Glew: Multichannel Analytics

Glew: Multichannel Analytics

by Glew

Ecommerce analytics that help you save time and sell more.

4.3 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    85% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    0% of ratings are 4 stars
    (0)
  • 3 of 5 stars
    0% of ratings are 3 stars
    (0)
  • 2 of 5 stars
    2% of ratings are 2 stars
    (1)
  • 1 of 5 stars
    13% of ratings are 1 stars
    (6)

All reviews

6 reviews

Tropical Fruit Box

Requiring an annual agreement for a product whose efficacy is yet to be proven could be a crippling burden for a small business. Living in turbulent times, it’s shameful to see a company embracing these practices and Shopify allowing them to prosper unchecked.

Developer reply

July 16, 2020

Hi there, thank you for your feedback! Like many software platforms, we do operate on an annual subscription - we believe that's the best way for users to get meaningful value from our product, while allowing us to provide ongoing feature development and support. We understand that model isn't the right fit for every business, which is why we make that clear during the signup process, as well as offer a free trial.

While we're sorry not to have you as a Glew customer, we're happy that the free trial worked as intended to help you evaluate our product and decide whether it was the right fit! We hope you'll check us out again in the future if your needs change.

Sweet Packs

had the free trial. asked if specific features were possible and was advised it is but only on the paid version. I started paying 199USD a month to then find out i was lied to and the features I wanted was not possible to I asked to cancel the subscription. They said it wasn't possible so I canceled the payments through the bank. I'm not going to pay for an app I'm, not using, 9.99USD a month i don't really mind but 199USD per month I'm not paying. Especially when i was told the features were available... I lied too. Now they are threatening to take me to court for not paying. I haven't logged in for 8 months other than to download invoices. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND AND DO NOT BE RUSHED INTO PAYING AS YOU CANT CANCEL. Little data is a fraction of the price and does the same thing.

Developer reply

June 12, 2020

Hi there, thanks for sharing your feedback - we're sorry that you haven't had a positive experience with Glew. Like many software platforms, we do operate on an annual contract. We believe that’s the best way for users to get meaningful value from Glew, while allowing us to provide ongoing feature development and client support for all our users. While we understand that model isn’t the right fit for every business, we do make that clear during the signup process.

After reviewing your account, it looks like our support team was able to provide a solution for the feature you're referencing - we apologize if that wasn't made clear. That being said, we want to help you get the most value out of Glew for the remainder of your subscription. Please reach out to our team if there's anything we can do.

DJT 2020

I hired am email marketing agency on Upwork to build some Klaviyo flows for my store. They are a partner with Glew.io and signed me up for an account so they could use the analytics to build better flows. To be clear, I DID NOT sign up for a Glew account and the first time I knew anything about this service was on the wrapup call with my email agency when they mentioned they use their data and passed me off to their team for a demo.

The product looked cool, and for $199/mo I was willing to try it out for a couple of months to see if I could make use of the data for my store. Since my store is just 7 SKUs, there wasn't much that I was able to do to use the data so it wasn't a good use of money. I reached out to my rep at told him this and asked to cancel. They set up a quick demo, and after going through everything, agreed that my store was too simple to have any meaningful takeaways.

When I tried to cancel, they told me that I was locked in for another 7 months. I explained that I never signed up for this service in the first place, but they didn't seem to care and threatened to send me to collections. They continue to stick by their guns that I knowingly entered into a year-long contract, even though I DIDN'T SIGN UP FOR THE SERVICE IN THE FIRST PLACE.

Beware of this company and their sneaky and bullying tactics.

Developer reply

June 10, 2020

Hi there, thanks for sharing your feedback - we're sorry that you haven't had a positive experience with Glew. Like many software platforms, we do operate on an annual contract. We believe that’s the best way for users to get meaningful value from Glew, while allowing us to provide ongoing feature development and client support for all our users. While we understand that model isn’t the right fit for every business, we do make that clear during the signup process.

That being said, we want to help you get the most value out of Glew for the remainder of your subscription. Please reach out to our team anytime if there is anything we can do.

Depuravita

The app can be very useful, unfortunately I can not make a comment on this. my employee mistakenly purchased this app agreed with our digital commerce consultant with a binding contract of 3 years. I am trying to terminate this contract since two years but they don't accept and we pay each month 169€ for nothing. Now I pass the case to our lawyers and will wait what can be done. We sent the termination letter but they didn't reply. According EU law we have the right to terminate the contract but Glew team simply ignored this and I find it very unprofessional.

Developer reply

April 17, 2020

Hi there! Thanks for your feedback - we’re sorry to hear that you haven’t had an entirely positive experience with Glew. Like many apps, we do operate on a contract basis, and while we understand that model isn’t the right fit for every business, we make that clear during the signup process.

I see that your cancellation request has been processed and will take effect at the end of your subscription term. However, we want to make sure you’re able to get the most value out of our platform for the duration of your subscription - if there’s anything we can do, please reach out anytime at support@glew.io.

PRO EDU

Initially when looking at this software we were looking for deep analytics for our new subscription service hosted on Paywhirl. We also have a Shopify store for sales. In the sales calls I was very specific and showed all of the software we used, how we used it, and what we needed to do with subscriber analytics. They promised and promised in the sales demo that we could get everything we needed. The sales person said our account manager would be able to set everything up because he couldn't show us what we were asking for in the demo. He just cared about getting a sale and passing us off to the account manager. After several months of trying to make the software work, they basically said that it doesn't but they "could make it work with another $4,000-$5,000 in custom development. A team member specifically from Glew was one of the worst people I've ever dealt with. Promised to solve the solution, develop a solution for the issue, and would simply forget to call us back or follow up. So we were left with a piece of expensive software that did NOTHING for what was promised. And they insisted that we would have to continue to pay for the entire year despite the software not serving any function. Why would they want a company who's super unhappy with the products or services and find 0 value in this to continue to be forced to pay for a product or service that provides no value? Another company that over promises and under delivers. I wasn't going to write any review but since I called Amex and stopped all payments they decided to send me to collections over 10 months later. SLEEZY. Garbage customer service.

Developer reply

February 21, 2020

Hi there - this is Abby from Glew. I’m so sorry to hear you haven’t had a positive experience with our product. It’s our primary goal to make sure all of our clients see value in Glew, and it sounds like there was some miscommunication from the start with your subscription. We’d love to get on a call to figure out a solution. You can email me directly at abby.healy[at]glew.io and I’ll make sure you’re connected with the right person. - Abby

casa de sante

Not worth the money. Poor customer service, unable to calculate simple metrics, not connected to Google & Amazon. Deceptive advertising & when you try to cancel you are locked in for 1 year. Will not be renewing. I suspect the positive reviews are fake. Stay away!

Developer reply

November 21, 2019

Hi there! We’re sorry to hear that you haven’t had a positive experience with Glew. Like many apps, we do operate on an annual contract, and while we understand that model isn’t the right fit for every business, we make that clear during the signup process and on our App Store listing.

We want to make sure you’re able to get the most value out of our platform for the duration of your subscription and are here to help if you’re having any issues getting your data sources connected or utilizing our analytics - our support team will reach out shortly to follow up with you.

(And as you know, reviews are directly connected to your Shopify store, so no fake reviews here - promise!)