Google channel

Reach shoppers and get discovered across Google.

  • Popular with businesses in the United States

Free to install. Additional charges may apply.

App highlights

  • Seamless workflow: use directly in Shopify admin

Reviews

3.8 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

  • 5 of 5 stars
    69% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    14% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    4% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    2% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    13% of ratings are 1 stars
1 - 10 of 89 reviews

Chaani.in

Location India

Using this app has increased traffic to my website but has done nothing for sales. The problem is that google has only one classification of "sarees and lehengas" in their list for all the millions of varieties of sarees that are available in India. I doubt if they can match a search query to the product at all

Developer reply

June 14, 2022

Hi there,

Vance here from Shopify. Thanks for taking the time to submit your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that Google's classifications for products are limited. I've followed up with you over email to open up the lines of communication to discuss any of your concerns further.

Vance | Shopify

Plain Clothing Store

Location United States

I have been using this app for nearly three years. There has recently, not sure how recent, been an update to the Google Shopping app that has changed to bulk editor. This change has not only increased the time to make bulk changes with an infinite scroll, but also while loosing some flexibility in the interface. Additionally, I noticed that a lot of my product attributes have been automatically changed without my consent. All of my apparel now says "infant" and all the genders on my clothing were switched to "Male". What a terrible experience. I will now spend hours correcting all this data. In addition to hours more spending on adding new items. Stop the infinite scrolling, bring back the page numbers for starters. It is too much data to compute with larger catalogs. Update on 6/1: This has been awful. The Shopify team reached out to me after my review, and after I spent over 24 hours of continuous work on my Google Merchant Center fields, to state they "fixed" the problems with the attributes shifting from Adult to Infant, and the Genders switching to Male. Their "fix" reverted all of my hard work back to its broken state of Male and Infant. I spent HOURS of my life changing them back to the right age group and genders. This has been terrible. Since I have highlighted this issue, their support staff has not responded to any of my follow-up. It's like they made my life more difficult and just forget about my business. Which has had an impact on sales due to this problem.

The Costume Shop

It has been almost 2 months since GTIN issue but no fix. The app loses alot of value without GTIN synchronizing properly

Developer reply

March 18, 2022

Hi there,

Nate here from Shopify. Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your experience with the Google channel app. We definitely want to make sure that you get the support you need regarding the issues you are facing with the Google Channel. I'll be sending an email out to open up the lines of communication and help where I can.

- Nate | Shopify

My Beard Kit®

I see a lot of great reviews and I agree that overall, this app is great however, I can NEVER delete a campaign because it creates a glitch where the ad is deleted in Google ads but still shows active in this app and thus prevents me from creating a new smart shopping campaign. I'm not sure why this happens and no one at Shopify can explain it either but it is really frustrating. Just something to keep in mind.

Developer reply

February 22, 2022

Hey there,

Thomas here from Shopify. Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Google Channel with us. Your feedback is extremely valuable. I'm sorry to hear of the struggles you are facing with your campaigns. We're going to look into this and follow up with you via email to open up the lines of communication here so we can see how we can help you further.

Thomas | Shopify

3D UP Fitters

This app doesn't take into account package sizes, so Google banned me from the advertising account I've had for over ten years! The shipping costs on my website can't possibly match the shipping costs shown in the Google Merchant Center and according to Shopify tech support, there's no way to fix this. Maybe if you only sell small boxes that are all the same size you won't have a problem, but I have some things in a 4x6 box and some things in a 40x30" box.

Developer reply

January 19, 2022

Hi there,

My name is William with the Marketplaces team at Shopify. We appreciate the time you took to leave a review on our app even though we did not meet your expectations. I can email you the specific workaround for the issue you've outlined here. Keep an eye out for my email!

William | Marketplaces Support Specialist

Karla and Co.

Basically useless after 30 days. You have no way to refresh your listings so they go inactive. Other apps do a better job with Google than Google?

Developer reply

January 11, 2022

Hey there,

Adil here from Shopify. Thank you for providing that feedback. I'm sorry to hear of the product issues that you are facing on the Google channel. We do want to make sure that the channel is working as expected for you so I'm going to look into this and follow up with you in an email to see what I can do to resolve this.

Adil | Shopify

Black Wagon Kids

We have been using this app for over a year. However, in December 2021 we noticed that customers were using discount codes that are for internal employees, friends and families. It turns out that any 'active' discount code is being sent to Merchant Center and they in turn open it to the universe. We had to inactivate all our discount codes except for just a few. We had to cancel multiple orders where customers used them. Bad time of year, bad customer relations. We reported it immediately on that day (Dec 10) and have not gotten any word from support since. Multiple shops have reported this problem to no avail. Would be great to give the shop owner the ability indicate what channel the codes can be 'shared' on. Currently we are operating at a big disadvantage with no ability to treat our mailing list customers special.

