Gift Box: Automatic Free Gifts

Free gifts with purchase • Buy X get Y • Auto add to cart

Shopify app insights
  • Popular with businesses in the United States

From $29.99/month. 3-day free trial.

App highlights

  • Seamless workflow: use directly in Shopify admin

  • Up-to-date tech: works with the latest themes

Gift Box – Offer free gifts or services to reward your customers

Reviews

4.8 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

Counts per rating level
  • 92% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 1 stars

Filter and sort reviews

3 reviews

Fervor Montreal

Location Canada
Time spent using app About 1 month

This is a great app with excellent customer service, however, there are a few issues: 1) All Paypal payments were only accepted in US$ and not in the customers local currency
2) Although there is an option to enter a regular discount code via the app pop up, most customers are used to seeing this option at checkout- when using the app this option is not available 3) Does not work with Auto discounts since the app uses draft orders

Developer reply

August 4, 2022

Hi there,

Thank you for testing our app and for your feedback. The issues you had with the app were related to the fact that Gift Box was using Shopify’s draft orders API that comes with these restrictions. We understand that this approach is not ideal for many merchants and because of that we’re working on another method of adding free gifts to orders that won’t have any impact on your checkout currency or discounts.

Stay tuned! :)
Lucia, Customer Success Manager

RMS Beauty

Location United States
Time spent using app About 1 month

This app has great potential, and is very easy to work with. However it cannot work if you have a loyalty program with your site and is limited by Shopify in terms of other discount integrations. Very unfortunate. However, the service is great - you get a response very quickly which is unlike most Shopify app partners. I wish we could have used it

Developer reply

August 4, 2022

Hi there,

Thank you for testing our app and for your feedback, we’re really sorry about the compatibility issues you experienced. Unfortunately, the draft orders that Gift Box utilized were the source of incompatibility. We understand that this is a problem for many merchants and because of that, we’re working on another method of adding free gifts to orders that won’t have any impact on your checkout currency or discounts.

Stay tuned! :)
Lucia, Customer Success Manager

ANOTHER_STORY

Location Thailand
Time spent using app 25 days

I installed the plug in and it worked pretty well at the beginning, the design is nice, flexible, and the team very helpful, answering very quickly.

We had few bugs and Lucia came up with solutions. Yet one, very randomly, could not be solve from time to time during the testing phasis.

the app system is having conflicts with the existing discounts options from Shopify. It will randomly bug or not bug if setting the discounts with Shopify (which allow more options, especially the display at checkout and the eligibility).

We tested it many times before launching the website officially and it happened only few times so we though it would be okay.

Today was the kick off of our launch campaign and the bug became impossible to control! 4 clients on different devices were kind enough to contact us to inform us that they were unable to enter the discount code given at checkout (set on shopify back end). We noticed that those 4 clients had selected a free gift (set with the gift box app). We tried again ourselves from 7 different devices, and the bug happened to 6 of us, while picking a gift, impossible to add the discount at checkout even when matching all requirements.

I warmly recommend the service from the team yet cannot afford to loose both clients and time as it happened this morning.
I would be happy to re-install the app as soon as the bug will be fixed.

Developer reply

September 27, 2020

Hi there,

Thank you so much for testing our app and your feedback. We are really sorry about your experience. 🙏

As explained in the in-app chat, a customer is not able to enter a discount code during the checkout together with a free gift. That's because the platform allows only a single discount code per order (and the one is used for a free gift).

However, we have come up with a workaround so customers can enter additional discounts via the Gift Box UI. You can read more details here: https://www.notion.so/digismoothie/How-to-enable-discount-code-with-free-gift-s-7aee3efb25924aee96913e1d5d70576f

Hope this info helps and maybe you will consider giving our app a second chance.

Anyway, good luck in your business and happy gifting everyone 🎁,

Tom