Avis (1 562)

Note globale
4,8
Nombre d’avis par note
  • 96 % des avis sont des avis à 5 étoiles
  • 1 % des avis sont des avis à 4 étoiles
  • 0 % des avis sont des avis à 3 étoiles
  • 0 % des avis sont des avis à 2 étoiles
  • 2 % des avis sont des avis à 1 étoiles
10 juin 2024

I contracted CED commerce to help with google feed and SEO services because i saw they had pretty decent reviews but my experience has been nothing short of a nightmare.

I was conned into paying $550 and installing this horrible App that messes up your data feed and had continuous communication with with them but zero results. Swathi continued to submit my google free listing to GMC until i got suspended and the other SEO lady, Priya kept on spelling my business name all wrong all through in attempt to do SEO with excessive capitalization of text on my website and i kept on correcting her. Just a complete waste of time and money.

I find that they are not knowledgeable at all and do not have the skill to perform the job as claimed. All 5 star reviews are definitely fake. I am currently in dispute with them, let me save you the stress, run and save your money.

Oma la Belle
États-Unis
Environ 2 mois d’utilisation de l’application
17 mai 2024

I had a terrible experience with this app. The team behind it was highly unprofessional and completely messed up my GMC account. They set the age group incorrectly, which didn't align with our target audience. Additionally, they didn't properly set the sale price and failed to include shipping information as per our website. As result, Google disapproved 195 of our products, and we were charged by Google ads despite not making any sales for nearly 5 days. this app has been a nightmare for our business

Micky Mart
Australie
Environ un mois d’utilisation de l’application
15 février 2024

This is the most incompetent support I've ever had to deal with. They lack expertise in Google and follow templates for everything. If your theme or design does not align with the architecture of their application, they won't even inform you about it. They just go through the motions according to their regulations, and you end up spending your money because your attributes transmit incorrect data. If you're reading this review and looking for an application, consider DataFeedWatch. Their support doesn't waste your time, avoids creating tasks with intentional errors, and everything works perfectly.

EVIQO
R.A.S. chinoise de Hong Kong
3 jours d’utilisation de l’application
CedCommerce a répondu 20 février 2024

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

We can see on the chats that our team assisted you with all the queries you had. Your feed and profiles were also made live. Later on, you had a query for mapping sales price and price which our representative explained to you clearly that it can be done in the Profiles section of the app in the attribute mapping step and all mapping options are present in it.

You were also informed that the item ID for the product can be changed in the configuration section. All options are visible but it seems like you are not ready to understand and rated our chats and app as bad even after acknowledging that you did not require further help as the issue was solved.

Please be informed we assist thousands of merchants daily with clear explanations and work hard to produce fruitful results for them and assist them in all queries. If anything is not clear to you yet then you may reach us anytime.

Modifié le 20 février 2024

We are extremely disappointed with the lack of results and support provided by cedcommerce. Prior to paying an additional 200 euro for extra marketing services, we were assured that their support would be comprehensive. However, after spending 550 euro on Google advertising with no return on investment, we have decided to discontinue their services.

Despite numerous attempts to communicate with them via email and chat, they have failed to respond. It is puzzling to us how with a budget of 550 euro, we were unable to generate a single sale. The lack of orders coming in is alarming and has left us questioning the efficacy of their advertising strategies.

We are baffled by their 5-star rating and cannot recommend cedcomemrce to others based on our disappointing experience.

DPM69 | De Puta Madre 69 Italian Fashionbrand
Italie
8 mois d’utilisation de l’application
21 juillet 2023

Beware of Commerce Google Feed - A Total Scam!

Commerce Google Feed is a total scam! They charge for nothing, while Google Merchant itself is free. I was unknowingly losing money to this fraudulent service for three long years, until a financial investigation brought these charges to light. I strongly advise others to stay away from this untrustworthy app. Furthermore, I'm sure their positive reviews are entirely fake, adding to their dubious nature.

They market themselves as a feed management service that will boost product visibility and sales on Google Merchant. Moreover, the truth of the matter is that gaining access to Google Merchant is entirely free of charge. Any merchant can easily upload their products to Google Merchant Center without the need for a third-party service like Commerce Google Feed. Had I known this crucial piece of information beforehand, I could have avoided being lured into their deceitful trap and saved a substantial amount of money and frustration.

As an online seller, I rely heavily on trustworthy partners to help expand my business and improve my online presence. Unfortunately, Commerce Google Feed took advantage of my trust and exploited my lack of knowledge regarding the accessibility of Google Merchant for free.

Nutrifit +
États-Unis
Environ 2 ans d’utilisation de l’application
CedCommerce a répondu 24 juillet 2023

It is highly disheartening to see that after doing your entire setup, giving support for months, fixing all issues time and again, and helping to make you successful on Google, now you converted your review to negative. Do you even remember you took our ads package and our ads team and analytics team worked on your ads part for so long?? You yourself authorized the charge and now you claim you got scammed? Our team made your ads perform so well month after month, acquired great sales, and you paid nothing for that as well, it was all included in your 300 charge itself. Please be honest while rating the hard work of a company. We are not scammers, we help thousands of merchants daily.

