Instagram channel

Instagram channel

by Shopify

Sell on Instagram by tagging products in your posts & stories.

1.4 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    9% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    3% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    3% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    2% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    83% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

41 - 50 of 617 reviews

PinkPolish Design

Same issue as many other reviewers. I sell art - nothing controversial, easily set up my Facebook catalog, ensured I had the appropriate policies linked prominently on my site, that my IG account was the correct type (a business not a personality as I had it originally set up as an artist), contact information was clear on my site and IG and everything else IG requires. I asked for support from Shopify and was told to contact IG. IG will not respond, and all google search indications say if they did they would tell me it's an issue with Shopify. There is no information as to why my shop was denied or how to fix this issue. So disappointing that something fairly simple has turned out to be so difficult - if not impossible - to set up.

Developer reply

March 17, 2020

Thank you for the feedback. I can certainly appreciate how frustrating that must be, and I'm sorry to hear that they haven't gotten back to you. I'm afraid that Shopify has no say in which stores Instagram allows or denies from their platform, but I would encourage you to continue reaching out to them.

I know that they do have a high volume of requests and it may take them some time to address your issue. In my experience, the best way to contact them is via the "Report a problem" function within your Instagram app. Hope that helps! - Brie, Shopify Support

Gnostic Forest Art

Unsurprisingly bad service from Instagram. Ineligible without any given reason, no option to appeal. Approved on FB (after having to manually appeal products with the word "Unisex) but FB support for Instagram Shopping was dreadful - they will not provide any answers for IG, despite having a Help Section for it!

Developer reply

March 17, 2020

Thank you for providing your feedback and for detailing the issues you've had in being approved for Instagram product tagging thus far. Unfortunately this is a commonly shared experience for many merchants as there's no straightforward route to approval after an initial rejection, and no direct and fast way to get support for this. Shopify is unable to influence this decision, unfortunately, so we recommend sending a message to Instagram via the Report a Problem feature within the app. It can take some time to receive a response but we have heard stories of merchants being approved down the line after reaching out to them this way. -Victor, Shopify Support

Sharla Jewelry

I'm updating my review because once it's working, it's a great channel. But it is not a simple or straightforward process. I stumbled on a form to ask for help through Facebook's Business Manager and found an angel of help! Whoever this person was, they were wonderful. An Instagram business page has to look a very specific way to be considered a business... your logo, your description, etc. Then all of your posts must look like a business. My Facebook Help Angel helped me appeal, after I made all the changes and now I have product tagging. In the midst of Covid19, when I've lost all my in person selling, I am SO grateful. It is a great avenue and I appreciate the help I received.

Developer reply

March 17, 2020

Thank you for the feedback. I'm afraid Shopify has no control over Instagram's decision to approve or deny a business from selling on their platform. That said, as you're approved on Facebook I would highly recommend reaching out to their support team to appeal the decision. The easiest way to do this is to use the "Report a problem" function from within your Instagram app. Hope this helps! - Brie, Shopify Support

DPK-STORE

Is it impossible to install the Japanese store?......................
Is there no way to install it?

Developer reply

March 17, 2020

Hi, there! As far as we know, Instagram supports stores from Japan as long as they are an eligible business: http://bit.ly/3dhHkH0. I'd like to find out more about the issue you're having with installing the sales channel, so I will reach out to you via email and we can troubleshoot together there. Thank you! - Brie, Shopify Support

LuxGo

very bad app doesnt connect to facebook catalog. it says that i need permission of shopify. Guys and girls spare the time and dont even try to download this app. THIS APP SUCKS!!!!!!

Developer reply

March 17, 2020

I'm sorry to hear that you've encountered this issue and I'd like to take a closer look at this to see if I can help. Errors with the Instagram channel can occur when there is an issue with the Facebook sales channel, so we can take a look and see if we can resolve that first. I'll send you an email shortly to touch base with you so please get back to me there. -Victor, Shopify Support

