Calificación general
4
Recuentos por nivel de calificación
  • El 70% de las calificaciones son de 5 estrellas
  • El 8% de las calificaciones son de 4 estrellas
  • El 2% de las calificaciones son de 3 estrellas
  • El 3% de las calificaciones son de 2 estrellas
  • El 17% de las calificaciones son de 1 estrellas
21 de junio de 2021

I was using the paid version of the app for a while and it was ok then all of a sudden it stopped working. Lost everything, support has been really poor since

Green Lili
Reino Unido
Más de 1 año usando la aplicación
27 de septiembre de 2016

Wish this would get us some sales.

Buddhapants 2
Estados Unidos
11 meses usando la aplicación
14 de agosto de 2020

I used the app, I could not use it for google custom ads. In Facebook I saw many products that were with out of stock status despite they were in stock. The price is absurdly high for shops with many products. It is easy to work with, but not many features compared to apps in other platforms and very expensive for what it can do. So not good for dropshipping business with many products.

Онлайн магазин за дрехи, обувки и аксесоари | Topoutfit
Bulgaria
7 meses usando la aplicación
Flexify AG respondió 27 de agosto de 2020

Hi Topoutfit,

Sorry to hear you are having trouble. Thankfully the issues you are encountering are easily fixed.

Unfortunately, we haven't heard back from you yet.

Please do not hesitate to reach out to me at: daniel.heier@flexify.net

20 de febrero de 2019

I am also having trouble getting this app to function the way it should. I am awaiting some assistance on this. Thank-you

Welcome Organics
Australia
4 meses usando la aplicación
Flexify AG respondió 14 de marzo de 2019

Hi Welcome Organics,
 
This is Daniel from Flexify - I hope I was able to help.

Please let me know if you have any questions!

Fecha de modificación: 6 de septiembre de 2022

very bad. I am spending time for a catalog since 3 days. they don't want give support. WASTE OF TIME

etnikbulvar
Turquía
3 meses usando la aplicación
Flexify AG respondió 15 de octubre de 2020

Hi etnikbulvar,

This is Daniel from Flexify. We are sorry to hear you are having trouble with your feed. Our support team has written you several detailed emails providing solutions to the common issues that you have experienced when trying to setup your feed for the first time.

If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me!
daniel.heier@flexify.net

27 de agosto de 2019

Hi,
The product upload was great. However I'm finding it difficult to pair the products with my catalogue on my business manager.
Could you please share instructions, so I my ID will be taking into account ?
Many thanks in advance.
Thomas

Celsius Girls
Francia
6 días usando la aplicación
Flexify AG respondió 28 de agosto de 2019

Hi Thomas,

Sure, here to help!

Please do not hesitate to contact me @daniel.heier@flexify.net

16 de septiembre de 2020

This app create a single product for each variants that u have on your store
That's crazy
Use integrated plugin on Shopify its free and lot better

NavaShop
Cabo Verde
4 días usando la aplicación
Flexify AG respondió 17 de septiembre de 2020

Hi NavaShop,

This is Daniel from Flexify. Sorry to hear you are having trouble. The issue you are having is actually a feature of Flexify and not a bug. It can easily be turned on and off in the app’s interface.

Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any further questions!
daniel.heier@flexify.net

12 de junio de 2019

Seemed like everything was working but no matter how hard we tried, there continued to be errors that lead to our Facebook page showing all products to be out of stock. Feedback from Flexify was unhelpful. Their comments did not address our specific concerns. Pretty sure they did not even bother to look up our information. Even free it wasn’t worth it.

Arizona Firefighter Athletics
Estados Unidos
4 días usando la aplicación