Modifié le 1 février 2024

Warning !
Warning !!
I have to change my review on this App from 5 star to 1 Star.
One day after they have installed this App on my store ,
they start pushing to write a good review!
I told them that I don't even understand what is the App doing.
Then they showed me something and convinced me about it.
So I gave them the 5 star like they wanted.
BUT now after 4 months of using it I suddenly found out that the App is actually doing a big damage to my shop!
from the day that it was installed it reduced my online sessions in 80% !! This can is very clear to see in the shopify Statistic and reports.
I am still not sure why , but the number are clear: from the day of installing this App and until yesterday (when I deleted this App) my online session went down in 80% ,
and it constantly every day without change.
I am also checking it with shopify and we are following it and checking it farther.
Until now This company did not explained why is it like that.

Warnung !
Warnung !!
Ich muss meine Bewertung dieser App von 5 Sternen auf 1 Stern ändern.
Einen Tag nachdem sie diese App in meinem Shop installiert haben,
Sie drängen darauf, eine gute Rezension zu schreiben!
Ich habe ihnen gesagt, dass ich nicht einmal verstehe, was die App macht.
Dann haben sie mir etwas gezeigt und mich davon überzeugt.
Also habe ich ihnen die 5 Sterne gegeben, wie sie wollten.
ABER jetzt, nach 4 Monaten Nutzung, stellte ich plötzlich fest, dass die App meinem Shop tatsächlich großen Schaden zufügt!
Vom Tag der Installation an reduzierte es meine Online-Sitzungen um 80 %!! Dies ist in den Shopify-Statistiken und -Berichten sehr deutlich zu erkennen.
Ich bin mir immer noch nicht sicher, warum, aber die Zahlen sind klar: Vom Tag der Installation dieser App bis gestern (als ich diese App gelöscht habe) ist meine Online-Sitzung um 80 % zurückgegangen.
und es ständig jeden Tag ohne Veränderung.
Ich überprüfe es auch bei shopify und wir verfolgen es und prüfen es weiter.
Bisher hat dieses Unternehmen nicht erklärt, warum das so ist.

Nijens Shop
Allemagne
4 mois d’utilisation de l’application
23 janvier 2024

waste of time, there are better apps out there, I tried it's not worth it other apps are way better, plus the multicurrency feed option in not available in free plan.

LushLuxe
Royaume-Uni
20 minutes d’utilisation de l’application
CedCommerce a répondu 25 janvier 2024

Hi, thanks for reviewing! The free plan offers multi-currency & country features. We also have in-app chat support for basic help, but you didn't use it. The app has plenty of features for Google listings & feed management. Try to explore them and let us know if you need help! We emailed you but it bounced, please update your email and use a valid email so we can assist you directly. Thanks!

Modifié le 17 octobre 2023

Actually. I have changed my review as my account was suspended permantley by google ads. The software changed my url to some deadbeat website and I now have zero traffic from google. It has killed my business. I was just told to go back to Google and it was their fault.

Bonnie Lassio
Royaume-Uni
Environ 2 mois d’utilisation de l’application
30 juin 2023

Their good reviews are all fake. They'll be pushing you for one-time deductions. Wait until the customer is not satisfied with the service and they will not agree to refund. They are obviously wasting my money!!!

Artexplore
États-Unis
Environ 2 mois d’utilisation de l’application
15 août 2023

Unable to manage several markets like what they stated. My store is set up to handle different local languages and currencies.
The app is not cable of syncing shipping profiles and local currencies from the Shopify store. As a result, the GG merchant reject the feed that had been uploaded by Cedcommerce.
Reach out to support, instead of listening to your problem to identify where the errors come from. They keep speaking nonsense like your products are active (active products are from another app), and there is no Pb (your feed is rejected by GG merchant), and your store does not set up for local currency (in fact it does set up correctly), etc...
I already have approved 800 products on GG merchant from another app.
I change to this app with thinking smoother process and handle larger SKUs.
What a joke!

Arteve Gallery
France
1 jour d’utilisation de l’application
CedCommerce a répondu 19 août 2023

Hello,

We would like to inform you that the shipping issue was explained to you clearly and a note related to that is also present in the shipping section of app, your shipping problem got resolved also, and we explained the language part also that its difficult that's why even on merchant that feature is not provided. But since that was your requirement so you said you will switch app. The issue you faced of disapproved products was also resolved. So its unclear on your part of rating us bad, even after all things were explained clearly along with the plans. Our app is being used by thousands of merchants for various countries and all issues that occur at times are resolved. You had a problem with the pricing plans, you stated it was expensive to you but larger skus require larger plans, most integrations work in the same way. If you need to reuse us again feel free to reach out.