评论 (917)

整体评分
4.8
每个评分等级的数量
  • 90% 的评分是 5 星
  • 6% 的评分是 4 星
  • 1% 的评分是 3 星
  • 1% 的评分是 2 星
  • 2% 的评分是 1 星
2023年10月29日

This app is terrible; it messed up our bundle price. Making changes to product prices using this bundle app within the different prices; canceling the checkout orders now duplicates the bundle bug. For this horrible code tampering, they should be removed from the app store. PLEASE FIX AS SOON AS POSSIBLE!

Tymo Beauty
美国
3年多 人在使用应用
2023年10月19日

It does the job, but very very glitchy if you are generating 30k+ a month, discount codes don't when customers go to check out, they are charged the original price. Limited customization, and also reached out multiple times to Jigs, but is very limited to what they can do. Turn-around time to get a response is 2 days. I was quite disappointed, as I would've liked to continue using their bundle app.

Elate-Depot
澳大利亚
4个月 人在使用应用
WebContrive已回复 2023年10月23日

Hi Reylorn,

Sorry for the inconvenience caused, We've identified and resolved the recent discount issue in your store. The conflict arose from the ReConvert Post Purchase Upsell App generating discount codes ahead of our Bundle app, causing disruptions.

We're collaborating with ReConvert to ensure seamless integration, allowing both apps to work harmoniously, and generating combined discounts. This will prevent future issues, ensuring a smooth shopping experience for your customers.

Your satisfaction is our priority, and we appreciate your feedback to enhance our service. For any questions, contact our support team. We're here to help.

Thank you!

编辑时间:2024年4月22日

App is down and no support reachable.

Infused energy
德国
4个月 人在使用应用
WebContrive已回复 2024年1月25日

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to know that you are enjoying your experience with our app. Thank you very much for sharing such great feedback with us!

If you have any questions or need assistance, please don't hesitate to reach out to us at support@webcontrive.com or through our in-app live chat. We're always here and happy to assist you.

2024年1月25日

29 dollars for start

Saúde e Sabor
日本
大约1小时 人在使用应用
WebContrive已回复 2024年2月19日

Thank you for the review and feedback on the Rebolt Bundle Products app. We appreciate your input and would like to provide some clarification regarding the pricing structure.

The $29 charge mentioned during installation is an approval for the maximum potential charge, but our actual billing is based on your monthly bundle sales, aligning with the specific plan you choose. For more please check the pricing structure here: https://webcontrive.com/pages/rebolt-bundles-app#pricing

We hope this explanation clears up any confusion. If you have any further questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to reach out. We value your feedback and would be grateful for your reconsideration.

Thank you!

2019年8月25日

Terrible experience, this app started to cause errors due to which the site could not load completely!!! Beware of using this app.

139DEC
美国
大约1年 人在使用应用
WebContrive已回复 2019年8月25日

Hi We are really sorry for the problem you faced. You might get error when we are doing our server up-gradation. So can you please install it and take look it is working fine in all store. Let us know if you still face any issue we will make sure our app works completely fine in your store and you can generate more sales using our app. Looking forward to hearing back from you.
Thank you
Thimatic Support Team

2022年4月9日

We unfortunately chose the Thimatic’s Upsell app to sell our a-la-carte product in our store. This is undoubtedly the worst Shopify app available today (we use 33 other apps). So many blunders from the development team. They will randomly take their app offline to work on it without any communication to the client during PEAK ordering hours. The result? A big fat “404 Page not found” error for our valued customers. Total lack of communication among the app developer’s OWN STAFF. One of the team members will say the app is working fine and ask for a meeting for us to simulate the error (despite sending multiple screenshots/recordings to them). After showing the error in real time during the meeting to another team member “Mr. Jack”, he says this error is to be expected since they are working on it! So why call a meeting to show the error is happening? We would have given a negative star rating if there was such a thing.

Abela Online
阿拉伯联合酋长国
11个月 人在使用应用
编辑时间:2020年5月26日

What they don't tell you is that if you use this app, you cannot use any discounts. So, you can kiss all of your sales and marketing promotions you have good-bye. Absolutely, worthless if you want to do any other promotions or discounts at the same time.

Ninja Brand Inc
美国
11个月 人在使用应用
WebContrive已回复 2019年8月3日

Hi, Sorry for the problem you faced. Our logic behind Bundle product discount is by creating draft order otherwise you have to create duplicate product for it so in Shopify they are not giving option to add additional discount code in draft order. So please check this and let us know if you have any questions we are happy to assist you. Looking forward to hearing from you.

Thanks and Regards,
Support Team @ Thimatic

2021年6月24日

Will work for one day then disappear, even though technical team has supposedly fixed it. Tried to find solutions with them for weeks, and each time they would fix, it would be gone the next day.

Dog-Chains
美国
2个月 人在使用应用
2021年1月3日

Why did I delete the app before the bill was generated and still generate deductions.
Time:2020-12-30 - 2021-01-29

Uiisii
中国
大约1个月 人在使用应用
2021年6月12日

The app only works when you test it out, after that its not working anymore, i always got complain from my customer that they cant see the bundle on the product page, i have to ask them to keep refresh the page or i have to disable the app and enable it back, keep refreshing then the app shows again. This is not user-friendly and does not help my store much, i feel that I got cheated paying this stupid subscription for nothing.

Buubees
新加坡
27天 人在使用应用
WebContrive已回复 2021年6月21日

Sorry for the inconvenience that you have faced.
We had checked the issue and that was from your theme side. We also shared the issue details on your support ticket but didn't get any response from your side.
If you need any other help, please contact us at "support@thimatic.com"

Thank you.