BOGOS: Free gift & Buy X Get Y , 1,147 reviews

Overall rating
Counts per rating level
  • 87% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 7% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 1 stars
February 14, 2021

This app requires the developers to add liquid code manually. I had 2 days of back and forth communication with Robert who said that even though they were on holiday, they would get it done, unfortunately he just ghosted me for 3 days, which caused us to scramble last minute to find another app at the last minute. I see others have had good service experiences but unfortunately our experience with this app was frustrating and disappointing. (I wouldn't have left a review, but Robert has sent 2 automated emails in the last few days to ask for one -so here it is).

Silly George
United States
Time spent using app: 4 days
Secomapp replied February 17, 2021

I’m really sorry for your unhappy experience. We have been back from our Lunar New Year holiday and able to install the code for you quickly! We have been trying to contact you through ticket #93118. Could you kindly check your mailbox and let us know your thought? Thank you so much!

February 12, 2021

I installed it and couldn't get it to work and so uninstalled it. Unfortunately according to Shopify Tech Support it added code that completely hosed my shopping cart. This made me lose 1/2 day of sales while Shopify support walked me through removing their code from the liquify files.

United States
Time spent using app: About 1 hour
Secomapp replied February 14, 2021

I’m so sorry for the unhappy experience you have encountered. It’s a pity that we did not receive any emails from you so we do not have the chance to support you properly. I have created the ticket number 93259 for further support. Could you please check your mailbox and let us know your thought?
Thank you so much!

January 18, 2021

Horrible experience. They completely messed up my cart and when i add products to the cart, it doesn't update. Reached out to support and they said they backed up my theme, but they backed up my theme incorrectly. All the changes made were also in my "backup" theme. I had to manually revert all of the code they made and guess what, it all started to work again. I spent 3 hours trying to fix all of this and all customer support said during this time was that it wasn't their fault. Well I just fixed it by reverting all their code, so yes, it was their fault.

Stickie Tech
United States
Time spent using app: About 5 hours
Secomapp replied January 18, 2021

Hi there,

I'm sorry for the unhappy experience you are having. We've been trying to connect you via the ticket number 90925. Could you please check it and let us know your thoughts? Thank you so much!

Edited November 20, 2020

Worst experience ever. Installed the app but didn't work. Asked for help and there was no response until a review was given and they responded. Did some customisation work on my theme without backup and broke some codes, resulting in carousel, menu and cart issues which affected our store conversions for a week. These issues were not brought to light until Secomapp highlighted to me, claiming that they stumbled upon these issues but they're gonna fix it out of goodwill if the neg review is removed. Review was removed but errors are still not fixed. Secomapp suggest I get a dev to fix the errors. Out of desperation, we have no choice but to back date the theme that's two versions before since Secomapp didn't back up the last theme version. There's also no clear instructions on uninstallation despite asking for it on 12 Nov. Horrible experience. Use this app at your own risk.

Good Dog People™
Time spent using app: 9 days
Secomapp replied November 20, 2020

10:08 PM

Hi admin,
We're sorry for the unhappy experience you have encountered. We had backed up your theme on our local before we installed the app on Nov 12. Could you please check the emails we sent so that we can investigate the root cause and fix the issue for you?

July 13, 2020

Really not good. The app creates a free variant on our website that is visible on our website, we tried to hide it many times but there is nothing to do. People can hack it and add free products to their orders. We have contacted the app many times without any chance to make it work, we paid developers to work on it but there is nothing to do...

United Kingdom
Time spent using app: About 1 year
Secomapp replied July 16, 2020

So sorry for your unhappy experience. But as our last email, you just required us to leave it for your developer to handle the app and then things just got out of our control. We have just sent a quick follow-up mail, please reply to it and we can have a chance to back you up carefully. Thanks!

May 4, 2020

Very poor customer service, the app created a whole bunch of errors, big mess. Will not use this app again.

Makeup & Facial Online Courses
United States
Time spent using app: 3 days
Secomapp replied May 5, 2020

So sorry for your unhappy experience with our app. Because you have requested us to remove all necessary code for the app to be working, when you want to test it again, please ask us to re-install the code for you first. Thank you.

April 22, 2020

The only thing I liked about the app was the prompt support. However, this could not compensate for the amount of headache we have had. The app turned itself off on its own. Then it would force the wrong variation into people's cart resulting in a lot of frustration, money loss for us and pricey returns. It requires a duplicate of SKU in order to work, which created total mess in out WMS system blocking dispatching. I would recommend to try and avoid using it if you can, or give yourself a month of testing, because our 18 days were not enough.

Siccaro DK
Time spent using app: About 1 month
Secomapp replied April 22, 2020

So sorry for your unhappy experience. We suggest you let us help set up the offer to make it work correctly. A follow-up email has been sent to fully explain and suggest the way to handle the issues for you. Thanks!

February 20, 2020

Do not recommend this app. App was not ready upon download. Had to give permission do developer to finish installation and then once fully installed customers were unable to use the checkout button on our store resulting in frustration and loss of sales. This was not fixed for hours after problem was noticed and we did not hear back from Secomapp for far too long after this occurred, only received auto generated emails until after our store had closed for the day. Would have been nice to talk to someone over the phone about our problems but no phone number can be found online. Using this app has brought me doubt to use any third party apps on Shopify.

Gwartzman's Art Supplies
Time spent using app: 13 days
Secomapp replied February 21, 2020

So sorry for your unhappy experience.
Sorry that we are only available and will quickly respond to all your request within our working hours (8.30am -6pm – GMT +7). We have checked carefully and fixed all of your issues. Supporters also emailed and inboxed your Fanpage to follow up your case promptly. Please check and let us know if you need any support.

November 28, 2019

We had the developer help install but it's still not working. When we drop the cart below the required amount to receive the free gift it stays in the cart even though the customer has spent less than the threshold.

Madison + Mallory
United States
Time spent using app: 20 days
Edited October 30, 2019

I wish I could live ZERO stars; this is the worst app I have ever encountered; they added so much code to my theme and destroyed so much of my custom settings. I tried reaching out to customer service, and they reply every 24hrs like clockwork(for a single reply), so if you are in a bind, don't expect a response until the next day, by that time, you just lost a bunch of sales. If you are reading this and thinking about getting this app DONT if you already did and you are looking for help removing all their destructive code, email me > > UPDATE: There should be a way to reply to their reply They did next to nothing to fix the issues. DONT USE THIS APP. Also, NOTE the "sparklingvision" review was posted the very next day I posted my one-star review. It's clearly a fake review, be less obvious.

Origami Rack
United States
Time spent using app: 2 days
Secomapp replied October 26, 2019

We are sorry for all inconvenience you have had with our app.
We actually have tried our best to fix the issues we’ve been informed as soon as possible. Sorry that the support has not come in time you decided to remove the access and app.
Sorry again, we have proceeded the refund and replied to you already.