Digital Downloads

Digital Downloads | Reviews

by Shopify

Sell digital products in your store

2.9 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

  • 5 of 5 stars
    40% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    13% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    15% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    13% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    19% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

1 - 10 of 39 reviews

Tre Fwavy

Why doesn't Digital Downloads recognize that ive added new products to my store ?????? It only show my first product along with the two variants associated.

Developer reply

September 1, 2021

Hey, there. Thank you for reaching out. In order to add new Digital products, you must first create the product within your Shopify admin and then add the digital component, have you done this first? If you are creating Digital products as our video tutorial shows here (https://bit.ly/3yy4h1T) and the products are not showing in your store, this would be something we could certainly investigate with you.

So If you're running into issues with Digital Downloads, please get in touch with our Support team by visiting the Shopify Help Center (https://bit.ly/3cJkx8V) and logging into your account. Take care! -Marty, Shopify Support

CerMark Sales

I am not able to use pdf files as a digital download with this app. Is there an application that lets us put pdf docs on our site for downloading?

Developer reply

August 28, 2021

Hey, there. Thank you for reaching out. You can upload PDF files using Digital Downloads, and we've also got a guide to assist you with that here: https://bit.ly/3sWqhT1. If you're looking to upload multiple files, you can also compress them into a single ZIP file before uploading.

If you're running into roadblocks with Digital Downloads, then this is something that our Support team can help you with. To get in touch with our Support team, please visit the Shopify Help Center (https://bit.ly/3cJkx8V) and log into your account. Cheers! -Elias, Shopify Support

MicahBuzan.com/Shop

Good while it lasted. I'm on the Shopify lite plan and only needed it to sell PDFs on my website. Now it doesn't work at all - just sends customers to a "this shop doesn't a website page". I've had to manually send my products to customers via email now. Very seriously considering alternatives to Shopify if this isn't fixed.

Developer reply

July 9, 2021

Thank you for reaching out about this and for writing your review. The Digital Downloads app is still compatible with the Lite plan, although the error you've cited may still occur if the download link is pointing to the non-existent online store.

The delivery URL for the digital download will direct customers to a page that looks like part of the online store, although if you are on the Lite plan you won't have a store for them to visit. To avoid this, you can edit the email template for digital downloads and change {{ attachment.shop_url }} to {{ attachment.url }}.

This change should mean the delivery link for the download will bypass the storefront entirely, and customers should be able to download the product successfully without seeing the error message. If you're still struggling with this and seeing the error after making this change, please reach out to our support team for further assistance: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Victor, Shopify Support

KVtheWriter Shop

The downloads are taking really long to process for customers. Digital downloads are not made immediately available for customers. Customers want their downloads immediately, and this makes it hard for them to want to purchase items from the site.

Developer reply

April 21, 2021

Thank you for getting in touch and for sharing your feedback with us here. There is an option within the app's settings to allow for immediate download of the digital product once it has been purchased, so you'll want to ensure this option is enabled if you want the customer to receive their download link immediately: https://bit.ly/3e2fjEf. -Victor, Shopify Support

Forlaget drømmefangeren

I wanted to use this app for my e-books and audiobooks, but it only works for my e-boks. When the customer has downloeadet the linkk. The file is empty.

Developer reply

April 13, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback here. I would definitely recommend contacting our support team directly so that you can be authenticated and this issue can be investigated by our team. You can reach out to us directly here: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Oliver, Shopify Support

DuarteBFitnessCo

It is not bad, but when using this application, my product is processed immediately, which is not good because the customer will receive a processing message. I would like to ask for help to solve this

Developer reply

April 13, 2021

Thank you for writing your review and for outlining your issue with the Digital Downloads app here. You are able to choose between automatic and manual fulfilment within the app's settings, and choosing the latter means that the download link for the file will not be sent to the customer until you manually mark the order as fulfilled. They will still receive an order confirmation but they will not be able to access the digital product until you have manually fulfilled the order from the Shopify admin. More can be read on this here: https://bit.ly/3e2fjEf. -Victor, Shopify Support

Bubbakins Blanks

I have started using the app and the digital file that will be downloaded after purchase keeps getting deleted. It seems like it is doing this randomly. I finally had to take the products off line because I had customers telling me they didn't get their download and when I check the file is gone again.

Developer reply

March 21, 2021

Thank you for writing your review and I'm sorry to hear that you've had this issue with the app. We'd be happy to take a closer look at this for you to see if we can determine what the issue is, and hopefully get things resolved for you. Please reach out to our Support team from the Shopify Help Center here: https://bit.ly/3cJkx8V. All the best! -Oliver, Shopify Support

Jasrina Lovecraft Shop

The upload is very slow/ It takes 30 minutes to upload winzip file to the website. I have check my network, and its damn fast.

Developer reply

February 15, 2021

Thank you for writing your review and I'm sorry to hear that you've had issues with upload speeds for the Digital Downloads app. If you're using large files this may lead to longer upload times, and if possible I'd also recommend attempting to upload your files via a different browser to see if your main browser may be causing any issues.

If you're still experiencing issues, you can contact our support team and ask them to authenticate you on the store so they can take a closer look at these slow upload speeds: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. Thanks again for providing your feedback to us here. -Victor, Shopify Support

LadyLunarCat

It worked well for over a year, but now it hardly works. My store sells digital tutorials, now customers are complaining that they can't get the file. I am posting this manually but it does so many times. I now need to explain to everyone why they cannot download their files ... I see that many have encountered this problem and it has not been resolved. I used the Shopify store because they promised that I could use digital downloads. now I can't use it ... I found other apps, they are paid and now I have to pay almost 50 dollars a month for this ... I'm very disappointed ...

Developer reply

February 5, 2021

Hey, there! I'm sorry to hear you're having these issues with the app - this is certainly something that we'd like to look into for you. Please contact our support team and provide some screenshots or examples of the issues, so that they can have our technical team take a look for you: https://help.shopify.com/en/questions. Cheers. - Brie, Shopify Support

wingwave Shop

Some of our customers have problems with the Download. The Download is very slow. We figuerd out, that it is a problem with the Telekom in Germany, maybe. I can send a screenshot from a customer.

Developer reply

January 26, 2021

I'm sorry to hear that that you've had this issue but thank you for leaving your review nonetheless. Download speeds vary by location and ISP, which may be affecting the downloads from your store, but I'd like to take a look at this myself to see if there's anything on our end I can look at. I will send an email to you momentarily so please look out for that and get back to me there if you'd still like some assistance. -Victor, Shopify Support

Previous 1 3 4
Previous 1 3 4