Rezensionen (8.777)

Gesamtbewertung
4,9
Anzahl pro Bewertungsstufe
  • 90 % der Bewertungen sind 5 Sterne
  • 7 % der Bewertungen sind 4 Sterne
  • 1 % der Bewertungen sind 3 Sterne
  • 0 % der Bewertungen sind 2 Sterne
  • 1 % der Bewertungen sind 1 Sterne
5. Juni 2024

Not the greatest experience. Good at grabbing drop shipping items off of sites and adding to your store but that is about it. Lots of hidden fees for functionality that works 50% off the time. No customer service. I am sure they would charge extra for service as they charge extra for everything on top of the monthly fee. Also, item variants count towards overall product allowance( yes there is a limit, unless you pay more) if you have different sizes and colors of 1 product it adds up fast. Do your homework before purchasing, wish i would have done more.

Black Square Golf
Vereinigte Staaten
2 monate mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 11. Juni 2024

Hi "Black Square Golf"!
Thank you for sharing your feedback.
We’re sorry to hear about your experience and would like to address your concerns.

Please fill out this form: https://autods.typeform.com/to/aVnsRB2V, so we can assist you further.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.
AutoDS Team

Bearbeitet am 4. Juni 2024

Unfortunatelly this app gave me errors always with the only order I tried to do.
The last was about wrong address, but the address was completelly right! 3 times different errors and one order made 26th of may yet not elaborated.

AutoDS asks you to do a good review to give you credits, so I don't really believe in much of those nice reviews here.

I putted 50€ of credit and let's see If I can get it back, than I will cancel my account.

Good Lucky!

--------------------------------

UPDATE:

The CHAT never works, so I opened a ticket with them. They was tempestive to answer me by my refund request, BUT my balance was 50 EURO and they refund me only 42,50 DOLLARS.

I asked my 11€ back, as once you put money in there, I had to put 52,50€ due to taxes and my balance was 50€ anyway...

So only to TRY this AWFUL tool, I lost 13,50€ - Not a really ammount but mine.

I hope they fix it, than never more AutoDS

--------------------------

UPDATE

They contacted me and gave me the other part of the money.
For the app I give 1 star, for the aim to solve the problem, 4 stars.

Average 2 stars.

The positive part is that i felt an effort from them to improve their reputation solving the problem of money.

For the others problems I don't know if it was fixed once I stopped to use the platform.

Paradea
Italien
4 tage mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 28. Mai 2024

Hi "Paradea",
We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with your experience.
As of now, we have already offered a solution and hopefully, we will make it right for you 🙏🏻
Looking forward to your reply!
AutoDS Team

26. Mai 2024

A bug prevented my auto-orders from working and when I contacted support their responses weren't the easiest to read nor the most helpful. I was also told there was no ETA on when the developers would get back to me.

Forbidden Fountain
Vereinigtes Königreich
7 tage mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 28. Mai 2024

Hi “Forbidden Fountain”!
Thanks for sharing your feedback.
We are sorry to hear you’re having difficulties with the automation of your orders.
Your satisfaction is important to us and we look forward to getting this resolved for you quickly!
AutoDS Team

11. April 2024

I had to make another account cuz it wouldn't let me confirm the email and it still doesn't let me confirm it

Creston.Store
Vereinigte Staaten
Etwa ein monat mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 19. April 2024

Hi "Creston.Store",
Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback to us.
We’re very sad to hear that you weren’t satisfied with our service.
Could you please contact us at dorina@autods.com to help you with your issue?
Looking forward to your email!
AutoDS Team

27. Februar 2024

I wish I had the same experience as the positive reviews. Our company had too many issues with orders not shipping, and it was very difficult to find tracking information or updates. Their customer service was slow to respond and often could not track the order. We were receiving irritated emails from our customers and had to stop the service.

Container Creations
Vereinigte Staaten
7 monate mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 29. Februar 2024

Hi "Container Creations",
We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with your experience.
As of now, we have already offered a solution and hopefully, we will make it right for you 🙏🏻
We will be glad to help you with any concerns you have!
We are looking forward to your reply!
AutoDS Team

17. März 2024

This app is not very easy to use. I did not like that there wasn't certain things showing.

