評價 (210)

整體評分
2.3
各級評分數量
  • 31% 的評分為 5 顆星
  • 9% 的評分為 4 顆星
  • 7% 的評分為 3 顆星
  • 8% 的評分為 2 顆星
  • 45% 的評分為 1 顆星
2024年5月6日

The app completely ignored a particular rule that I had set up. Hence, a fraudolent customer was able to do a repurchase.

Not happy about it.

Pill Farmácia Digital
巴西
使用應用程式 1年多
Shopify 已回覆 2024年5月8日

Hi there, thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear that this happened. If you still wish to use the app, please contact our support team directly and we can look into the rule you set up and why the order was able to get through: https://shopify.link/vRnL. -Victor, Shopify Support

2024年3月6日

I had a rule in place that it completely ignored. Lost a sale due to fraud!

It cancelled one order and didn't even alert me or show an order where it ran.

Terrible app. Why even offer it?

Ag Manuals, LLC - A Provider of Digital Farm Manuals
美國
使用應用程式 8個月
Shopify 已回覆 2024年3月20日

Hi, there! Thanks for your review of the Fraud Filter App. We're sorry to hear about this situation with this fraud rule. Please, reach out to our Support Team via our AI Assistant (https://shopify.link/vRnL) so we can get you authenticated and investigate this for you. -Imogen, Shopify Support

2024年2月14日

This app simply does not work and has created a very uncomfortable and dangerous situation for me. I have a disturbed customer who I've tried blocking several times using this app and it's failed every time. Do not download.

Secondhand Mods
美國
使用應用程式 10個月
Shopify 已回覆 2024年2月16日

Thanks for the review. You can set up specific rules using the Fraud Filter application on your Shopify store to not allow specific credentials to be used in the checkout: https://shopify.link/w6zj. With that being said, if you are experiencing an issue with a specific customer that is attempting to make purchases from your store that you do not want to allow. We will need to take a further look into your online store set up to advise the next steps. In this case, you can get in direct contact with our live support by navigating to the Help Center: https://shopify.link/mLA. When you arrive at the Help Center, you will need to make the virtual assistant aware that you would like to Speak with support and you will be connected with a Support Advisor. -Ollie, Shopify Support

2024年2月28日

does not work

self.
伊拉克
使用應用程式 9個月
Shopify 已回覆 2024年3月8日

Hello!

Thanks for reaching out and sharing your review.

You mentioned you're having issues with the app and our team would like to better understand what specific issues you're experiencing. If you'd like, you can connect with our team through the Shopify Help Center (https://shopify.link/vRnL) so we can troubleshoot effectively. -Victoria, Shopify Support.

2024年4月15日

The app don’t work. I have the address filled for the filter and the app doesn’t let me save. It kept asking me to put the info even though I’ve already filled the info I wanted to blacklist. 1/5 app.

The SERAVANGEL Official
美國
使用應用程式 4分鐘
Shopify 已回覆 2024年4月17日

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you're experiencing some trouble with the Fraud Filter app. If you haven't done so already, I'd encourage you to connect with our Live Support so we can ensure this gets resolved: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. - Blair, Shopify Support

2024年1月10日

Does not work dont download just waste of time

Alstyle India
印度
使用應用程式 18天
Shopify 已回覆 2024年1月11日

Hi, India! We're sorry to see the app didn't work for you as expected. Are you about to provide specifics about your issue? Thanks in advance! - Skye, Shopify Support

2023年7月21日

This app does not work at all. As this app is by Shopify, I reached the support and explained everything, how it is not working. Finally got a reply from them to use another app. Then why this app is there? Not at all satisfied

Skmeico
印度
使用應用程式 4個月
Shopify 已回覆 2023年8月10日

Hi, there. I'm sorry to hear that the app wasn't working for you, and I appreciate you reaching out to our team about this. If you experienced a technical issue with the app, please know that our team will investigate and do what we can to resolve it. -Sophia, Shopify Support

2023年10月19日

Doesn't work. I have one rule setup. An order meets the criteria for the rule, however, the app does nothing. Very frustrating. Do not recommend.

Tiny Labs
美國
使用應用程式 13天
Shopify 已回覆 2023年10月24日

Thank you for your review. I am sorry the app is not working as it should. Please contact our Support Team (https://shopify.link/qL3P) to look into this for you. -Emily, Shopify Support

2023年9月26日

App doesn't work.

Filter Tagging could be an option but it is missing/not available in this app.
Also the rules doesn't apply immediately.

Cloud Bliss
菲律賓
使用應用程式 大約23小時
Shopify 已回覆 2023年9月29日

Hi, there. Thanks for taking time to leave a review. Could you let me know what specifically wasn't working with the tagging? If you can share more context I'm happy to look into this with our team for you. You can also create a support ticket with our team if it's regarding a bug or specific issue. -Rio, Shopify Support.

2023年11月10日

Not working, i even set rules for all fields, but it doesn't filter the orders I want.

Delidori
香港特別行政區
使用應用程式 大約2小時
Shopify 已回覆 2023年11月13日

Hi there, thanks for reaching out. There are some restrictions on what the Fraud Filter app can do but it should be working with the parameters and restrictions you've set. Please contact our support team for further assistance and we'd be happy to take a closer look at this: https://shopify.link/vRnL. -Victor, Shopify Support