AutoDS: Dropshipping & POD , 7.485 Rezensionen

Gesamtbewertung
4,8
Anzahl pro Bewertungsstufe
  • 89 % der Bewertungen sind 5 Sterne
  • 8 % der Bewertungen sind 4 Sterne
  • 1 % der Bewertungen sind 3 Sterne
  • 0 % der Bewertungen sind 2 Sterne
  • 1 % der Bewertungen sind 1 Sterne
27. Februar 2024

I wish I had the same experience as the positive reviews. Our company had too many issues with orders not shipping, and it was very difficult to find tracking information or updates. Their customer service was slow to respond and often could not track the order. We were receiving irritated emails from our customers and had to stop the service.

Container Creations
Vereinigte Staaten
7 monate mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 29. Februar 2024

Hi "Container Creations",
We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with your experience.
As of now, we have already offered a solution and hopefully, we will make it right for you 🙏🏻
We will be glad to help you with any concerns you have!
We are looking forward to your reply!
AutoDS Team

11. April 2024

I had to make another account cuz it wouldn't let me confirm the email and it still doesn't let me confirm it

Creston.Store
Vereinigte Staaten
Etwa ein monat mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 19. April 2024

Hi "Creston.Store",
Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback to us.
We’re very sad to hear that you weren’t satisfied with our service.
Could you please contact us at dorina@autods.com to help you with your issue?
Looking forward to your email!
AutoDS Team

17. März 2024

This app is not very easy to use. I did not like that there wasn't certain things showing.

SqueakyClean
Vereinigte Staaten
Etwa 2 monate mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 18. März 2024

Hi "SqueakyClean",
We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with your experience.
As of now, we have already offered a solution and hopefully, we will make it right for you 🙏🏻
Looking forward to your reply at dorina@autods.com
We will be glad to help you with any concerns you have!
AutoDS Team

Bearbeitet am 19. März 2024

Adding an extra star for Dorina, who has been extremely attentive and helpful.

Still, heed my warning, no matter who you signup with:

1- Nothing is "automatic."
2- Expect problems. & there are exceptions to everything.
3- Don't believe a word of marketing, esp. Shopify's drivel (trust me, I worked in Marketing for a few companies and wrote this stuff).
4- ChatGPT 4 is excellent at generating apology emails to customers.
5- Thank the heavens I haven't started marketing my site yet. I guess, deep down, I knew to expect issues. And wow... was I right.

I'll continue to adjust star ratings as things progress.

-----
Pure, buggy garbage. Can I give it 0 stars?

Avoid. Avoid. Avoid.

Half my orders end up in "error" state, and when I ask why, I get the standard ".... the order was cancelled by the supplier or customer (whatever that means)," and/or "we have no control over anything" (that much is clear). If (and this is rare) an order actually ships, the shipping times are pretty abysmal. There is literally no useful support.

In summary, a lot of big promises, and massive under delivery. I'm actively trying to find a competent replacement, but my fear is that this is as good as it gets (which leads to bigger questions about "the side hustle." Who is this really benefitting anyway?... hmmm...").

Shopify and AutoDS have turned my initial excitement and exuberance into a daily, dread-filled check of my email and Shopify balance, followed by a slew of apology emails to customers and discount codes they'll probably never user, because their initial experience was so poor (and so out of my control).

I would do anything to start over again with a completely different infrastructure. I can't believe I'm going to have to start PAYING these people money soon, unless I just pull the plug, of course.

