Reseñas (8.131)

Calificación general
4,9
Recuentos por nivel de calificación
  • El 90% de las calificaciones son de 5 estrellas
  • El 8% de las calificaciones son de 4 estrellas
  • El 1% de las calificaciones son de 3 estrellas
  • El 0% de las calificaciones son de 2 estrellas
  • El 1% de las calificaciones son de 1 estrellas
9 de noviembre de 2023

great friendly interface but horrible order management, i came from dser to try something new, dsers has a one click order placer with cheaper plans while auto ds forces you to copy and paste all of your customers shipping details before placing an order! I regret switching from dser, auto ds only adds time to my daily dropshipping routine

HomeTechWonderland
Estados Unidos
Alrededor de 1 mes usando la aplicación
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools respondió 10 de noviembre de 2023

Hi "HomeTechWonderland",
We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with our ordering service.
As of now, we have already offered a solution and hopefully, we will make it right for you 🙏🏻
You can also contact us at dorina@autods.com
We would be glad to help you with all your concerns.
AutoDS Team

14 de junio de 2024

it was so good keep it up easy simple and pro

My Store
Estados Unidos
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools respondió 16 de junio de 2024

Hi "My Store"!
Thank you for sharing your feedback.
We would love to hear some additional feedback about how we could improve our service even more.

Please fill out this form: https://autods.typeform.com/to/aVnsRB2V, so we can assist you further.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.
AutoDS Team

19 de octubre de 2023

While the app works, the management could be better. I had cancelled my account, or so I thought. Was charged still, then a fee they claim can't be waived was applied. Even though I caught the charge immediately and disputed it. Not very good customer service.

My Store
Estados Unidos
Alrededor de 2 meses usando la aplicación
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools respondió 22 de octubre de 2023

Hi "My Store",
Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback to us.
We apologize for any misunderstanding or inconvenience you may have experienced. It was never our intention to create a situation where you were misled regarding our services. We understand that you have concerns about refunds, and we are here to assist you with any further inquiries or issues you may have.
Please contact us at dorina@autods.com
Waiting for your reply!
AutoDS Team

12 de julio de 2023

deception, your company offers 14day trial for 1k items to go into store but won't allow upload without upgrading.... Honestly by law that is deception!!!

Honey Couture
Estados Unidos
Alrededor de 2 meses usando la aplicación
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools respondió 14 de julio de 2023

Hi "Honey Couture",
We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with our service.
Please contact us at dorina@autods.com
We would be glad to help you with all your concerns.
AutoDS Team

Fecha de modificación: 26 de julio de 2023

Somehow it shows over $800.00 for my billing. I upgraded a plan because this app always redirects you for upgrading a plan, but it's trying to bill me for two plans. I am new to drop shipping, and I haven't been able to find actual live help with any of this and feel completely lost. I cancelled everything with this app, but the billing still shows up on my Shopify store. Can someone please reach out to me to get this resolved?

Everything Toys
Estados Unidos
6 días usando la aplicación
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools respondió 25 de julio de 2023

Hi "Everything Toys",
Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback to us.
We apologize for any misunderstanding or inconvenience you may have experienced. We have tried many times to contact you with no luck.
Please contact us at dorina@autods.com to make it right for you!
AutoDS Team

16 de septiembre de 2023

its difficult for me i dont know how because my product was not import the other website

SMARTBUYONLINESHOP
Emiratos Árabes Unidos
Alrededor de 23 horas usando la aplicación
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools respondió 18 de septiembre de 2023

Hi "SMARTBUYONLINESHOP",
We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with your experience.
As of now, we have already offered a solution and hopefully, we will make it right for you 🙏🏻
Please contact us at dorina@autods.com
We will be glad to help you with any concerns you have!
AutoDS Team

18 de septiembre de 2023

I'm just starting but it was good so far

Affordable Trends Store
Filipinas
1 día usando la aplicación
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools respondió 21 de septiembre de 2023

Hi “Affordable Trends Store”!
We appreciate your comments about our interface and want to ensure you receive the best service our team is known for providing.
Please contact us at dorina@autods.com
We would be glad to help you with your onboarding.
AutoDS Team

Fecha de modificación: 27 de febrero de 2023

Customer Service is slow. I got many bugs. App doesn't import customization variants from Etsy and Amazon. Why?

FromPicToArt
Estados Unidos
1 día usando la aplicación
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools respondió 1 de marzo de 2023

Hi "FromPicToArt",
We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with your experience.
We have tried to reach you with no luck. We would really appreciate it if you could get back to us as soon as possible so that we can settle this issue together.
You can send us an email at: yuval_w@autods.com
AutoDS Team