Facebook channel

Facebook channel

by Shopify

Bring your products to Facebook and Instagram users.

4.6 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    73% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    18% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    4% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    4% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

11 - 20 of 106 reviews

Plants Furnish

I'm still a beginner with the app. It will be my first time making use of it for my shopify business.

Developer reply

December 22, 2020

Thank you for the review! I know that approaching Facebook and social media for the first time can be intimidating, so I've sent you an email with some information on next steps you can take. If you have any questions you can reply right there. Looking forward to hearing from you! - Jake, Shopify Support

OCANDGSTORE.COM

you really have to know whats going on if you have multiple fb accounts the versatility of this app hurts and doesnt help

Developer reply

December 22, 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback! This is extremely important to us to keep improving our app and we truly appreciate it. I understand you have found it difficult to manage multiple Facebook accounts when using the app. I'd love to hear more about your experience so I can ensure you are getting the support you need and, therefore, get the most out of our app. I will be in touch shortly via email. Look forward to chatting with you! - Paola, Shopify Support

J&M Exclusives

I'm not to tech sevy but wasn't too hard following this. App is not hard to follow and not too time consuming. Kind of fun!!

Developer reply

December 18, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience! I am happy to see you had a good fun setting up the app. I'd like to touch base to ensure you are getting the most out of all the features so I will be sending you an email shortly. Look forward to hearing back. - Anna, Shopify Support

VKVeruzka

Sometimes it is difficult to access Facebook management from here, despite using the right password and user id

Developer reply

December 17, 2020

Thanks for sharing your feedback! I definitely understanding how that may be frustrating. If you're referring to the redirects to your Facebook Business Manager, any login session that you are directed to is not actually hosted by our platform. I've sent you an email to discuss this further and I hope to hear back from you soon. - Abdalla, Shopify Support

EarsPower

Good app,i hope it will be good for my store and to show my products to people who need them. I am happy to use it

Developer reply

December 14, 2020

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am glad to see you are happy to use it. I'd like to ensure you are getting the most out of our app so I will be sending you an email shortly to connect. Look forward to hearing from you. - Anna, Shopify Support

Menyonbeauty

I enjoy Facebook and Instagram Marketing! I am learning marketing is marketing therefore, you must do it consistently. But it's worth it.

Developer reply

December 12, 2020

Thanks for sharing your feedback! I'm happy to hear you're enjoying the app and utilizing it to it's full potential. Since marketing is a focus of yours, I’ve sent out to an email to you with some marketing guides and tips. I hope to hear more of your thoughts soon. - Abdalla, Shopify Support

The Cool Collective

I don't have extensive experience with this, so it's difficult to rate. Setting this up was pretty easy though.

Developer reply

December 10, 2020

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. I'm glad to see you found the set up pretty easy. As you can imagine, feedback is extremely important to us to improve our app so I really do appreciate you sharing your experience. I'd like to ensure you are getting the most out of our app so I will be in touch shortly via email. Look forward to hearing back. - Anna, Shopify Support

sugar and spice crafts

Found it a bit confusing at first as it kept telling me I wasn’t set up, yet when I went in it everything was there

Developer reply

December 9, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I can definitely see why it would be confusing to receive a notification regarding set up when it was already completed. I want to ensure you are getting the most out of our app so I will be sending you an email shortly to touch base. Look forward to your reply! - Anna, Shopify Support

Midnight Crusade

It was an easy process to set up and I liked that each step was clearly labelled but it was still confusing knowing what I was actually setting up along the way and what I was agreeing to. I did feel a little pressured into clicking yes for everything

Developer reply

December 9, 2020

Thanks for sharing your feedback! Glad to hear that you found the process easy! I'd love to talk more about the parts that were confusing for you. I've sent out an email to you, I hope to hear back from you soon! - Abdalla, Shopify Support

JaiBeauty

It was very quick and easy to use. It only took about 5 minutes for me to get everything i needed to get done done.

Developer reply

December 8, 2020

Thanks for sharing your feedback! I'm glad to hear you had an easy time! I’ve sent out to an email to you and hope to hear more of your thoughts soon. - Abdalla, Shopify Support