Developer reply

January 3, 2022

Hi there,

William here from Shopify support. I understand you've had discount codes shared on the Google Merchant Center unintentionally. We appreciate hearing feedback like this as our team is working towards a permanent resolution to this issue. We do currently have a workaround which is to end the promotions within the Google Merchant Center. I'll follow up with you directly via email to discuss your account.

William | Shopify Support Specialist

Andrew Moor Photography

If you sell drop-shipped items or manufactured items this feed is probably amazing. As a small, custom-work shop, this App has been disappointing. First what it does well. It put -some- of my products on Google shopping ads internationally and brought in a good traffic boost of mostly empty (accidental) clicks from apps that I have to pay for. It also gave me a semi-functional merchant account feed I can use for my own marketing. The Smart Campaign wont allow me to change any settings other than budget so I ended up using the feed with my own Ads in my own campaigns. Now for the difficulties: My Shopify Product database keeps randomly dropping my Google product categories or - GUESSES at what I am selling after I have already chosen the product categories (they get overwritten by SMART?? Machine Learning guessing them). Next, Every. single. time, Google scans my Webpage it produces price random mismatch errors that result in 10-15% of my listings being blocked. At any given time 10% of my products are blocked by Google because of a Google Web Crawler issue. Considering they are all listed properly in my Shopify feed (barring weird category choices by Shopify) this is a pretty high error rate. The Google web crawler locks on the initial displayed product price on my web page. My variants are priced differently according to size. So to Google my Shopify merchant data feed is different than how Google's web crawler sees the web page (I don't think Google crawler is fully compatible with the Shopify Web Page formatting). Finally, Google's solution to fraud prevention and offering price comparisons to meet EU online sales guidelines results in a bias that favors mass-produced item listings. IF I am going to use Google Shopping ads, Google would like me to have a Manufacturer's Part Number for a custom-framed photo and I can't fake a registered number; Google insists on a registered part number to sell my items in the US and some other markets. Even selecting "This is a custom product" allows only limited functions - so for the most part a small custom or hand-made product merchant can't meet those requirements. Therefore this app is not fully functional for everyone.

Developer reply

December 18, 2021

Hey there,

Adil here from Shopify. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. We definitely want to make sure that you get the support you need regarding the issues you are facing with the Google Channel. I'll be sending an email out to you shortly to open up lines of communication. I look forward to communicating with you there.

Adil | Shopify

Ravenation.eu

Ich versuche Produkte die mehrere Farb- und Größenvarianten haben, zu Google Shopping hinzuzufügen. Jedoch scheint es, als müsste ich für jede Variante ein extra Produkt anlegen, wie beispielsweiße T-Shirt black gr. M, T-Shirt black gr. L und T-Shirt black XL. Das ist nicht praktikabel. Die Produkte die bei meinem Fulfillmentservice angelegt werden, haben bis zu 12 Farben mit den Größen XS, S, M, L, XL, XXL, 3XL. Das sind 84 Varianten. Oder gibt es eine Möglichkeit bei den Google-Feldern, mehrere Farben und Größen anzugeben? Ich habe es schon mit "XS, S, M, L, XL, XXL, 3XL" und "black, bottle green, burgundy, dark heather grey, ocean depth, plum, french navy, anthracite, stargazer, azure, skyblue, royalblue" versucht.. Mir ist aber selber schleierhaft, wie diese Eigenschaften auf die Varianten übernommen werden sollen, deren Felder unter dem Hauptprodukt aufgeführt sind, die ich nicht anklicken und bearbeiten kann. Warum können nicht einfach alle Informationen eines Produktes übernommen werden und dann werden noch notwendige Infos für Google wie Produktkategorie, Altersgruppe, Geschlecht und Zustand manuell hinzugefügt über den Bulk-Editor?

Bobishop : Epicerie et produits cosmétiques Afro antillais en ligne

My Merchant Center account may be suspended, Shipping costs inaccurate (inconsistencies between flow and checkout pages on my website)
it's not normal

Developer reply

November 29, 2021

Hey there,

Adil here from Shopify. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. We definitely want to make sure that you get the support you need regarding the issue you are facing with the Google Channel. I'll be sending an email out to you shortly to open up lines of communication. I look forward to communicating with you there.

Adil | Shopify

Previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9