Variant Option Product Options

Variant Option Product Options

by Relentless Apps

infinite options, custom product, color swatch, upload, fields

4.7 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    90% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    3% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    2% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    4% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

10 reviews

I really liked this app, it's best if you are using this app by itself. I tried to use this app with another app and both wouldn't work together. it was then explained that only one app can be used to control the checkout process at a time. Well that's unfortunate, I would prefer to be able 2 use 2 apps at a time when it comes down to the check out process. I wanted my customers to be able to choose their customized options with this app, yet still be in a vip program with their own rewards from another app and I couldn't do both. if they can figure out how I can do both, I would gladly pay monthly again for both apps.

Developer reply

January 26, 2021

I am sorry the app didn't fit your needs. For our price add-ons feature to work it needs to take over the checkout process. Other apps like the one you have also need to take over the checkout process and that's why they aren't compatible. Sorry about that.

If there is anything else we can help you with please let me know.

Relentless Apps

This is a great options app. Very simple and straightforward. The only problem is, it didn't play well with our theme. Apparently, there's a known glitch with this app on some themes. Here's what occurs... The price for an option will display correctly on the product page, but then the price will zero out as soon as the item gets added to the cart. The developer sent me some code to add to our store (much appreciated), but it failed to sort out the problem. Sadly I can't use this app in its current state.

Developer reply

November 17, 2020

Thank you for your kind words about our app. I am sorry the app didn't work properly for you.

With hundreds of themes and thousands of apps there are endless possible compatibility problems. We are constantly improving our app to fix any problems that come up.

I emailed you back to try and fix this issue but I never heard back from you.

Let us know if there is anything we can do to help you in the future.

- Jon
Relentless Apps

Mon Cadeau D'Amour

en cours de résolution, je modifierais la note une fois le problème résolu, merci de votre assistance

Developer reply

August 26, 2020

We helped with all the issues you had.

Let us know if there is anything else we can do to help.

Thank you,
Relentless Apps


I needed an incredibly simple text box for customers to enter a note attached to each purchase. It needs to be a required step prior to check out, so a regular form not associated with a specific purchase did not work. This App works for my purpose. The app needs a date field, ability to format text, and size the text box.

Developer reply

September 23, 2020

Thank you for the feedback. We plan on adding a date field when we have more time to develop this.

You can edit the size of the text box with code.

Email us back and let us know if we can help you with this.

Thank you,

PC Build and parts

App is good, but base level doesnt allow you to add prices to options like other apps do for less money, the option to add prices brings it to $10 less than my entire shopify subscription fee for my business, not great value

Developer reply

September 23, 2020

I'm happy you liked the app.

We offer competitive pricing. One of our top competitors Bold Product Options charges $49.99 for similar features.

If you need any more help let us know.

Relentless Apps

Kyle's Style

Decent. When your customer does a FILE UPLOAD and tries to Add to Cart it takes SO LONG that customers think the button doesn't work.
Also, if you have to edit the pages of multiple products you have to restart the search process over and over again. The app does the job but needs improvements.

Developer reply

June 26, 2020

We upgraded our app to have a loading animation so the customer knows they will need to wait while the file uploads.

We don't have any control over the customers connection and the speed at which they can upload their files.

We also have a duplicate tool to duplicate your options to multiple products so you don't have to restart every time.

- Jon


I loved this app. It worked great but then I realized it broke my Facebook pixel. The add to cart and initiate checkout would not fire. This really f ed up my marketing and campain. I don't know if this was a glitch that only happened to me but it is something to be noted.

Developer reply

May 15, 2020

We upgraded our app so FB pixel will work automatically with all themes.

It's been a while since you've installed our app. How is everything working for you?

Is there anything else we can do to help you?

- Jon
Relentless Apps


Has a ton of potential. Super easy to add customization (monogramming in my case) and add-on pricing. I had to uninstall it because it prevents customers from using discount codes at checkout which my customers rely on. Rumors are this issue will be resolved at some point and then I will look to re-install if I haven't found an alternative by then.

Developer reply

March 3, 2020

We have updated our app and we now offer a solution for discount codes on the cart page. You can test it on our demo page.

Please email us at and we can help you fix this on your site.


This app does provide a way to customise the product options and it was really easy to use. It has the conditional logic that I was looking for. However a huge drawback is that I am unable to connect a product image to the product selections. I am afraid that if this isn't resolved I will have to look for another app, it is a non negotiable for me. But it was easy to use and looked good in my Shopify store, so if you don't need to connect images then it is a good option for customisation.

Developer reply

December 12, 2019

Our app can load an image associated with a variant if you are using Shopify Options. Sometimes certain themes need some code to make that compatible.

Can you contact us here or send us an email at and we can fix the issue for you.


I really wanted to like this app. I really did but the premium plan has overall failed for me. Firstly, the order print page wasn't showing the values my customers were choosing. I contacted the Relentless team and they got back to me immediately, saying tech support would keep in touch within 4 days. It has been weeks and no one got in touch.

Secondly, I implemented several coupon codes for email subscribers and for various sales including free shipping. It's been a month and I thought it odd that no one was using these coupon codes. That is, until I realized my "Discount Code" field during checkout was completely missing. I looked it up and thought maybe I had to upgrade my account. Well, $70 later, nothing helped. I then did some testing and realized the main issue was this app. For some reason, when customers select variants with an upcharge, discount codes just simply don't work. Automatic discounts don't show a newly calculated subtotal and the discount code box on the checkout page is no longer displayed. The only way customers could add a discount code was if they chose options that didn't cost extra.

This app was great from the get-go but after using it for a month, I realize the serious limitations of the premium plan and will unfortunately, have to update my 400+ items for something else more viable and compatible. I think this app is excellent for shops that don't have any upcharges on their variants. The basic plan will work perfectly but if you're going for the premium $18.99 plan which lets you add pricing for your variants, I would recommend another app's premium plan like Product Customizer. It's $19.99 but works seamlessly with discounts which I really appreciate.

Developer reply

September 5, 2019

We have updated our app and we now offer a solution for discount codes on the cart page. You can test it on our demo page.

Our app is compatible with Shopifys free Order Printer App, if you add a few lines of code. Below is more info.