Instagram channel

Instagram channel

by Shopify

Sell on Instagram by tagging products in your posts & stories.

Overall rating
1.6 of 5 stars
Based on 511 reviews

  • 5 of 5 stars
    10% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    3% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    4% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    2% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    82% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

11 - 20 of 511 reviews

Champagne Culture

I have been trying to get help with this for a while, i was not approved and there is no one or any link to contact innsta for help. Really dissapointed.

Adela's style

The same problem like many people before me. My Instagram wouldn't connect to my FB and I can't tag my products. I DID NOT post any personal pictures, always only business related and I am meeting all their requirements. I DID write on Instagram support twice and no message back, no approval, nothing. Guys, this is very frustrating. Adela

Developer reply

November 8, 2019

Hi, there. Thanks for leaving a review on the Instagram sales channel. I'm terribly sorry to hear that this has been such a frustrating experience for you. It sounds like you've taken the necessary steps to ensure that your business would be accepted. The only other suggestion is to try reaching out to Facebook's live-chat support through the Business Help Center. I've sent you an email as well so that we can discuss some alternatives while you're waiting to get this resolved. I look forward to hearing back from you! -Emma, Shopify Support

Nak Nak's Laboratory

Isn't there a way to contact Instagram? Their help center is really vague and I don't understand why I'm able to sell on Facebook but not on Insta which is extremely disappointing. I was hoping to build my audience through insta and now I don't know what else to do.

Developer reply

November 8, 2019

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us about your experience with the Instagram channel. I'm sorry to hear that Instagram has denied your store for product tagging. I know that it's very disappointing. There are other ways to use Instagram to build your audience, so I've sent you an email to follow up on this and we can discuss some ideas there! Hope to hear back from you. -Emma, Shopify Support

B Brave Clothing

I have - Like many others - Struggled to get our website to link its catalogue through to Instagram. I have installed and deleted the app many times since April, and still no luck.

The review process doesn't allow for feedback, so there is no reason why we failed in their eyes.

Shopify I understand you do not have access to their review system, but surely with this many 1* reviews, there is something you can help with?!

Sam

Developer reply

November 8, 2019

Thank you for sharing your feedback, Sam. We truly value your opinion and appreciate you taking the time to share it with us here so that we can make improvements.

You're correct that we do not have any additional information regarding the decision that Instagram makes and there is currently no appeal process that we've been provided with. The best way to contact Instagram is through the "Report a Problem" button in the Instagram app, and some merchants have seen success by connecting to Facebook's live-chat support tool through their Business Help Center.

I’ve followed up with you via email so that we can discuss this further and I can then share your feedback to our development team. Specifically, I will request that we work with Instagram to have them provide more clarity about rejections and facilitate an appeal process. I've also got some suggestions for other ways to utilize Instagram while you're unable to tag your products. I hope to hear from you soon! - Emma, Shopify Support

Fiellis's Closet

I think you guys leaving bad reviews need to check your settings, this app worked perfectly fine for me.

Pacific Ring of Style

Won't link to my store. Terrible. Tried multiple times etc with no luck. Not able to contact Instagram for help either.

Developer reply

November 6, 2019

Thank you for sharing this feedback with us! You're correct in that Instagram don't have a direct method of contact, however you can submit a message to them by reporting a problem within the app.

I've sent you an email as well so that we can discuss your store and this process in more detail. -Lizzy, Shopify Support

Shop I Am Luna Sol

Tried this when I first opened my store last year and was instantly denied for no apparent reason. Decided to give it another go since I had the time...nope. Same result. Denied instantly. No way to appeal. What a joke.

Developer reply

November 8, 2019

Thank you for your review and I'm sorry to hear that this has been your experience. I know it's frustrating to not have an appeal process readily available. Have you tried reporting a problem to Instagram through the app? It can take time to receive a response but this is the only option available currently. I'd like to share this feedback with our developers and I've sent you an email so that we can look at other ways to utilize Instagram while you're unable to tag your products. I hope to hear back from you! -Emma, Shopify Support

Willow & Olive

If I could leave zero stars I would. I have a FB page, and it won't connect. I also have been denied IG as well. Nothing will connect. It shows my FB personal name connected, of which I am the owner of my business page (spent hours on this in FB business getting it set up.) CANNOT CONNECT TO ADD THIS CHANNEL because it won't connect to my FB page!!! This has been going on for months. The hours I have spent on this, trying to make this work, is too many to count. I am seriously thinking about leaving Shopify so I can find another provider that works seamlessly with Instagram and Facebook for shopping. PLEASE someone help me!!!

Developer reply

November 6, 2019

Thank you very much for your review here! I'd like to take a look at your account with you to see what we can do to help you make sure your accounts are connected.

While we aren't able to appeal Instagram's review, I do know that your Facebook page will need to be properly connected before Instagram will work correctly.

I've also responded to your review on the Facebook Shop app and will be following up with you via email so that we can continue to work on the issues you've been seeing. I look forward to speaking soon! -Lizzy, Shopify Support

Tensolo Music Co. - Franklin, TN

Same problem as many, denied access to IG for my products, and no way to appeal.

I did see in one post back from Shopify asking if there were any "non-business related" posts on their account. Would IG deny a business profile from listing products if they have a non-business related single post???? Example, I posted a screenshot of how bad Nashville traffic was and stated "Glad I work from home...". Would this kind of post be foundations for denial of listings on IG ??? If so, you have got to be kidding me IG. Especially for small business that wants to actually relate to it's customers

Developer reply

October 31, 2019

Thank you for posting this review and including these details. Other merchants have reported their stores were denied from Instagram due to having photos on their Instagram account that weren't business-related. To find out if this was the reason for your store being denied, I recommend reporting a problem to Instagram about this (http://bit.ly/2WNwrbj).

I'd like to speak with you further regarding your store, and also offer some additional assistance, so I'm going to follow up with you via email. I look forward to hearing back from you soon! - Rae, Shopify Support

Go Nutra

This application is simply horrible. I can't tag my products and they are denied for no reason. I tried in every way but nothing to do

Developer reply

October 31, 2019

Thank you for sharing this review on your experience. I'm sorry to hear that your store wasn't approved to use the Instagram sales channel. In some cases, other merchants who were originally denied were able to have their store re-reviewed by Instagram by reporting a problem in the Instagram app directly (http://bit.ly/2WNwrbj).

I'm also going to follow up with you via email with some additional information regarding this. I look forward to speaking with you soon! - Rae, Shopify Support