Powerful new features, services and plugins for your Shopify store

All Apps / Sales / Digital Downloads

Digital Downloads

Digital Downloads

Developed by Shopify

159 reviews
Price: Free More info
  • Add digital assets to your products
  • Customers get access to content instantly
  • Product updates are automatically forwarded to customers

Shopify's Digital Downloads app is a free, easy to use app that allows you to offer digital products in your Shopify store.

View the Official Documentation


  • Digital attachments are linked to a variant on a particular product

  • Mix and match a product to have physical and digital products

  • Your customers get a direct download after checkout, and an emailed link

  • Set download limits as needed.

Digital Downloads reviews

159 reviews
  1. 5 stars (84 reviews)
  2. 4 stars (27 reviews)
  3. 3 stars (20 reviews)
  4. 2 stars (10 reviews)
  5. 1 star (18 reviews)

Easy to use. Smooth Integration. Would Recommend.


Does exactly the job I require it to, so thanks for the app, Shopify.


We've had great interest already in the free downloads we've added to our site.


very useful if you plan on selling virtual products.


Maybe not be the most complex app but does what I need for free.

However, it does have some significant drawbacks.

The basic setting is 'unlimited instant downloads'. If you have mixed products which include a download plus a physical product, or if you want to limit the number of downloads per purchase, you have to reload the app page and edit each item individually. There is no way to change the basic setting - very annoying when you need it to change for every single item.


Works great for me, takes away a big headache.


There should really be a way to access digital downloads via the API. The fact that there isn't a way is making my life very difficult. This should really be implemented!


I've used it successfully for a month or two now. It has handled digital files up to 95 MB so far.


App is not working? How do you add/edit attachments?!


App currently does not allow you to add downloads to a product, at least for me. Has worked well in the past but now is not functioning.


Support & Sales

1 (888) 746 7439
Get Support


  • Large
  • Thumb
  • Thumb

Are you a developer? Become a Shopify Developer or submit your app.