Digital Downloads

Digital Downloads

by Shopify

Sell digital products in your store

3.2 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    44% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    14% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    15% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    11% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    17% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

BGF Store

I use this app to help me with my digital product.
It randomly flips from us currency to foreign currency when I post the link on my fb page or click on generated link shopify provided. It caused me to lose money because my clients thought my site was not a secure site. Talked to shopify they were not any help.

Developer reply

January 18, 2021

Thank you for providing your review and letting us know about the issue you've experienced. I'd like to take a closer look at you as this problem does sound odd, and I'll see if I can help. I will send an email to you shortly to touch base with you on this, so please look out for that and get back to me there if you still require assistance. -Victor, Shopify Support

Awake Arts

Usually the app is doing what it should. If there was not the big BUT:
But I have serious problems getting uploads done. It works only in a maximum of 25% of the cases. Sometime yes, sometimes no. Have to wait for a couple of days and then like a miracle it works... Maybe. Of course this is nothing I would call a fully functional app and it is crippling workflow and sales seriously. Would be nice if someone from the support team could help me with this.

Developer reply

December 15, 2020

Hi, there! Thanks for reaching out about this; I'm sorry to hear you're having issues with uploading your files to the app. I'd like to find out more about your issue to see if there's anything we can do to help and make sure your feedback is passed on to our developers. I'll send you an email shortly for more information and we can do some troubleshooting together. Cheers. - Brie, Shopify Support

Spekii Sleep

Pretty good if you want to sell digital products but I wanted to attach a digital file to a physical product as a bonus adds on but when someone purchased the physical product the order was automatically fulfilled by Digital Download App. The problem is that it would not be synced with my fulfillment app/ Supplier which means that every time this happens I have to manually recreate the order to send the physical product which is very inconvenient.

Developer reply

December 10, 2020

Thank you for reaching out and providing your feedback to us here, and I can appreciate why the automatic fulfilment of the entire order would be problematic. It is possible to manually fulfil the orders instead, although this would involve manually approving the fulfilment of the digital download as well as the physical product. This can be set as an option for each product within the app.

We appreciate your feedback here and I will be sure to pass on your comments to our development team. Please contact us at help.shopify.com/questions if you require any further assistance. -Victor, Shopify Support

Flettede Fugle

Basic functionality is missing. You should be able to 1) remove uploads, 2) set a fixed download expiration date after a purchase (e.g. 30 days), 3) download from a purchased download-link even after a product has been deleted in store, 4) to have different languages in the download mail, 5) to send a file instead of a download link, 6) open the app in the Safari browser. I hope you will implement some of these features soon.

Developer reply

November 13, 2020

Thank you for sharing your feedback, and for letting us know about the areas where you'd like to see the app improve. I'll be sending your feedback along to our developers so that our team can get a better idea of the features that merchants like yourself are looking for. - Oliver, Shopify Support

Snarky Crafter Designs

App stopped working due to cookies updates. (It needs to be updated to support the SameSite cookie security changes made to Chrome 80.) Sent multiple emails to the developer. No response. Super frustrating.

Developer reply

November 5, 2020

Thank you for sharing this feedback with us, and for letting us know about your experiences with the app. An update to Chrome earlier in the year changed the way it handles cookies, requiring a parameter named SameSite. All Shopify apps have been fixed to include this. If you're still receiving errors in regards to this it likely means an update is required for your Chrome browser or you'll need to clear the browser's cache. All the best! - Oliver, Shopify Support

Copyhead Marketing

An app with just the minimum amount of functionality it needs to pass as an app. Barely any onboarding to help you use, and if you leave it for a bit and need to come back to upload a new file, you have to refigure out how to use it. Disappointed.

Developer reply

November 4, 2020

I appreciate your feedback and I'm sorry to hear that you've been finding the onboarding process to be difficult. We actually have some help documentation on the Digital Downloads app (https://bit.ly/3lcxdH7) that you should find useful. There, you'll learn how to add digital products, add digital files to existing products, set download limits, and more. If there's anything specific that you need a hand with, I'd love to help. I'll be sending you an email shortly and we can carry on the conversation there. Thanks! - Julie, Shopify Support

Ananta Stones

We connected clickfunnel to our shopify app with digital file using this digital downloads app but Why is it saying "the order has no digital attachment" when in fact it does?

Developer reply

October 22, 2020

Thank you for sharing this feedback with us, and for letting us know about your experiences with the app. Clickfunnels is a third party service but I'd like to look into this further with you, so I'm going to follow up with you via email shortly. I look forward to hearing from you! - Oliver, Shopify Support

The Life Planner

Works okay I guess, but why does it take so long to 'prepare' the digital download when the users hit the checkout? This is a bit of a buzzkill when users have just purchased a product and they have to wait half a minute for a download to be 'prepared'. What needs to be prepared? It's just the same PDF file on a server isn't it? I don't get it. UPDATE: I emailed back and forth with the support team about this and it seems they aren't really interested in creating a better user experience. I've deleted this app now and upgraded to the free version of 'Easy Digital Products'. EDP is waaaaay better, cleaner and more reliable. I highly recommend skipping Shopify's app for digital downloads and instead using Easy Digital Products, it's a far nicer experience.

Developer reply

October 5, 2020

Thank you for leaving this review and sharing your feedback. I'd like to discuss your experience further, and learn more about what happens when the file shows that it's preparing. With this in mind, I'm going to reach out to you via email shortly so we can talk about this in more detail. Thanks! - Rae, Shopify Support

MY FAVOURITE THINGS • KNITWEAR

I have so many customers writing me that they are unable to download their files. Iphone and Ipad. And Safari browser is an issue as well. I've reached out to Shopify Support - but they couldn't solve the problem.

Developer reply

September 18, 2020

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I'm sorry to hear that your customers have been experiencing trouble downloading their files. I do see that we've responded to your emails, have you received those responses?

I wasn't able to replicate the issue on my end here. Nevertheless, I'd love to take a closer look into this for you to see what we can find out. I've gone ahead and sent you another email requesting some more information to get to the bottom of this. Please let me know here if you have don't receive it - otherwise, I look forward to continuing our conversation through there. Hope to hear from you soon! - Ryder, Shopify Support

Olive and Fig Designs

it looks like you can only attach one file per link which is kind of odd. Many business ive purchased digital downloads from send more than one file, so im not sure how that works with this app

Developer reply

September 9, 2020

Thank you for sharing your feedback. The best workaround for this would be to put the files in a zip archive which will condense them into one single file to attach to your product using the Digital Downloads app. All the best! - Oliver, Shopify Support

Previous 1 3
Previous 1 3