Box Builder

Box Builder

by BoxUp

A build-a-box solution for your gift boxes and much more.

4.4 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    81% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    5% of ratings are 4 stars
    (1)
  • 3 of 5 stars
    0% of ratings are 3 stars
    (0)
  • 2 of 5 stars
    10% of ratings are 2 stars
    (2)
  • 1 of 5 stars
    5% of ratings are 1 stars
    (1)

All reviews

1 review

SpaceOutLabs

This app for the past three months is unbelievable slow, it takes at least 10 seconds to load products in a box that contains no more than 30 items. There are "large boxes" now for items over 50 items but my boxes did not meet that threshold. I really wanted to like this app, as I need something along the line of this but I think I will have to make it myself :(. Due to this I did not use it very often with my customers. I decided to uninstall it on 1/20/21 and went to the developer for a prorated refund. The developer gave me the run around saying that I needed to contact Shopify and create a ticket. After replying directly with a quote from Shopify App Store Terms of Service saying that the developer is in charge of issuing refunds for apps if processed through the Shopify App Store (which this was). The developer then "defended himself" and claimed that he can only issue store credit to his app. Also provenly untrue based on my last email to him where I quoted Shopify TOS. After my reply stating that I would like a refund to the Shopify App Store, this was the last that I heard from the developer and had to reach out again to contact him, as he "couldn't find any record of his reply". After finally getting back to me the developer once again claimed that he could not refund me but now due to a completely separate reason, due to the deletion of the app. Andrew at Box Builder is running a really shotty and shady operation here. Andrew now is holding my money for a service that he is no longer providing to me as the app is no longer installed on my store. Andrew I know you will reply here, give me money back.

Developer reply

January 22, 2021

Hi there.

We appreciate your honesty regarding the speed but we're completely baffled by your summary of the communication we've had over email. We're more than happy to refund the amount we've discussed but we do not have access to apply a credit on your account once you've uninstalled the app. That's just how Shopify work, not a decision that we've made.

We asked you to contact Shopify and we'll happily agree it once they come to us. This is path that others have followed successfully and again, the path set by Shopify.

The quote you sent us confirms what we've told you. Please read it carefully. Apps can only refund if the charge was made "outside of Shopify". These charges are made inside of Shopify and cannot be refunded by the developers, only Shopify.

To say Andy is running a "shady operation" is completely unreasonable and an absolute shame that you've come to that conclusion. Please bear in mind that you're not entitled to a refund of any kind but we're agreeing to offer you one regardless. I think it's fair to say that this doesn't fall under a "shady" or "shotty" operation.

I think it would be a fair and reasonable request to ask you to double-check the wording on the quote you sent over. You'll see that we can only refund if the charge is made outside of Shopify. I'll personally agree a refund for the last full month but you have to go through Shopify. Again, this is a rule of Shopify, not something we have control over. You can also check what I've mentioned above with them.

Lastly, we never spoke about optimizing the speed for your store. We're happy to look into this for you if it's something you would like to do in the future.

I wish you the best with your store.

BoxUp Team