Bulk Products Editor

Bulk Products Editor

by SpurIT

Edit Product and Variant Details in Bulk. True "all-in-one"

3.4 of 5 stars(57 reviews)

All-in-one product manager

Smart & fast all-in-one product manager: bulk price change, product/variants titles, description, tags, vendor, SEO.

Amazing speed for product edit

Edit all your products in 1-click. Product variants are shown on one page for quick edit operations.

Smart scheduler for changes

You can set products or product variants to appear at your store on a certain date.


About Bulk Products Editor

You're running business covering product groups and numerous collections, so you need a quick tool to change a variety of products in bulk.

You can do this using standard Shopify functionality that's quite good for basics. Or you can do it like a pro with Bulk Product Editor. Our app allows you to edit absolutely all parameters either for products or product variants right on one page.

Key features

  • Bulk operations available without leaving a page
  • Quick add for new products
  • Schedule product/product variants visibility
  • Pre-schedule, archive or restore your past products/product variants
  • No theme modification

100% Quality Guarantee

Use the app for two months. If it doesn't pay itself back, you can uninstall it and contact us so we could refund you the cost of the app.

24/7 Support

We will always guide you if you need a helping hand. The app is very easy to set up, but please feel free to call, chat with us in the app or send an email.

Media gallery

Support

Pricing

Free Plan

Free

  • One page products and product variants editing

  • Fast addition of new products/variants

  • Fast live chat support

Advanced Plan

$13.95/month

or $11.16/month billed at $133.95 once per year

  • Free Plan +

  • Bulk editing of all product parameters and product variants

PRIORITY SUPPORT

$22.95/month

or $11.16/month billed at $133.95 once per year

  • Up to 3 h/month of customizations

  • Dedicated manager

  • Priority queue to get support

  • Assistance to set up the app

  • + All from the Advanced Plan

* All charges are billed in USD. Recurring charges, including monthly or usage-based charges, are billed every 30 days.

3.4 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    70% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    11% of ratings are 4 stars
    (6)
  • 3 of 5 stars
    4% of ratings are 3 stars
    (2)
  • 2 of 5 stars
    4% of ratings are 2 stars
    (2)
  • 1 of 5 stars
    12% of ratings are 1 stars
    (7)

Most recent reviews

Artscoolkids

Not sure what to rate this one... My bulk description changes have been stuck on "Waiting" since yesterday afternoon for about 340 products. Anytime I refresh the "Report" page, the start time changes to the current time and it lists NO products in the products column, even though I chose "Select All" when setting it up. Not really sure what to do. Maybe look for a new app? One edit I started yesterday morning still says "In Process" - Maybe I need to uninstall and reinstall? Two stars for possible operator error, but I REALLY doubt it.

Developer reply

October 26, 2020

Thanks for your feedback. We are extremely sorry that you've faced such inconvenience. We tried to contact you via email in order to help but didn't receive any response yet. Please drop us a line at your convenience. Hope to hear from you soon! :)

Canvas Portal

Do not use for bulk editing descriptions. It's not a bulk editor because you can only select a maximum of 10 items at a time and worse, when you type your descriptions in any line spacing will be removed and you end up with a compressed useless awful looking description. Countless emails back and forth with support were just a huge waste of time. They tell me its fixed and its not. Then it was sort of fixed but not really for about 10 minutes and then back to being useless. Wasted hours on this

Developer reply

August 5, 2020

Thanks for your feedback and sorry that you've faced confusion and inconvenience. We've contacted you via email in order to discuss this situation :)

Case & Covered

Doesn't install or load - just times out every time. Will have to look for something else instead. Shame.

Gave them a second try after they assured me they fixed everything - still doesn't work.

Developer reply

November 22, 2019

Hello!
Could you please specify about the difficulty you've faced using more details?
Please let us know about it via live chat or e-mail, so we could find a solution for you.