Digital Downloads

Digital Downloads

Price: Free
Rating (3.1)
Reviews
Developer
351 reviews
52 reviews
Overall rating
3.1
Counts per rating level
  • 37% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 13% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 15% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 15% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 20% of ratings are 1 stars
52 reviews
January 23, 2023

I don't understand what the new app accomplishes. I can no longer get unique download links for customers who need to re-download the program. What does this revision do?

Peak Performance Sports, LLC
United States
Time spent using app: Over 3 years
January 19, 2023

Honestly, this app worked beautifully from 2017 - 2022.
Then they updated it, now it takes forever to upload anything, Then near the end says upload failed, constantly crashes, doesn't deliver my files to the customers, and has me pulling my hair out in frustration. I am only now reviewing it because it worked fine before! Come on guys, please fix this! And don't say, oh its fine from our end. It's not acceptable. I am only giving it 2 stars because it worked well for a few years. Now it drives me insane! Is it because it's free? I am happy to pay for an app that actually works! Please fix this!

ATP Textures
Australia
Time spent using app: Over 3 years
January 3, 2023

Unfortunately this app doesn't work for us as we have 15 variants per product and need to send the same digital download to anyone purchasing a specific product regardless of the variant they've purchased.

This means we have to tediously add the same download file to each of the 15 variants, for over 80 products! And potentially more as our site grows.

Ideally, we should be able to upload a digital file and have the choice whether it should apply to all the variants of that product, or certain variants.

A simple checkbox mechanism could achieve this with the question: should this digital download apply to all {x} variants? If checked then we upload our file. If unchecked then we add our files to the respective variants, or different download files to specific variants as is the case with the app currently.

YGGYOLD
United Kingdom
Time spent using app: 2 months
Shopify replied January 23, 2023

Hey, there. Thanks so much for taking the time and sharing this feedback. We can see how being able to apply a single file when working with many variants can improve the workflow in your use-case, and we'd be happy to share your feedback as a feature request with our development team. Cheers. -Elias, Shopify Support

October 5, 2022

There doesn't appear to be any way of automatically fulfilling digital pre-orders. I will soon have several hundred paid pre-orders, but the digital file will not be ready for another 2 weeks, and I don't want to have to go in and manually fulfill every single one by hand. I would happily pay for an app that added this functionality and worked 100% reliably! Also note that in the last year about 5% of my digital product customers were never sent a link to their paid order. NOT ACCEPTABLE.

Tracks of the NYC Subway
United States
Time spent using app: About 1 year
Shopify replied November 1, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for letting us know how you feel that the Digital Downloads app could be improved. I can certainly see why being able to automate this process would be helpful with pre-orders, and I'll be sure to pass your feedback onto our app development team. -Victor, Shopify Support

September 23, 2022

This app use to work great but now it only sends downloads to a few people and I have to manually send to the rest. Support told me that they would try to fix the problem but to just keep sending manually for now. Im currently looking for a better app.

Blanks Galore
United States
Time spent using app: Over 2 years
Shopify replied October 10, 2022

I am sorry to hear that you've had this issue with the Digital Downloads app and that you've not been able to find a solution after speaking with our support team. If the app is no longer working for you, you can refer to other apps that allow for digital products to be sold and delivered on the Shopify App Store: https://bit.ly/3rGaR5D. Thank you for getting in touch and for providing us with your feedback. -Victor, Shopify Support

July 12, 2022

We use this app to supply free files which accompany bought physical products. It almost works but is very buggy and you have little control over customer notifications (it seems to send them at random). Downloads have also vanished at times and had to be created again. It generates too much customer service traffic, and after three and a half months of struggling with it, we're going to look for an alternative.

Adventure Books by Vertebrate Publishing
United Kingdom
Time spent using app: 4 months
Shopify replied July 26, 2022

I am sorry to hear that you've experienced these issues with the Digital Downloads app but appreciate you taking the time to inform us here. I will be sure to pass your comments onto our development team and I hope that you're able to find an alternative option that works better for you. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. -Victor, Shopify Support

Edited June 24, 2022

i really loved this app before the update. Befoe the update you could add files to draft products now you have to make the listing live to add the digital files which defeats the purpose and makes thing difficult if your store is mainly all digital downloads becasue a customer might try to buy the product when there is no file attached. like why who thought that was a smart idea?now if you add product it dose show up in the app and how can you add file if the app dose not show the item, the work around is going on chrome. so that's fun

Danidigitalstudio
United States
Time spent using app: 4 months
Shopify replied July 17, 2022

Thank you for taking the time and sharing this feedback with us. We understand that being able to attach files to draft products is important to you, and we'd be happy to share this feedback with our development team. We appreciate you for providing this feedback as they are taken into considerations on future releases. Thanks again. -Elias, Shopify Support

June 24, 2022

This app cannot send out updates if the volume of customers and purchases on the given digital asset is too high.

Godfall's Kamui
Canada
Time spent using app: Over 1 year
Shopify replied July 17, 2022

Hey, there. Thanks so much for taking the time and sharing this feedback with us. We understand that being able to send updates when there's a high volume of customers or purchases is important to you, and we'd be more than happy to share your feedback on performance improvements with our development team. Cheers. -Elias, Shopify Support

June 1, 2022

Shopify missed the boat here. Many digital creators have multiple files per product and you cannot do that with this product.

hitherandyonstudio
United States
Time spent using app: 9 months
Shopify replied June 21, 2022

Thank you for writing your review and for providing us with your feedback and suggestion. I can certainly see why having the option to add multiple files to a single product would be helpful to you when selling digital files, and we appreciate you making your recommendation here. I will submit your comments to our development team for them to consider. -Victor, Shopify Support

May 12, 2022

It's a good app but unfortunately the links of the digital downloads are broken now. sometimes the links inside the form and inside the e-mails are missing a "/download" path at the end. Please fix it. I will give you 5 stars then.

PEAK Berlin
Germany
Time spent using app: Over 2 years
Shopify replied June 8, 2022

Hey, there. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for Digital Downloads. It sounds like you may be experiencing an email template issue with your digital downloads app, as the emails that send by default do provide a link that should be clickable and allows for a proper file download. I recommend that you reach out to the Live Support Team via thia link here (https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA) so they can assist you with troubleshooting this and real-time, and can look into the settings of your app to determine a potential cause. -Imogen, Shopify Support