by Shopify

Boost global sales with country and language recommendations.

2.5 of 5 stars(126 reviews)

Boost conversion

Get more of your international visitors to make a purchase.

Provide a local experience

Offer visitors a custom shopping experience no matter where you’re located.

Set up quickly

Publish to your online store in minutes. No coding required.

About Geolocation

The Geolocation app lets you recommend the best country and language for your visitors based on their browser preferences and location. These recommendations show up on your online store as a bar or popup, and fit seamlessly with your brand. Your visitors can also change their country and language anytime with selectors, which work with any theme. The country’s home currency is also surfaced in the recommendation and selectors.

Key features

  • Let our visitors select their country and language.
  • Give your visitors personalized recommendations based on the countries/​regions they’ve enabled on their store.
  • Automatically detect and match your online store’s theme colors.
  • Preview before publishing on your online store.

Eligibility requirements

  • You must be selling in multiple languages and in multiple countries/​regions that use Shopify Payments.

Media gallery



2.5 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    27% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    8% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    18% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    8% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    39% of ratings are 1 stars

Most recent reviews

Teddy and Wool

The app used to automatically convert pricing to the correct currency based on geo-location (IP), but this has stopped working for some reason?? At least inform us if you change this functionality...

Developer reply

June 17, 2021

Hi there, the Geolocation app hasn't ever changed currency automatically, it recommends that buyers switch into their local pricing/language. We would also suggest not changing currency based on IP as this can be frowned upon by Google. We would instead recommend automatic redirection with international domains to automatically show your buyers the right currency:


It's a good app, unfortunately the currency/country selector is hidden at the bottom on the footer, where no one is going to see it. So it ends up being next to useless. You would think that they would offer the option of having it on the header.

Developer reply

June 16, 2021

Hi there, there are 2 reasons we don't do this. Firstly, because Geolocation offers a pop up recommendation to buyers when they aren't in the right location or language. They should only need to use the selectors if they want to change to a country or language different than their default.

Secondly, because Geolocation doesn't add any code to your theme, it's not technically possible for us to add selectors to the header reliably. If you want to do this, you can have a Shopify expert build a country selector directly into your theme's header instead ( Good luck!

monotype preprod

i used below code in my store {% form 'localization' %} {% for country in localization.available_countries %} {{ }} ({{ country.iso_code }}) - {{ country.currency.symbol }} {% endfor %}
{% endform %} on clicking the update button it appends /?shpxid=a65e5c42-xxxx-xxxx-xxxxxxxxxxx in the URL. defeating the whole purpose of using this

Developer reply

June 16, 2021

Hi there, this is appended to your URL to allow for cross domain tracking. Is there a reason this defeats the purpose of the solution for you?