Feed For Google Shopping

Feed For Google Shopping

by Simprosys InfoMedia

Improve Google Shopping Ads Spend by Google Shopping Feed + FB

4.9 of 5 stars(2072 reviews)

Submits All Product Variants

Variant selection options in the Shopping search results improves CTR and Orders. Improved Impressions as Variant options are part of Titles

Specific Product Promotions

Promotions Feed for all products and Specific Ones. Let searchers see promotions running on your store, Get Improved CTR

Uses Content API of Google

Helps you update products within 20 mins. Stock Status, Pricing, Title, Description, SKU, Photos, Promotions, all are updated within 20 min


About Feed For Google Shopping

Our Experience

After working with 150+ stores on their Google Shopping campaigns, we realised, we need something better than all the options available. We developed Bing Shopping Feed, which became favorite of merchants and PPC agencies.

Instant Sync with Google

You just link your Shopify Store with Merchant Center(App helps you do it) and app does its job on its own. No need to submit Feed URL and set fetching frequency and other settings. There is another benefit, Product updates don't have to wait for Google to fetch the feed. Updates are pushed by app to Google Merchant Center within few mins of the update.

Promotions Feed for All or Specific Products

Now you can create Promotions Feed within App for both, Specific and All Products You can assign Promotions to Specific Products using Robust filtering and Bulk Edit features of the App.

Robust Interface

Precise Management of Additional Values required by Google. You can Add Custom Labels, Google Product Categories, Product Condition, Age, Gender, custom product values either in Bulk or product by product.

Advanced Filtering Options

by Vendor by Product Type by Tags by Google Product Categories Applied by Age by Gender by Promotions Applied by Material Assigned by Pattern Assigned by Custom Labels Applied or not applied When you are working on addition of custom labels, google product categories, defining age and gender of products, you should be able to filter the products based on several parameters. This app provides you to filter the products on Above listed parameters...

Includes All variants

Now you can submit All the Variants of each products with their own SKUs and GTIN. SKU will be submitted as MPN and Barcodes will be submitted as GTIN for each variant. This improves number of impressions your products can get.

You can use SEO Titles and Descriptions Or Custom Titles and Descriptions For Feed only.

App allows you to use SEO Titles and/or SEO Descriptions as your product titles and descriptions respectively.

Second Image as Product Image and Additional Images

Now you can use the second image as product image as on many stores, first images are having actual backgrounds which Google does not like much.

SKUs As Product IDs

You can submit standard Product IDs in the format as that of Google Shopping app of Shopify. e.g. Shopify_US_xxxxxxxx_yyyyyyy OR You get an option to select which will submit SKUs as product IDs.

Support for Additional Labels

Our app allows you to add Shipping Labels (For Complex Shipping Settings), Return Policy Label (For Google Express's Different Return Policy requirements), Ads Label (For Dynamic Remarketing Ads Filtering).

Support for Facebook Catalog

Now, use the Google optimizations done for facebook too. No need to use any other app

Integrates with

  • Google Merchant Center

Media gallery

Support

Pricing 21-day free trial

See all pricing options
Up to 500 Products

$4.99/month

  • Up to 500 products Online on Shopify Store.

  • FB and Bing Free

  • Variants Are Free

501-1000 Products

$8.99/month

  • 501 to 1000 products Online on Shopify Store.

  • FB and Bing Free

  • Variants Are Free

1001-5000 Products

$13.99/month

  • 1001 to 5000 products Online on Shopify Store.

  • FB and Bing Free

  • Variants Are Free

5001-10000 Product

$17.99/month

  • 5001 to 10000 Products Online on Shopify Store.

  • FB and Bing Free

  • Variants Are Free

* All charges are billed in USD. Recurring charges, including monthly or usage-based charges, are billed every 30 days.

4.9 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    97% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    2% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    0% of ratings are 3 stars
    (8)
  • 2 of 5 stars
    0% of ratings are 2 stars
    (5)
  • 1 of 5 stars
    1% of ratings are 1 stars

Most recent reviews

seidoknives

Decent app, does the job. However there's a bug with the Microsoft catalog feed sync where the products are synced to the merchant center but the feed shows up as empty with 0 products. Ended up opening a ticket with Microsoft for them to investigate and explain that to me. I still use the app, that's not my biggest concern. My issue is with their support, which is virtually non existent. It's very disappointing because I get such good support from other apps it's become an expectation (I'm paying for it right?) I messaged them using the in app support 3-5 times across two stores and they never answered me. I ended up uninstalling the app on my other store and creating the CSV feed manually. My questions was particularly about listing variants but they never replied. If they can improve their support (and answer my question about variants) I would continue to use the app on my stores, otherwise I might seek alternatives.

Developer reply

December 5, 2020

Hi,

Please check the spam box of your email. You were replied to within 4 hrs of your email. Please see the reply and its timing on this screenshot. https://bit.ly/3qy2gzQ

theLightShop

RUBBISH! Products appear in google merchant center as "in stock" and in google shopping when they show "out of stock" in the App. Overseas company, requires 2 am phone support over Skype if you want "real" help. The App does NOT work, this has happened countless times. RUN from this App. Your solution to solve a problem requires additional work by us. The idea of hiring and PAYING for an App is to make our lives easier. You work for us-we don't work for you. Improve your App.

Developer reply

December 4, 2020

You have already been informed that the issue is in your StoreFront Theme's Schema markup. Unfortunately, you are not showing any willingness to read the solution shared. It would have taken less time in implementing the correction than venting your anger everywhere.

You have been using our app for more than a year and still using it. So, I don't see any point in running away from the app.

SensoLum

Great app, great support , always here to help. I don't know why I didn't use it before it makes everything easier.