SqueakyClean
Vereinigte Staaten
Etwa 2 monate mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 18. März 2024

Hi "SqueakyClean",
We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with your experience.
As of now, we have already offered a solution and hopefully, we will make it right for you 🙏🏻
Looking forward to your reply at dorina@autods.com
We will be glad to help you with any concerns you have!
AutoDS Team

14. Juni 2024

it was so good keep it up easy simple and pro

My Store
Vereinigte Staaten
23 minuten mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 16. Juni 2024

Hi "My Store"!
Thank you for sharing your feedback.
We would love to hear some additional feedback about how we could improve our service even more.

Please fill out this form: https://autods.typeform.com/to/aVnsRB2V, so we can assist you further.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.
AutoDS Team

Bearbeitet am 19. Februar 2024

Guys I just want to give you my feedback. I am not sure why people try to recommend AutoDS, I guess it's the affiliate policies you are having, but first of all your interface is quite bad and it's taking over a week to get sourcing for a product. It's literally insane. I have orders waiting for 1 week and you are not doing anything about it even after I've emailed you several times. Live chat - literally can't use it. I have the app for 1+ week now and the Live chat was available just once when I've already decided I will uninstall the app. Insane, would not recommend to anyone. On top of that it cost some monthly retainer even tho they will add on the product costs which makes it literally pointless to use at that point when there are some free alternatives (won't mention them as I have respect for what you try to do). My personal advise would be to leep working more on the company inner processes instead of focusing on the marketing when you can't deliver. Thanks.

Update2: Right after I've given the 1-star rating I was contacted and offered a 3-month free trial. I've decided to give it a try because I thought the problem might be on my side not putting enough effort into the app. So let me be straight - still I don't regret my 1-star review. The only reason I am putting 2-stars is because of Dorina who were there in case I had some issues (even tho it's just the app that can't solve my issues, so we were basically having a non-formal convo). The app is still - super bad interface in the form of UI/UX, hard to navigate yourself, if you are like and want to learn by yourself and not being babysit on every step (as you are expected to save time with the apps, not to waste more time) you probably won't be able to use it properly. So afterall I am changing from 1 to 2 stars simply because of Dorina's direct whatsapp support.

Velouro.com
Vereinigtes Königreich
Etwa ein monat mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 29. Dezember 2023

Hi "Velouro.com",
We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with our service.
We tried to contact you with no luck.
We pride ourselves on our product and the high-quality standards we maintain and would like to make things right.
Please contact us at dorina@autods.com
Waiting for your email!
AutoDS Team

7. März 2024

Keep trying to charge my account

DRISECOLLECTION
Vereinigte Staaten
15 tage mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 11. März 2024

Hi "DRISECOLLECTION",
Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback to us.
We apologize for any misunderstanding or inconvenience you may have experienced. It was never our intention to create a situation where you were misled regarding our services.
As of now, we have already offered a solution and hopefully, we will make it right for you 🙏🏻
Looking forward to your reply!
AutoDS Team

12. Juli 2024

Unfortunately after approximately two months of using AutoDS, we have come to the decision in removing it. This is due to a number of issues that we've identified. The AutoDS 'Stock Monitoring' feature is of poor quality; as it only detects whether the product is in stock - it does not calculate the number of stock that is available; including any variants of each product. We use the GBP currency; as default, therefore we are unable to make use of the 'Fulfilled by AutoDS' feature; and so no order fulfilling will be provided to us, despite paying a large price in subscription fees. AutoDS customer service had failed to acknowledge the fact we cannot use many premium features and did not consider offering us a permanent and reduced subscription fee. Their best offer was one month free. While we do like the number of suppliers that AutoDS provides and the quick responses to emails, there are too many other problems. Regrettably, we cannot continue with AutoDS until a number of issues have been correctly addressed but it seems that customer support are unwilling to make such changes or improvements.

WONDERCRAFT LTD
Vereinigtes Königreich
Etwa ein monat mit der App
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools hat geantwortet 15. Juli 2024

Hi "WONDERCRAFT LTD"!
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re sorry to hear about your experience and would like to address your concerns.

Please fill out this form: https://autods.typeform.com/to/aVnsRB2V, so we can assist you further.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.
AutoDS Team