Reviews (447)

Overall rating
2.9
Counts per rating level
  • 32% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 13% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 16% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 16% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 23% of ratings are 1 stars
October 31, 2018

I want to love this app. And for awhile, I did. I've been using it for a few years now. But recently, somehow my digital products are having the "this is a physical product" field mysteriously checked in the admin product pages. I am NOT making this change. It's some glitch.

And you know what happens when that field gets checked? The Digital Downloads app deletes your file- without you knowing. Until, that is, your customers complain that that they never received the download link for the product that was blatantly described as an "instant download." To them, it feels like a bait and switch. And I have no doubt that this glitch is affecting my conversion rates, because once a customer goes to checkout, if the file has been deleted by the app, it tells them that their "download" product will be delivered in 6-8 business days! Hello, abandoned carts.

I continue to work with support to get this issue resolved. So far, nothing has worked. Am I the only one experiencing this glitch?

Wild Truth Design Co
United States
Over 3 years using the app
October 9, 2021

1) App does not open in Safari at all. Developers do not care
2) Impossible to search for a specific order, which is needed when proving chargeback cases, i.e. that a customer has downloaded the product
3) Does not work properly in chrome. When you press add a download, it will go to all downloads and then you have to click back to actually upload a digital file that you wanted to add to a product. Conclusion: it's clear that the app has not been updated for ages.

Photodobe
United Kingdom
Over 3 years using the app
Shopify replied October 11, 2021

Hey, there. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share this feedback. We can't be sure why it's not working on Safari, as it could be related to the browser settings. However, there are some great suggestions here, such as being able to search for specific orders or improve the functionality on Chrome, and we'd be happy to share your feedback with our developers. Cheers! -Elias, Shopify Support

May 31, 2022

It badly misses the ability for users to re-download their files from their account page. It is such a hassle to keep having customers email because they can't access the links or lost the emails. If that would be added the app is definitely more than worthy of 5 stars!

Dragons' Garden
Netherlands
About 3 years using the app
Shopify replied June 21, 2022

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review and thank you for sharing your feedback with us here. I can appreciate why customers being able to more easily re-download their files would be beneficial for both them and you, and I will be sure to pass your comments onto our development team. -Victor, Shopify Support

July 5, 2020

DOES NOT WORK ON MOBILE - have to direct customers to download from a computer constantly. Make this work on mobile and it would be great, make it possible to attach multiple files and it would be fantastic.

Debt Free Charts
United States
Over 2 years using the app
Shopify replied September 1, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and share your feedback. I think there may be some workarounds we can explore together so I've gone ahead and sent you an email to discuss this further. Hope to continue the conversation on this there! - Oliver, Shopify Support

April 17, 2016

It's great to have a free digital download app in shopify. It's easy to use and the fact that you can add different downloads to product variables is great. But the app can be developed, especially the option that customers can download their digital goodies from their account in the store would be very handy. Let's admit no one stores e-mail download links and when the customer lost their download keys the shop owner has to create manual download links. And more importantly in such cases you cannot send an automated new download email to the customer within the app settings>orders page. It sends the old download key which may have ran out of the download limit.

Sahin Designs
Türkiye
Over 2 years using the app
April 11, 2020

I'm pretty new on shopify, trying to sell some digital products, and I've been trying to understand why I can't display the link on the check out page and after spending hours on the issue I realized that there is something wrong with the app. It simply does not provide the digital download link at checkout. Needs to be fixed.

SavingNil
Türkiye
About 2 years using the app
August 8, 2017

It's very useful, I have had this app since I opened my shop.
u t I have a big problem: you can only attach one documents, so whenever I have several for one product (and it happens a lot) I compile it into one rar file.
It seemed like the perfect solution, except for people downloading the goods and not being able to open rar files.

Anyway we could be sharing several documents for one product?

Epicfrench
France
About 2 years using the app
Edited July 14, 2021

This works well to add a single file to a product. However, it is exceedingly irritating to have to make adjustments on the variant level instead of product level. Ex, to change the fulfillment settings from automatic to manual. Or to add files - you have to individually add each file to each variant. I feel like there should be a tick box, or something in the general settings, to choose to make these changes on the product level. If digital downloads are a core piece of your business and you have a wide inventory, I would look at using another app!

Beehive Wool Shop
Canada
Almost 2 years using the app
Shopify replied July 29, 2021

Thank you for providing your feedback to us here and I can appreciate why the suggestions you have made would make the Digital Downloads app a more intuitive and useful app to use for your Shopify store. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto our development team as merchant feedback is heavily considered when upgrading and improving the platform and our apps. -Victor, Shopify Support

Edited March 4, 2020

This app works did not work for us. It would be nice to be able to use an upload in more than one purchase option. I'm sure the support team will get it working soon.
https://avroliner.com
https://www.kinkytoy.store

Avroliner Project
Canada
Almost 2 years using the app
October 31, 2020

This app is just ok. Has basic features that allows to upload big files, but lacks lots of other important features.

Miasma Records
Portugal
Over 1 year using the app
Shopify replied November 3, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback here. I'd like to hear more about the types of features that you'd be interested in seeing here, so I'll follow up with you via email for some more details. Cheers! - Brie, Shopify Support