Delivery Timer Estimated Timer

Delivery Timer Estimated Timer | Reviews

by LAUNCHTIP

Countdown Timer, Estimated Delivery, Shipping Time & Urgency

4.7 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

  • 5 of 5 stars
    83% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    6% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    4% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    6% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    0% of ratings are 1 stars
    (0)

All reviews

3 reviews

SCHWUNGFIT

Worked fine till the free trial was over. After the billing the estimate date doesn´t show on my product pages anymore?! Can someone help please.

Developer reply

August 21, 2021

Hey Schwungfit,

Hope you are well. I don’t see any support tickets for your store so other than what you have said in the review, I’m not entirely sure what the issue is.

All I can guess at this point is that you don’t have the “show timer past cutoff” enabled. Please enable that and see if the timer is visible.

Please also feel free to open a support ticket so we can better assist you :)

Kind regards,

LAUNCHTIP

KON-NICHI-WA MEAL KITS

App should be simpler to setup, but it's not.

You have to setup a countdown that is "enabled" on weekdays, Sat, Sundays, and shows a "timer past cutoff." Then you go to another section to choose the delivery date where you set the "delivery lead time" in # of "working days." Then you choose the "dispatch days" by selecting each day of the week, and the choose the "active delivery days" by selecting the day of the week.

Does this sound intuitive? Sorry, but it's not. This app is a headache, and never seems to show the correct delivery date or cutoff.

Developer reply

May 23, 2020

Thank you for feedback. Delivery Timer, as featured on the App Store 2019 Staff pick, is setup in those stages as described. This is due to the fact that there are almost infinite combinations that a store can offer. We state clearly in the description that we offer support and assistance with any setup. In this instance I don’t see a request from your store on this occasion but we would have been more than happy to assist. If you do need help setting up, simply reach out to us through one of our many support channels. We also have a knowledge base here: https://www.launchtip.com/knowledge-base/

Fancy Fanny

Gave it 2 stars for its ease of setup. Rules kept disabling and being deleted on a daily basis. Was not workable for us.

Developer reply

April 15, 2020

Our developer is continuing to look into why this may have occurred on the merchants setup and will hopefully resolve any outstanding errors going forward. Kind Regards, Dan.

Update: This issue has now been resolved.