Major shipping error with this app. Item weights are combined for the BYOB SKU which is great, but in printing the label the individual SKUs are added to the total weight on top of the BYOB SKU. Example - BYOB combined SKU weight is 2lbs + Individual SKUs weights = 4lbs.
The app doubles the weights at checkout, so instead of paying for shipping for a 2lb bundle (which is the calculated combined weight of all the items), I and the customer are paying for 4lbs because it calculates the weights AGAIN for the individual SKUs. Which in turn causes me to pay sometimes $7 to $10 more in shipping.
I have contacted support about this issue and there seems to be a language barrier issue. Shopify was also nice enough after understanding the issue to contact the apps support on my behalf as well. Either we are not explaining it correctly (even with screenshots and other visuals) or they are not understanding what the issue is.
Absolutely LOVE this app and it ticks all the boxes I needed for my customers and site, though this issue is causing me to bleed money when it comes to shipping.
No, the customers are only paying for the items they order. Only AFTER the order is paid, individual items are added to the order. Also, the shipping fee is not recalculated after the order is edited. Therefore, the customers don't pay extra shipping fees.
I think you should pair the bundle with a discount code. With discount code mode, only individual items are added to the cart. This mode can easily integrate with various inventory systems since everything is Shopify-native: https://support.ilovebyob.com/article/188-what-is-discount-code-bundle
FRAUD! This app doesnt work and they have absolutely no customer support whatsoever. I have to get Shopify support to try and help me contact someone from the app and all they told me was to hire a professional developer to get it working. BUYER BEWARE!
Here's my reply:
1. You installed the app and requested local support. I've replied to you that we couldn't work at your pace since our timezone is different. But you keep submitting multiple tickets every day via Shopify/our helpdesk. I tried to refer you to other alternatives since day 1 and you refused.
I even work on Saturday to assist you, which is not our normal work day. But you keep complaining till Sunday. We cannot work 7 x 24 like Shopify. At least, you should have planned ahead of time instead of sending a last-minute notice to an app developer working together for a few days only.
Please be respectful to other companies not working in your area
If you claim that we offer no customer support, I'm willing to open all of your tickets and our replies to the public. These tickets are passing through Shopify support as well.
2. You asked us to set up the bundle for you, and you don't even bother to provide the bundle name, description, banner image, collections, etc. Please note that we are only an app developer. We do help merchants set up bundles but we are not responsible to manage your store business. We cannot prepare these data because we are not a full-service agency. Honestly, I can't guess what you want
3. You mention that you want the bundle to be live in a day or two. When the bundle is published, the bundle is live. Customers can visit the bundle product in the store. I am not sure why it's not "live". Once again, I asked you what is the meaning of bundle being live and you refuse to tell me what is your meaning of "live".
I received a message telling me that I had uninstalled the BYOB app on November 3rd and I replied that I had not uninstalled anything. 5 days later I still have not received an answer and there seems to have been a bug because I no longer have the BYOB app. I would like to have an answer and that you fix the problem because I spent a lot of time to configure everything. Thanks
Hi, I'm sorry to hear your app was uninstalled. From the Shopify record, I can see that you uninstalled the app on 4th November. Did you have other colleagues or Shopify partners deleting the app before?
FYI our app doesn't have a feature to automatically remove the app from a store. Also, we don't delete the app on behalf of any users. All users must remove the app from the Shopify admin => app list. Honestly, I have no idea why it happened.
If you are still interested in the app, you can reinstall it. At the moment of writing, we don't delete the bundle data even if the users delete the app. So users reinstalling the app should be able to activate the bundles immediately