Digital Downloads

Digital Downloads | Reviews

by Shopify

Sell digital products in your store

2.9 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

  • 5 of 5 stars
    40% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    13% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    15% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    13% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    19% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

1 - 10 of 39 reviews

Impurrfectlife shop

Good while it lasted. I used this digital download app for downloadable purchases and freebies on my blog using the Shopify Lite (Buy Button) only plan. Unfortunately, effective end of May 2021 this app doesn't work anymore for Shopify lite/Buy button only users so I have to find an alternative. Otherwise, my experience with Shopify digital downloads was great...while it lasted.

Developer reply

June 9, 2021

Hi, there. Thank you for taking the time and sharing this feedback with us. I wasn't able to find any changes made to the Shopify Lite plan or the Digital Downloads app in our changelog (https://bit.ly/3vOQnrP) for May 2021. Nevertheless, our Support team would be happy to take a look with you. Please visit the Shopify Help Center (https://bit.ly/3gqKnPt) and log in to your account to create a support request. Thank you! -Elias, Shopify Support

Godfall's Kamui

This app is great for being free and all, however it could use more Security and ease of use for customers. It would be helpful to require people to be logged in in order to download. It would be neat for customers to have a place to find all their purchases from their account in the website and be able to download from there.

Developer reply

March 2, 2021

Hi, there. Thank you for these suggestions; I'll be sure to pass these on to our developers for you. Thanks for the feedback! - Brie, Shopify Support

CharmedbyTrina

Can someone please help me it keep saying server error please help. I’m loosing sales because of this issue this is my third time reaching out for assistance. Again please help thank you very much

Developer reply

January 21, 2021

Hey, there! I'd be happy to take a look at this with you. I'll send you an email shortly for more information and we can troubleshoot together. Speak soon! - Brie, Shopify Support

Webdevs

Great App so far. I have a question though, is it possible that customers are also able to download the file from their accounts-orders page?

Developer reply

January 18, 2021

Hey, there! I'm afraid this isn't built into the app at the current time and would require quite a bit of custom coding. If this feature is important to you, there may be a different digital downloads app that can do this. I believe FetchApp might have this ability, but I'd suggest reaching out to them to check: https://bit.ly/38UwA16. In the meantime, I'll be sure to submit this feedback to our developers for you. Thank you. - Brie, Shopify Support

Cap and Gown Direct

It works! However, the product page should have shown function details of what file types are available to upload, as well as link to the documentation here: https://help.shopify.com/en/manual/products/digital-service-product/digital-downloads You need to create the product as a draft, then find the "Digital Download" button under the More actions menu (next to "Preview"). Then you can publish the product after upload.

Developer reply

November 14, 2020

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. I totally understand how it would be helpful to have the supported file types listed on the app's "About" page and I'd be happy to pass this feedback along to our developers. That being said, PDFs are most definitely supported, but the file size must be under 5 GB. I want to make sure that you're able to upload your PDFs properly, so I'll be reaching out to you directly via email shortly. Chat soon! - Julie, Shopify Support

Cell-e

For some reason, my customers are not receiving the digital file attachment after purchase. Upon checking on their order in Shopify, I see there is note stating, "This order has no digital attachments" despite me confirming that the file is attached to the product in the settings for download. I am having to send URLs manually. However, when I create an order manually, the details do indicate there is a file attached and the file is sent automatically with an email sent.

Developer reply

September 10, 2020

Thank you for sharing your feedback, and for letting us know about the problem you've come across here. I'd like to help look into this further, so I'm going to follow up with you via email shortly. If you still need assistance with this, please make sure to reply directly back to my email once you receive it. Hope to hear from you soon! - Oliver, Shopify Support

Pelvi Store

pelvi.com have been using Digital Downloads for a year, it's a great free app if you want to offer eBooks.

Kylie's Store

This is great! Works a treat!
The only reason why it didn't get 5 stars is the email to download the file is butt-ugly and can't be modified.
Other than that - this is AWESOME!!!!!

Artatler

what a useful app, works well for the need of my store, www.artatler.com, an art marketplace! It does help to allow me to sell digital items. It's light. I do hope that it can allow digital download without redirection to a new download page. But it works just fine for my current need.

www.artatler.com, art marketplace & digital art gallery.

Vitality and Wellness

We installed this app as we have several ebook type products on our store. It works perfectly, automatically emailing our customers with the link to download without us having to do anything. Only downside is that when you have a mixed order, with both physical and downloadable products you either have to manually email the customer a link or remember that even though the order has been marked "fulfilled" you still need to ship the physical products.

Previous 1 3 4
Previous 1 3 4