Luscious Skin Care
Vereinigte Staaten
Etwa 2 monate mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 17. März 2024

Hi "Luscious Skin Care",
We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with your experience.
As of now, we have already offered a solution and hopefully, we will make it right for you 🙏🏻
Looking forward to your reply at dorina@autods.com
AutoDS Team

5. April 2024

Vital Years
Vereinigte Staaten
14 tage mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 8. April 2024

Hi "Vital Years",
Thank you so much for taking time to write this feedback to us.
Would you mind reaching out to us with more details about the situation? Any more light you could share on what happened and would help us to find the right solution moving forward.
Please feel free to contact us.
AutoDS Team

7. März 2024

Keep trying to charge my account

DRISECOLLECTION
Vereinigte Staaten
15 tage mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 11. März 2024

Hi "DRISECOLLECTION",
Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback to us.
We apologize for any misunderstanding or inconvenience you may have experienced. It was never our intention to create a situation where you were misled regarding our services.
As of now, we have already offered a solution and hopefully, we will make it right for you 🙏🏻
Looking forward to your reply!
AutoDS Team

Bearbeitet am 19. Februar 2024

Guys I just want to give you my feedback. I am not sure why people try to recommend AutoDS, I guess it's the affiliate policies you are having, but first of all your interface is quite bad and it's taking over a week to get sourcing for a product. It's literally insane. I have orders waiting for 1 week and you are not doing anything about it even after I've emailed you several times. Live chat - literally can't use it. I have the app for 1+ week now and the Live chat was available just once when I've already decided I will uninstall the app. Insane, would not recommend to anyone. On top of that it cost some monthly retainer even tho they will add on the product costs which makes it literally pointless to use at that point when there are some free alternatives (won't mention them as I have respect for what you try to do). My personal advise would be to leep working more on the company inner processes instead of focusing on the marketing when you can't deliver. Thanks.

Update2: Right after I've given the 1-star rating I was contacted and offered a 3-month free trial. I've decided to give it a try because I thought the problem might be on my side not putting enough effort into the app. So let me be straight - still I don't regret my 1-star review. The only reason I am putting 2-stars is because of Dorina who were there in case I had some issues (even tho it's just the app that can't solve my issues, so we were basically having a non-formal convo). The app is still - super bad interface in the form of UI/UX, hard to navigate yourself, if you are like and want to learn by yourself and not being babysit on every step (as you are expected to save time with the apps, not to waste more time) you probably won't be able to use it properly. So afterall I am changing from 1 to 2 stars simply because of Dorina's direct whatsapp support.

Velouro.com
Vereinigtes Königreich
Etwa ein monat mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 29. Dezember 2023

Hi "Velouro.com",
We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with our service.
We tried to contact you with no luck.
We pride ourselves on our product and the high-quality standards we maintain and would like to make things right.
Please contact us at dorina@autods.com
Waiting for your email!
AutoDS Team

9. November 2023

great friendly interface but horrible order management, i came from dser to try something new, dsers has a one click order placer with cheaper plans while auto ds forces you to copy and paste all of your customers shipping details before placing an order! I regret switching from dser, auto ds only adds time to my daily dropshipping routine

HomeTechWonderland
Vereinigte Staaten
Etwa ein monat mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 10. November 2023

Hi "HomeTechWonderland",
We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with our ordering service.
As of now, we have already offered a solution and hopefully, we will make it right for you 🙏🏻
You can also contact us at dorina@autods.com
We would be glad to help you with all your concerns.
AutoDS Team

19. Oktober 2023

While the app works, the management could be better. I had cancelled my account, or so I thought. Was charged still, then a fee they claim can't be waived was applied. Even though I caught the charge immediately and disputed it. Not very good customer service.

My Store
Vereinigte Staaten
Etwa 2 monate mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 22. Oktober 2023

Hi "My Store",
Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback to us.
We apologize for any misunderstanding or inconvenience you may have experienced. It was never our intention to create a situation where you were misled regarding our services. We understand that you have concerns about refunds, and we are here to assist you with any further inquiries or issues you may have.
Please contact us at dorina@autods.com
Waiting for your reply!
AutoDS Team

12. Juli 2023

deception, your company offers 14day trial for 1k items to go into store but won't allow upload without upgrading.... Honestly by law that is deception!!!

Honey Couture
Vereinigte Staaten
Etwa 2 monate mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 14. Juli 2023

Hi "Honey Couture",
We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with our service.
Please contact us at dorina@autods.com
We would be glad to help you with all your concerns.
AutoDS Team