Stevvex

Hi there ! I write this reviews with hope developers will answer me. I tried everyting and spend 15 days for this app. I living in unsuported country for IG Shop and I know it. I tried to use USA VPN and I tried to applied for IG Shop again, but I failed many times. Instagram read my country address because I made account on unsuported country. I realy tried everyting, contact Facebook and Instagram but I failed. I ask Shopifly support to contact them because they see " Facebook online live chat with support" ( this is avaliable for USA) and they reject me and wont to contact them. I think if I will made profile in support country and I did it. My friend made IG profil for me and I connect with my old Facebook Page and I think this will work because I see they ask me to post someting on IG because my profile is totaly new. I saw two profile in my country which have IG Shop and one of them was made in support country and another have my country address but works well . Trick exist.....but question is which ? I wanted to hold my old IG page because I have followers, post, messages etc. I saw this two profile have it and I asked them but they wont answer. I asked you like developers.....waht I should do ? I saw before in IG exist option to add brand or someting like that......If I will connect new one IG account with old does it work ? What you suggest me ?
Please let me know and if you know does it possible change Instagram country location in code ?

P.S I was already changed Activity log in all account, Facebook, My store etc......
I ask you for location with first time made account. I also delete all activity and delete Instagram mobile app, and install with USA VPN and I applied but they reject me again. Please for help. I would like to solve this as soon as possible and if we success I will write you 5 stars reviews

Developer reply

March 9, 2020

Thanks for sharing these details. At this time, all merchants using the Instagram sales channel must be located in one of Instagram's supported regions outlined here: http://bit.ly/2TENt8p. Additionally, in order to use this channel, your business must meet all of the requirements listed here: http://bit.ly/331kRJx.

To inquire further about using Instagram in an unsupported location, I recommend reaching out to Instagram directly by submitting a report through their app. You can do this by following these steps: http://bit.ly/2WNwrbj. Thanks! - Rae, Shopify Support

Debossy Collection

Totally agree with other reviews!!! Is someone hearing our feedback anywhere? This must be fixed ASAP... Truly disappointing

Developer reply

February 25, 2020

Thank you very much for your review here. We are very grateful for the feedback here, and would like to do our best to help out with any issues you're having with Shopify developed apps.

I’ve followed up with you via email so that we can look over your store together and see what might be going on with your Instagram connection. -Lizzy, Shopify Support

DroiX

UPDATE: Lizzy from Shopify Support got in contact with me after posting the review and explained the issue. Whilst granted, the app isn't perfect and there could be an easier way of using it..Shopify Support can help you get it working and afterwards, the App does what it claims to do.

Repeating everyone's complains: Try logging in with your Facebook account, with which you are a full admin (Created the page) of the page/business/ad account - Instagram Application says that you're not authorised. For any other new sellers to Shopify - Please look into using a different application, as this one is not suitable.

Developer reply

February 25, 2020

Thank you for sharing this feedback! It sounds like you've been having trouble linking the Facebook Shop app, which is how the Instagram app connects to your Shopify store. I'd be happy to look into this with you.

Sometimes you'll see a connection error if your Facebook page permissions are set to Custom. This will still give you admin rights within the page, but doesn't allow for the correct options for you to be able to connect to Shopify.

I'll be following up with you via email to continue our conversation and look into this further with you! -Lizzy, Shopify Support

SOMETHING FROM SOMEWHERE

I have been trying for over a year to use this tag feature and I keep being denied access. I have no idea why? I've read every policy there is and my site is not any different than many in my field doing the exact same business. I don't understand what makes one be approved and not another selling, doing exactly the same thing. Worse, you have no human to talk to. This is a very important feature for my business and wish someone could tell me what I need to do, so I can do it. Just don't know what it is and is really frustrating and so disappointing. If I did something wrong I would like help to correct it but who can? Please let me know!

Developer reply

February 20, 2020

Thank you for sharing this feedback with us.

There are many factors that Instagram may look into when approving your store, such as the content or activity on your Instagram account. This can lead to some businesses seeing an approval, while others that are quite similar don't.

We have recently set up notifications with a bit more information from Instagram, so that we can help you to work on why you may not have been approved. I’ve reached out to you via email so that we can chat more about this, hope to hear from you soon! -Lizzy, Shopify Support

Bihotz Paris

Unfortunately we are in France and it's not possible to use this app :(
Could you help us please ?
Thanks in advance

Developer reply

February 20, 2020

Thank you for getting in touch and for explaining your issue. The Instagram product tagging feature is available to use in France, so your issue should not be due to any region-locking of the feature. I'd like to take a closer look at your store and see what might be causing this error, so I'll be sending you an email shortly to touch base with you and find out more. Please look out for my correspondence and get back to me over email if you'd still like some help with the app. -Victor, Shopify Support