Helhetsomdöme
4,9
Antal per omdömesnivå
  • 90 % av omdömena har 5 stjärnor
  • 7 % av omdömena har 4 stjärnor
  • 1 % av omdömena har 3 stjärnor
  • 0 % av omdömena har 2 stjärnor
  • 1 % av omdömena har 1 stjärnor
Redigerat 14 april 2020

There is much better elsewhere.
And social proof is bug : variable ICITYI does not work.
At the end : loose a lot of time and app deleted
no button to send bug and ask for help

CLUB VIP France | Boutique Officielle.
Frankrike
7 månader användning av appen
AfterShip & Automizely svarade 26 maj 2020

Hello,
Thank you for your feedback. We have tested and found that the features are working fine. Could you please check again and let us know if you still face any issues.
Thanks
Team AfterShip

Redigerat 18 mars 2023

At first this app seem great but 2 weeks later and I can’t even get in the app.

I’ve tried multiple different browsers, cleared cookies and caches and still nothing. Customer service takes forever to respond. Can’t access anything. And 1st time you ask for help they’re quick to help so they can force you to leave a good review.

Don’t do it, def find you another app cause I Definitely will be looking for a better app.

DashofLights
USA
7 månader användning av appen
Redigerat 25 juli 2021

Giving this app one star because it constantly freezes up on me causing me to have to start from the beginning each time. When I reached out, they told me the basics "clear your catche" "make sure you're connected to a high speed service" etc.... None of those things worked. Every other app attached to my site works perfectly fine so no its not connection issues. I didn't really like how they didn't ever resolve my issue. Other then that, the app is a good/decent app for sending out emails, pop ups, etc... this is just my experience, everyone might not have the same. adding onto this review as I am continuing to experience inconveniences with this app. 1.) I had "Powered By Automizely" removed from my pop up about 6 months ago and is suddenly appeared again. When asked to remove I was told it may not be able to be removed bc I have a free shopify plan?? which I don't, and makes no sense considering it was removed previously. 2.) Right after that issue, I go to send a newsletter out and its telling me I can ONLY send to 300 contacts because they need to verify that I am not a spammer? I was told I would have to wait 12-24 hrs. This is such an inconvenience considering as a business I must send out newsletters in a timely manner. I am searching for a new newsletter app that I can switch over to because I am finally fed up with the issues I keep having

MountMariah
USA
6 månader användning av appen
AfterShip & Automizely svarade 31 maj 2021

Please accept my sincere apology for the experience you had. However, this is not the experience we want to provide to our users.

You are our valued user and we are committed to provide the best support at all times. We are assigning a support executive to investigate and resolve your concern. Please check your inbox, as you will be contacted via email shortly.

We regret the inconvenience caused to you.

Regards,
Neelima Aggarwal
Team Automizely

21 februari 2022

Avoid any product created by Automizely. Customer service is friendly but they are not knowledgeable about their own product and are effectively useless. I have deleted all their apps. RUN!

Paris Michael Home
USA
5 månader användning av appen
AfterShip & Automizely svarade 21 februari 2022

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

Please accept my sincere apology for the experience you had. However, this is not the experience we want to provide to our users.

You are our valued user and we always aim to deliver a great experience. We are very disappointed to know that our service did not meet your expectations. We will try to investigate the reason for the concern that you have raised and ensure that all your issues get resolved and that you are delighted with our services.

We regret the inconvenience caused to you.

Regards,
Shahvaz
Team Automizely

10 augusti 2022

Very difficult to work with. per there website and my account, my subscription for mail services is turned off. I have a large contact list so the bill is over $200 added monthly to shopify. Well they STILL have the charging going on for september eventhough my automizely account says free plan.

CPtees
USA
5 månader användning av appen
1 mars 2022

Do not use this app. Just use the free Shopify Email app instead, because:
1) It randomly loses my progress when I'm working on an email campaign. You have to manually save every 5 min. Are we back in 90s now?
2) Buggy user interface all around.
3) Rude and unhelpful support. I'm a web developer. I know how easily some of these bugs can be fixed, especially for a big company like theirs. The support person always ignores my suggestions and blames me for their lack of best practices.
4) Shopify Email is free and has most of the same features you need. I have 2000+ contacts that I send emails out on a regular basis. This app has been incredibly difficult to work with. I really tried to work with Automizely for weeks, because only they had the features I needed. Not any more.

SymbiOp Garden Shop
USA
5 månader användning av appen
AfterShip & Automizely svarade 2 mars 2022

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

Please accept my sincere apology for the experience you had. However, this is not the experience we want to provide to our users.

You are our valued user and we always aim to deliver a great experience. We are very disappointed to know that our service did not meet your expectations. We will investigate the reason for the concern that you have raised to understand where we have fallen short of your expectations.
We are assigning a support executive to investigate and resolve your concern. Please check your inbox, as you will be contacted via email shortly.

We regret the inconvenience caused to you.

Regards,
Neelima Aggarwal
Team Automizely

Redigerat 26 augusti 2020

出BUG了,无限加载,废了。。为什么会要求评论要100个字符?这是什么奇怪要求,也是无语了。非要叽歪这么多字不成。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。

So Beautiful Wig
Hongkong SAR
4 månader användning av appen
Redigerat 3 augusti 2021

I have my contacts move from another email marketing and have been verified by another App, unfortunately when i send they told me my emails listing contain spam but did not review further as some engine will stop the emails bounced and suppress it but for them, i have no idea. i asked for 3 days and they not response and each time different agent response i have to repeat few times the same issues as my account is suspended! Horrible service.

var deals
Singapore
4 månader användning av appen
Redigerat 20 maj 2021

I used this app for a popup campaign, It worked fine the first time, some time after when I started a second popup campaign it did not work because the coupon code from the first campaign shows as the code of the second campaign, I even deleted the first code to avoid it from showing it and it didn't work, . Tried everything, this app is messed up, it shows any coupon code, not the one you decide to,. Its Very confusing for costumers and frustrating, I need to find an app that works well always not just the first time.

Forever Kids Jewelry
Kanada
3 månader användning av appen
AfterShip & Automizely svarade 21 maj 2021

Apologies for the inconvenience caused. Please be rest assured that we are here to make your experience even better with our application. Your patience here has been so important. Your issue would be dealt with utmost priority.

I would request you to please tell us what we can help you with and what are your expectations using Mobile app. We will try our best to assist you on the same.

Our Support Team is available 24/7 to help you with all the issues you might face while finding your way around the app.

Regards,

Automizely Marketing Team

11 april 2020

There is no customer support, not even a live chat! Doesn't work. Tried the sales boost countdown, it doesn't show up anywhere.

Melanie Martins
Storbritannien
2 månader användning av appen
AfterShip & Automizely svarade 22 maj 2020

Hello,
Thank you for your feedback. We have two options to have this feature enabled on: 1. Home/Collection Page and 2. Product Page. You need to have it enabled. Please check it again and let us know if you have issues and we will take care of it.
Thanks
Team AfterShip