整體評分
4.9
各級評分數量
  • 94% 的評分為 5 顆星
  • 3% 的評分為 4 顆星
  • 1% 的評分為 3 顆星
  • 0% 的評分為 2 顆星
  • 1% 的評分為 1 顆星
2024年2月22日

It is converted to the store's default currency at checkout. It would be much better if you fix this.

Remaxyy.com
土耳其
使用應用程式 大約1個月
Helixo 已回覆 2024年2月23日

Summary: The issue arises from a misunderstanding regarding app limitations on the Checkout page. According to Shopify policies, apps are prohibited from making modifications on the checkout page.

Hello,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We understand your concern about currency conversions at checkout.

According to Shopify policies, enabling Shopify markets is necessary to perform currency conversions on the checkout page. These markets handle the conversions as outlined in the following link: Shopify Payments - Selling and Getting Paid in Different Currencies

If you have enabled markets, Shopify will take care of the currency conversions on the checkout page. However, if you haven't enabled markets, our app can still switch currencies up to the cart page. Please note that apps are restricted from making modifications on the checkout page, as per Shopify guidelines.

We appreciate your understanding of this default behavior of our app.

In case of further queries please contact us at support@helixo.co or via our in-app chat. We are always happy to help you.


- Tinu,
Customer Support Lead at Helixo

2024年1月5日

terrible app. They can't convert decimals! If you have $20.5 as a price, they'lll only take $20. Absolute amateur software and horrible customer service too

drinksuperpowders
黎巴嫩
使用應用程式 6天
Helixo 已回覆 2024年1月8日

Hello, as we have observed, you have enabled Shopify markets, where the conversions are managed by Shopify itself. In such instances, our app may have limitations specific to these scenarios.

For a more accurate and efficient resolution, we recommend reaching out directly to Shopify support, as they are equipped to provide dedicated assistance in cases where Shopify markets are enabled.

Concerning your experience with our customer service, we sincerely apologize for any shortcomings you encountered. It appears there might be a misunderstanding concerning the handling of conversions.
We acknowledge the importance of clear communication and want to assure you that we value your feedback. We will conduct an internal evaluation and implement improvements based on your insights.

Thank you for your understanding, and we look forward to the opportunity to make amends and improve your experience.

In case of further queries please contact us at support@helixo.co or via our in-app chat. We are always happy to help you.


- Tinu, Customer Support Lead at Helixo

2023年10月31日

Messed up my sales. Converter did not auto change, showing the incorrect currency for different countries, even in US showing GBP. Had multiple people confirm they were also seeing this same problem. Buggy app.

Vurbz
美國
使用應用程式 大約18小時
Helixo 已回覆 2023年11月2日

I'm truly sorry to hear about that and to fully address these issues, we kindly request you to consider reinstalling the app. Rest assured, the customers won't be affected by any potential issues since we can check the issue by accessing only the preview theme. It would greatly assist us in pinpointing and resolving the problem.

Your willingness to collaborate with us in resolving this matter is highly appreciated. We are grateful for the time and effort spent sharing your thoughts with us. It's through feedback like yours that we can continually improve our app and enhance our services, and we're dedicated to resolving this issue promptly.
Thank you once again for allowing us to make things right. We look forward to serving you better and ensuring a more positive experience in the future.

In case of further queries please contact us at support@helixo.co or via our in-app chat. We are always happy to help you.
- Tinu, Customer Support Lead at Helixo

2021年2月8日

Their support is HORRIBLE. This app is extremely buggy, doesn't even work on certain iPad versions + flag option doesn't even show on newest mobile. Be aware! Support promised to fix the bugs/issues last 6 months to no avail. Continues to lie, their technical support team constantly gives false promises and now blocked me simply because they are not capable of fixing their bugs. Just horrendous overall. Worst app ever!

Hey Fancy Style
美國
使用應用程式 12個月
2021年10月18日

Calculated the wrong exchange rate, so had to disable, seems it does not work with all themes, adding random words to hit the 100 word minimum!!

