Group Carts & Chat Rooms

Group Buy & Group Chat

From $36/month. 30-day free trial.

Reviews

2.1 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

  • 5 of 5 stars
    50% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    0% of ratings are 4 stars
    0
  • 3 of 5 stars
    0% of ratings are 3 stars
    0
  • 2 of 5 stars
    0% of ratings are 2 stars
    0
  • 1 of 5 stars
    50% of ratings are 1 stars
3 reviews

Country Life Natural Foods

I do not wish Jack or his team any harm in this response. Jack was always kind to me, but ultimately I feel it is my responsibility to Shopify and its retailers to let them know of our experience. We installed the app and liked the concept. We needed a few customizations and paid for a $3,000 custom solution. In my opinion, that was too much but if it worked it was worth it for our business model. After the customization, we tested it and sent back our concerns. This cycle continued for months. I have emails on emails - some of our simple customizations (wording and logo) had to be requested multiple times. Ultimately, we have given up. Cartonomy wants to make it work, but I counted 86 emails we exchanged, which is too much time and energy for a solution with which we never successfully placed an order. Unfortunately, I have a vote of no confidence that it will ever be an effective solution with good enough support to meet our needs. Cartonomy's team did not own our problems as their own but told us why our software was creating the problems and why it was costing them so much money to help us. You will notice this lack of ownership in the responses made to other negative reviews. It just never worked, it's not worth another 86 emails hoping that it might. The concept is neat, but it's ultimately a very clunky group ordering app that has to be totally transferred to Shopify in a disconnected way that makes changes a nightmare. Once we pushed orders to Shopify, if you intentionally trigger any minor change it creates problems. When we had those problems, the developers simply told us why our system was the problem. The developer wrote to me, "For the amount of work we have done for you and the timeframe we did it in, you could add a zero or two to the amount you have paid to get to the market value of what we have done as another firm would have billed you." I felt like I was the problem and not the paying customer. When we reached out for a refund, they said they had “delivered [our] project to [our] stated satisfaction TWICE.” I apologized if we ever said we were satisfied, and asked them to clarify for me at which two points we communicated that we were satisfied with the project delivered. They did not directly answer my question. We were also told it was because we had changed our site, which is to say if you ever plan to update your website this is not a solution for you. Our site did some updates, but these were regular business updates and not a total revamp of our UI/UX. They wrote to me, "You wouldn't prep someone for surgery and then go do the surgery on someone else without making adjustments. I don't know why you expect that technology works any differently." This is not the kind of professionalism we look for when choosing developers. I wish we had carefully read the earlier reviews. If I could do it again, I would spend my time and $3,000 on a fully integrated custom solution.

Developer reply

December 16, 2021

The customer wanted the app customized for their site. We provided a budget and they accepted it. We delivered the project on time and they accepted the work and paid for it. They then took down the site we had written the custom code for and replaced it with a different site. This is when all the issues began. They thought that the custom code we wrote for their site would magically work on a completely different site without adjustments. They refused to pay us for additional work and tried to extort their money back under threat they would leave a bad review. The whole story is worse than this but I think this is enough context to refute this blatantly dishonest and false review.

Wine To Love - EaSiness

*Bad service
*slow reply *ask for more money for fix fundamental functions that it should have included
*Not professional at all
*Disappointed
*Zero star

Developer reply

December 14, 2021

The customer installed our app and immediately requested customizations that were highly specific to her store. We quoted her a price for such customizations and she informed that she was unwilling to pay any money for them. At this point she was still on a free trial and was perfectly within her rights to uninstall the app and pay us nothing, which we advised her to do. Instead, she kept the app installed and continued to demand that we do the customizations for her for free. We issued refunds to her for the two months she had left the app installed and again told her to uninstall. "Ask for more money" is a false claim because we have received no money from this customer other than what has already been refunded.

Wow Padala

The app has a good concept, I strongly believe it has potential for my business. However the support was only responsive initially and when the app has some issues they never responded again. I am sure they will respond here with a standard response like "We tried to email you etc." or "because you uninstall the app" whatever, DON'T BELIEVE them. When your business needs an app, you need a responsive support team from that app. While testing their app, initially was working then it started having problems like unable to invite a member to a group and when the total cost for the group couldn't add up because it won't accept the decimal point then that's a big problem. For both of the problems it shows an error that states "Sequence no elements found." But they don't care at all, last response from them was Nov 8, 2021 and I replied on same date, and email them again Nov 9th for follow up but since then up to now, no response from them. I even sent them a video on what's going on so that they can see what's wrong. ZERO star for this app.

Developer reply

December 14, 2021

The customer had a customized add to cart feature on her store that was not compatible with our app, which works via leveraging the add to cart button. We immediately informed her of this incompatibility and offered the choice of uninstalling or developing a custom app. Customer had no budget for a custom app and continued to try to use the app as is after having been advised of the incompatibility.

My suggestion is that Shopify clearly explain to merchants that apps are not guaranteed to work out of the box given the infinite permutations of themes and store customizations that app developers can not possibly take into account. This is the reason we offer free trials and custom app options for merchants with highly custom business concepts. Unfortunately it is too easy for merchants to attack and damage us in bad faith rather than work with what we offer.