QD (Quantity Breaks/Discounts)

QD (Quantity Breaks/Discounts)

by TenGrowth

Quantity discount,Volume discount,Tiered pricing,Bulk discount

4.7 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    84% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    7% of ratings are 4 stars
    (7)
  • 3 of 5 stars
    4% of ratings are 3 stars
    (4)
  • 2 of 5 stars
    1% of ratings are 2 stars
    (1)
  • 1 of 5 stars
    4% of ratings are 1 stars
    (4)

All reviews

4 reviews

Wandermensch

Sometimes its not working. And that means i lose a client if it isn't working, because im promising discounts if people buy more and when they don't see discounts they think im lying to them. Why is it so hard for shopify to just make multiple automated discounts possible?

Update: I tried to contact support, but all 3 button/links on the app are not working.

Developer reply

August 21, 2020

Thank you for sharing with us! We will keep working to improve your experience with our app. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you need our assistance. The build-in chart is working👍

EasyGenie

When the app works, it's great. When it doesn't it creates a lot of headaches for me and my staff. The BOGO functionality was particularly problematic, with about 1/3 of customers not getting the free product they expected, requiring refunds or extra communications explaining the issue and manually adding free items to orders. Support was good at first, but the last two or three messages I sent got no response.

Developer reply

May 25, 2020

Hello!
Please accept our sincere apologies for this situation!
We would highly appreciate if you give us a second chance, so we can define the reason for such app behavior.
We had received and replied to each of your requests by email, but it seemed that the letters got to the Spam folder.

GE Designs

The app has been working pretty well but there are orders that slip through and the discount doesn't kick in. Which results in the customer having to email me and complain about being overcharged (sometimes $30 which is a lot) and then I have to go refund that amount. Support has given me no reason as to why that happens, just claim its because of ShopPay or PayPal. All orders are paid via ShopPay or PayPal so that doesn't make any sense. I'd love to figure out the issue and then this app would receive 5 stars.

chooseorganics

so far so good,havent explore it yet.been loiking for this kind of app like forever,ive dowloaded a lot