price and availability of a product changed when importing from the supplier website to AudtoDs platform. I lost so many sales because my AutoDs listing was showing out of stock, but actually it wasn't. And many of my products were overpriced, as AutoDs set a way wrong higher price from the supplier.
I contacted them, and they fixed it, but it happened again every time I added a new product to the platform.
They also charge extra to use AI features for text and to automate each order you make, which other apps have included in their subscription.
Communication is a nightmare; they reply quickly but don't have a follow-up system to know your past issues. So every time a new customer service agent talks to you, you need to explain all the issues and enquiries again.
They still charged me after I cancelled and filled out their form. So I had to do it again to get the refund.
They have good potential. However, I lost time and money when there were many other efficient apps out there.
To finalize, I received an email from Eva, the customer manager, asking why I left AutoDs. I replied with all this feedback, and in some way, the email went to the support team, and they opened a ticket saying my account was deactivated. Well, what a big mess.

plants&people
Australien
Etwa ein monat mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 22. Oktober 2023

Hi "plants&people",
Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback to us
We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with our service.
Please contact us at dorina@autods.com.
We would be glad to make it right for you and help you with your onboarding.
Waiting for your reply!
AutoDS Team

Bearbeitet am 19. November 2023

Changing my review, this company absolutely sucks. First of all their online chat on their website is NEVER WORKING. So you have to communicate with customer service representatives via email which it takes them up to 24 hours to respond. So when you have pending issues that need immediate action and resolution, it's impossible to get any help.

Second their FBA service which automatically fulfills orders for you is probably the worst automation service i've ever dealt with. Our store gets over 100+ orders a day and one AutoDS's side of thing they seem to randomly choose which orders get fulfilled and which ones dont. We have 100+ orders that are claimed to have "insufficient balance" to be fulfilled even though our auto order credits and balance are fully loaded. No matter how many times we resubmit the orders to auto ordered, it gets the same message.

Stay away from this company until they get their act together, unless you want to have a constant headache working with them.

HappyGadget™
Vereinigte Staaten
9 tage mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 13. November 2023

Hi "HappyGadget™"!
We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with our service.
As of now, we have already offered a solution and hopefully, we will make it right for you 🙏🏻
Please also feel free to contact us at dorina@autods.com
We will be glad to address all of your concerns!
AutoDS Team

Bearbeitet am 29. Oktober 2023

Terrible experience, support does not exist only when you need help, they only exist if you do a chargeback or call the bank to let them know this company scams people. It does not upload tracking numbers to shopify, so there are hundreds of people asking me where is the tracking number. You cannot take the money out of the balance you can only load it, when all the youtuber who promote this saying you can take it out. SCAM! They will probably respond to this review with "CoNtAcT Us So We CaN HeLp" but they will not respond while using the service.

EDIT: They contacted me saying they will give my money back that is in my balance but then again left me on delivered for days. Will remove my rating if they actually refund me or I’ll do a charge back for all the money I gave this terrible dishonest company.

GOTHAM'S LEGACY
Vereinigte Staaten
5 tage mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 27. Oktober 2023

Hi "GOTHAM'S LEGACY",
We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with your experience.
As of now, we have already offered a solution and hopefully, we will make it right for you 🙏🏻
Waiting for your reply!
AutoDS Team

14. November 2023

I am being charged for this app when I downloaded it in error was told I would not be charged. I never used it.

House Of Raes Boutique
Vereinigte Staaten
27 tage mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 17. November 2023

Hi "House Of Raes Boutique",
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this feedback to us.
We apologize for any misunderstanding or inconvenience you may have experienced. It was never our intention to create a situation where you were misled regarding our services. We understand that you have concerns about refunds, and we are here to assist you with any further inquiries or issues you may have.
As of now, we have already offered a solution and hopefully, we will make it right for you 🙏🏻
You can also contact us at dorina@autods.com
AutoDS Team

3. Dezember 2023

I am having such a bad experience with AutoDs.

I was charged $368.7 after one day of using their 14-day trail just to explore their app. i don't wish to continue using this service i just need my money back.

My Store
Schweden
3 tage mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 5. Dezember 2023

Hi "My Store",
Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback to us.
We apologize for any misunderstanding or inconvenience you may have experienced. It was never our intention to create a situation where you were misled regarding our services. We understand that you have concerns about refunds, and we are here to assist you with any further inquiries or issues you may have.
Please contact us at dorina@autods.com
We would be happy to address your concern.
AutoDS Team

Bearbeitet am 8. September 2023

Edit my review from 5 star to 1 star

This is the worst tool for dropshipping. They market themselves as a tool that speeds up order processing, but in reality, it only extends the processing time. Orders are processed in 7-9 days instead of the promised 24-48 hours, thereby increasing your customers' dissatisfaction. I do not recommend anyone to use it. I switched to another application and am very satisfied because orders are now processed within 1-2 hours. They do not refund orders that customers canceled due to the long wait, and in the end, they place new orders the next day, causing you to incur losses.

plutosgold
Vereinigte Staaten
Etwa 2 monate mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 28. August 2023

Hi "plutosgold"!
We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with our service. We want to assure you that our team is already taking actions to resolve the issue.
Please contact us at dorina@autods.com
We will be glad to help you with your concern!
AutoDS Team

25. November 2023

Hi, Could you please STOP trying to charge my card for this app? I did not approve of this app, and have uninstalled the app since yet you keep on trying to charge me $658.68 every day!!! Please kindly cancel this charge! It is way too expensive, and I do not need this app, and I did not install this app in the first place. Thank you.

Coolio
Australien
2 tage mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 26. November 2023

Hi "Coolio",
Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback to us.
We apologize for any misunderstanding or inconvenience you may have experienced. It was never our intention to create a situation where you were misled regarding our services.
As of now, we have already offered a solution and hopefully, we will make it right for you 🙏🏻
AutoDS Team

15. September 2023

I'm confused by the additional fees. I am already paying $29.99 per month, what does that include? What does that not include? Will I be charged extra for each sale I make?

Tahdah Trinkets
Vereinigte Staaten
10 tage mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 18. September 2023

Hi "Tahdah Trinkets",
We’re sorry to hear that you were confused.
As of now, we have already offered a solution and hopefully, we will make it right for you 🙏🏻
Please contact us at dorina@autods.com.
We will be glad to help you with any concerns you have!
AutoDS Team

30. November 2023

Honestly terrible. Would have been a great tool, but they are buggy, slow, and don't work half the time. This company is getting in its way - trying to grow fast while not fixing any issues.

Vlixen
Vereinigte Staaten
5 tage mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 2. Dezember 2023

Hi "Vlixen",
We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with your experience.
As of now, we have already offered a solution and hopefully, we will make it right for you 🙏🏻
Please contact us at dorina@autods.com
We will be glad to help you with any concerns you have!
AutoDS Team