Digital Downloads , 436 reviews

Overall rating
2.8
Counts per rating level
  • 33% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 13% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 16% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 15% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 24% of ratings are 1 stars
April 2, 2023

Customers are having trouble with the downloadlink they receive. They are often times redirected to the store, which in my case is not possible, since I am running on the Lite subscription (no storefront) what could be the trouble? This has happened too many times now in a short period of time.

Rollaganza
Netherlands
About 2 years using the app
Shopify replied April 6, 2023

Thank you for sharing your customers' experience with us! I have a solution for the Lite plan that will take customers to a download page rather than redirecting them to a store page. In the email template for digital downloads, try changing {{ attachment.shop_url }} to {{ attachment.url }}. If you require further assistance with this, please get in touch with our team here: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Sophia, Shopify Support

August 12, 2020

Incompatible with Safari. I've reached out to Shopify support about this issue but what you would think would be a fluid conversation takes DAYS for a response and no solution has been achieved or discussed.

Nick Noir
United States
About 2 years using the app
Shopify replied September 1, 2020

Hi, there! I'm sorry to hear that you've had trouble contacting us - our support is experiencing large volumes of requests at the moment, so it may take longer than usual for someone to reply if you've reached out via email. If you need urgent support, I'd suggest starting a live chat with us, or reaching out on Facebook or Twitter.

We typically recommend using the admin with Google Chrome, however you should be able to use the app in Safari without any issues if you prefer that browser. You likely need to clear your Safari cache and cookies or disable a browser extension or ad blocker - I'll reach out to you via email shortly and we can do some troubleshooting together. Speak soon! - Brie, Shopify Support

March 25, 2016

A nice start, but one star from me until you can attach multiple files to the same product variant. Shopify's suggestion of attaching a .zip file is useless: many people don't know how to use them, and we lose the vast number of customers who are purchasing on mobile devices that can't handle .zip files.

Ocrb
United States
About 2 years using the app
Edited March 4, 2021

Basic functionality is missing and the app is not updated by the developer. I gave the following feedback several months ago: 1) You should be able to remove uploads 2) You should be able to set a fixed download expiration date after a purchase (e.g. 30 days) 3) You should be able to download from a purchased download-link even after a product has been deleted in store 4) You should be able to have different languages in the download mail 5) You should be able to send a file instead of a download link 6) You should be able to open the app in the Safari browser. I hope you will implement some of these features soon. 7) A column with “Upload Date” could also be useful in the dashboard. 8) And a column with "Sales Download Completed %” so you could see how many of the buyers that succeeded in downloading 9) And a column with a status on the product (as just implemented with "active" and “drafted”) with the addition of “deleted” 10) Name should be “product” and another column should be “variant” instead of the “-“ separator 11) “Attachment” should be renamed to “attachment file name”

Flettede Fugle
Denmark
Almost 2 years using the app
Shopify replied November 13, 2020

Thank you for sharing your feedback, and for letting us know about the areas where you'd like to see the app improve. I'll be sending your feedback along to our developers so that our team can get a better idea of the features that merchants like yourself are looking for. - Oliver, Shopify Support

February 12, 2019

I should have listened to the reviews. Worked for an hour to get the app going with a product then it wouldn't deliver the download. Awful! Shopify should have something better than this do deliver digitals!

Banjo Earth
United States
Over 1 year using the app
June 1, 2021

I sell greeting cards with a total of 5 pdf's. Just came to find I can only attach one file per listing. This app is not suitable for that I suppose.

Stones + Paper
United States
Over 1 year using the app
Shopify replied June 9, 2021

Hey, there. Thank you for reach out and sharing this feedback. While you can only attach one file per variant, you can use a .zip file or another file archive format to bundle multiple files together (https://bit.ly/3pDsqkJ). This way, you're able to include all 5 of your greetings cards in one listing. Cheers! -Elias, Shopify Support

Edited June 12, 2021

I can attach things just fine, but the customers never get update emails if a product they bought gets updated with a new file. Support is looking into it. Update: It's been 1 month and no word from Shopify Support. The last correspondance made it very clear that this app is not part of what you are paying for when using Shopify and they said that this app isn't made for sending out update emails. They know what the issues is but basically said not to expect a fix. They also said that they do not take any responibility if this apps hurts your business.

Øivind Rosvold - Boutique Audio & Design
Norway
Over 1 year using the app
Shopify replied May 24, 2021

Thank you for reaching out and posting your feedback here, and I'm sorry to hear that you've experienced this issue. My understanding is that customers should be receiving this email when a new file is updated, so this does sound like a bug or technical issue; I'm glad that you have reached out to our support team and I hope that they are able to resolve this for you. -Victor, Shopify Support

Edited December 15, 2021

Stopped working in December 2021. Cannot add new files! Waiting for support! Pretty easy to setup! I had no idea when I migrated from WEEBLY that my digital downloads DID NOT migrate.

Deja Drewit
United States
Over 1 year using the app
April 5, 2017

App currently does not allow you to add downloads to a product, at least for me. Has worked well in the past but now is not functioning.

The Carolina Atc
United States
Over 1 year using the app
March 5, 2021

Only allows you to add one digital product. This app is not for anyone needing to upload several live downloadable products.

Slather Bath + Body Subscription
United States
About 1 year using the app
Shopify replied March 6, 2021

Hey, there! To clarify, you're welcome to add multiple digital products, however you'll only be able to add one attachment per product. If you need multiple attachments on the same product, you can always use an archive file type that contains multiple files, such as a .zip. Hope that helps! - Brie, Shopify Support