Shopify Chat

Shopify Chat

by Shopify

Chat live with store visitors. Turn visitors into customers.

1.9 of 5 stars(59 reviews)

Let visitors reach you easily

Chat is the preferred way for online shoppers to contact a brand. Answer questions and make recommendations for a better shopping experience

Turn visitors into customers

Visitors who chat with a brand are significantly more likely to make a purchase. Turn more visitors into customers through live chat

Works with Shopify Ping

Manage your messages with Shopify Ping, a free iOS app. Access your store and send products, discounts, and new orders directly in the chat

About Shopify Chat

NOTE: Shopify Chat requires an iOS device. Messages are managed in Shopify Ping which is currently only available for iPhone or iPad.

Shopify Chat is a free sales channel made by Shopify that gives your visitors a seamless way to contact you. Effortlessly setup and customize a chat button that will appear on your online store.

Chat with visitors as they browse products on your store and consider making a purchase. Answer questions, make product recommendations, and improve your chances of making a sale.

Messages show up inside Shopify Ping, a free iOS app. Ping lets you send products, discounts, and new orders right inside your conversations with only a few taps.

With Ping and Shopify Chat you can:

  • Add and customize a Chat button on your online store
  • Respond to inquiries in real-time using Shopify Ping
  • Send products, discounts, and new orders in chat
  • Track Shopify sales using your sales channel overview and Analytics pages

Eligibility requirements:

  • To use Shopify Chat you must have an online store
  • Shopify Ping must be installed on an iOS device to receive and respond to messages

Integrates with

  • Ping

Media gallery




1.9 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    10% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    5% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    12% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    19% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    54% of ratings are 1 stars

Most recent reviews

French Nik Naks

Id love to write a review, but I can't use it. Have a 11Pro Max, It won't let me log in at all. Have tried uninstalling the app, disconnecting in the store, re-installing etc, refreshing, standing on my head... you name it... Ive tried it. The shopify app & shopify POS work fine... no problems there at all. But Ping will not connect at all. Same logon details, same everything ????? Hope some one can help???

I mean seriously what can you expect from a free app. But in all honesty, this app is worst than free. It will cost you money in loss of customers. I've tested it as a customer. Once you click on the "Chat" you can't go back on to the shop, you have to open your site/shop on a new tab, so have the chat in one tab and your shop on another tab (Mobile device as I haven't tested on desktop). By then my customer has a high chance of losing interest because I certainly won't be bothered to switch from tab to tabs for a question. Disgraceful how Shopify can't fix their own app after so many bad reviews...

Protein Package

Oh no... This has killed my SEO! Google has started crawling my pages with (1) - the notification from this app in the meta title. This looks so unprofessional on Google and has really affected my organic results. You need to fix this ASAP!!!

Developer reply

May 12, 2020

Hi Protein Package,
Thank you for your feedback. Our developers were able to resolve the issue you were seeing, in which the (1) notification appeared before page titles in Google searches. However, Google's site crawlers can take a few weeks between rounds, so it may take some time before the page titles are indexed without the (1).

You can speed this process up by asking Google to re-crawl your URLs -

Or by resubmitting your sitemap -

If you have any further questions please don't hesitate to ask. You can reach us at