Prohormones
英國
使用應用程式 8個月
Helixo 已回覆 2021年10月24日

Thank you for your feedback. But please note we use the exchange rate provided by Shopify itself.

Also, while enquiring with the support team we could find that you never contacted us regarding this issue. So we never got a chance to diagnose the issue or even reach conclusion whether this issue was indeed due to our app or just misunderstanding.

We are happy to help you with this matter if the issue is with our app. We always help our clients to achieve the app's full potential in every way we can. So please get back to us so that we can figure out what went wrong and fix it for you.

You can contact us via the in-app chat or at support@helixo.co

Looking forwards to hearing from you.

2022年2月7日

I was looking forward to using this app on my website but instead it has caused confusion by converting values twice! It will list one converted price on the main page and then a different price after they add to cart! I also have been trying to get this problem resolved for over a month. So I emailed support to uninstall it. They said it was completed when it wasn't. Values are still converting twice and it has not been uninstalled. I am so very disappointed with the service that I received and I will not be using another app from this company because of this experience. I have been very patient and have been neglected as a customer.

DA-12® Punchy Tshirts in Orangeville, Ontario Canada
加拿大
使用應用程式 5個月
編輯時間:2020年10月30日

Customer service is so BADDDDDDDD ! Contacted them and waiting for more than 2 weeks, but the issue hasn't been resolved. First I sent them twice via email, but got no reply. Then I had to login to the app and sent them message via Chat support, there was no body there. So I left a message telling them that please contact me via email . Then I received a notification via email saying that somebody answered me via ... message (WHY MESSAGE, NOT EMAIL ????) , and she said "Let me check, one moment please", and then NOTHING ELSE. No answer, no more message, no email coming . I kept waiting but no body contacted me after that "one moment please" :(((( SUCH A TERRIBLE SUPPORT !!!!

Dr.C Lab - Organic, Natural, Vegan Cosmetics - Silicon Valley Smart Beauty Research Innovation Center
美國
使用應用程式 5個月
2021年2月2日

Abysmal customer service. Virtually none. The responses that do arrive are very slow, not helpful, not followed up. So as long as things are working ok, then ok. But, it's not. First it was working with Shopify's multiple currencies and then apparently it was not. At first the prices showed USD and then they did not. At first the switch from the shop currency to chosen currency was fast, as claimed. Now it is very slow. No response from the app once again. It's been such a waste of time.

LeilaCools
加拿大
使用應用程式 3個月
2022年10月10日

Customer service is the more incompetent that I have seen for a very long time, frankly, stop contradicting you! It's been for a week that I have bugs with their application, they tells me to do this and that but in the end nothing changes. After I am told things that are false! I hallucinate! Seems very good and kind at first but in the long run believe me that these are people who do not know what they are talking about. Don't waste your time.

Kizishop
加拿大
使用應用程式 13天
Helixo 已回覆 2022年10月12日

Hi!

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience, but I really appreciate you bringing this issue to my attention.

It seems that you misunderstood our response.

Yes! The currency is converted at your checkout page also.

It is because you have enabled Shopify multi-currency.

Unfortunately, as per Shopify policies apps are not allowed to convert currency at the checkout page.

https://help.shopify.com/en/manual/payments/shopify-payments/multi-currency/setup

Hope this article can help you to understand well.

Also, regarding your initial query about rounding and conversion, as we've already told you, the conversions are handled by Shopify as multi-currency was enabled on your store.

That's why we told you to contact Shopify for better support.

Hope you understood.

I apologize again for the inconvenience. we take all reviews seriously and will use them in our continuous improvement efforts!

In case of further queries please contact us at support@helixo.co or via our in-app chat. We are always happy to help you.

-Helixo Support Team

2020年11月11日

The prices for my products stated to raise by themselves when somebody was scrolling up and down the page.

UniqueWebShop
比利時
使用應用程式 9天