Jilt email marketing

Jilt email marketing | Reviews

by GoDaddy.com, LLC dba Jilt

Jilt is no longer accepting new customers

4.7 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

  • 5 of 5 stars
    85% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    11% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    3% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    1% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

5 reviews

Begin Smooth

I really wish I could leave a good review, I really do. I love the design of the app and such, but the customer service is absolutely terrible. 24 hour per reply, and it does not matter if you are a paying customer or not. They are the SLOWEST service I have ever witnessed. E-commerce people should know how important customers are to the brand, and this just shines a terrible image on Jilt. I see other reviews having similar experiences to mine. What happened to caring about customer service or are you too cheap to hire more VA's? The CEO "Max" is also non-existent,the entire customer service has scripts to repeatedly say whenever we express frustration about the customer service. I'm betting its all BS as well. Oh, and their phone number? Non-existent. Called multiple times on different days - NO Response. When I first got this app I actually paraded to my friends about how good it was, the UI was sleek and definitely an alternative to Klaviyo, but now I've had to tell them that it's actually not that great of an app and got them to uninstall it. It's not that I hate Jilt, it's that I'm trying to protect people from this unfortunately not up to standard application. Another huge part of the problem is integration, this integrates with nothing. I couldn't have the emails showing my upsell price instead of the standard as an example. Klaviyo and OCU do that.. I hope to go back to Jilt one day, when they learn customer value and not ignore us.

Good luck Jilt and I hope you guys improve! I must move on from this unfortunately.


we started using Jilt after Shopify discontinued its service with Mailchimp and the experience was disappointing. Importing/exporting and managing lists is impossible (now they've added a feature where you can import your own lists), customer service is overwhelmed and takes hours to respond, and the worst part is with the email : the email building feature is quite limited, and the rendering is very poor. Last but not least, the preview text that recipients see when they get your emails is gibberish with % and & and @. So not a good experience for us, especially for the price we paid ($79/month).

Developer reply

September 19, 2019

We're so sorry for the issues you had with Jilt and understand your disappointment! We let you down here, which is definitely not the sort of experience we want for our customers. As you mentioned, we didn't have an import feature available when you first signed up so it required reaching out to our support team to aid with the imports. We've since brought our Contacts feature out of beta and released a built-in import tool. You can rename lists, as well as move contacts between/to/from lists. An export feature is coming soon and in the meantime our team is always happy to export contacts when requested.

For our response time, it can sometimes take a few hours on busy days to receive a reply from our support team right now and we understand that this isn't ideal. We know our customers need quick replies so they can move forward with their business activities, so we're working on adding new team members to provide faster help.

Our product team is also currently working on a new prototype for our email editor that will offer more functionality. It sounds like you unfortunately encountered a bug with the preview text and a support representative had been in touch to troubleshoot. We're still keen to learn more so we can get it resolved.

Our apologies that a few of these items are in the "coming soon" phase. We're working as hard as possible to get these updates out and really appreciate the feedback as it reinforces that our priorities are in-line with what our customers want from their marketing app.

We'll be following up directly to see if we can help with resolving anything else.

Clik-Clik Systems Inc.

I don't like leaving bad reviews, because, we are all here to run companies. But I am sorry, this was a big waste of time ( nearly 8 hours).

1) Uploading lists is tedious- Jilt has to do it for you which is slow, cumbersome ( took them 2-3 days to do this)
2) Editing your list- Very buggy, it took 2-3 hours to clean up a list through Jilt, there is no "view X records per page" no "box selecting" so you have to do change records "ad hoc", when you remove a contact it "shuffles" the contacts so you lose the page you are on
3) Preview and Test Email doesn't work- I sent to several "test' emails to no avail, either the software is buggy, the server is slow, its being caught instantly in Spam filter etc
4) The email template Text Box is inadequate- If you are doing a heavy text in your email its looks choppy
5) Mergetags- This could just be my inadequate knowledge here, but the Mergetags seem buggy. For instance, matching record information with their recommended merge tag formular " {{ Customer. id etc }} does not work. It only worked for First Name. So something is likely wrong with their programming here OR they need to have an easier way to use Mergtags
- Perhaps just preload several ( commonly used) mergetags?
6) Customer service is way to slow- I get that you are likely a small team etc, however, how do you expect to onboard customers effectively and particularly when you are in Beta for 25% of your progam, you cannot expect customers to just figure it out

There is lots of potential with the program. I like how they make it really easy for shops to automate processes, drips and send out highly customized e-commerce emails.

But it seems this is not a MailChimp alternative for regular emails blasts. This App is essentially a shop email program.

Developer reply

June 20, 2019

Thanks so much for your feedback - we're really sorry for these problems, and for the extra time it cost you to get things working properly. We've reached out directly to respond to these issues, but also wanted to leave some updates here, too.

1) We agree that the current process of getting in touch with support for uploading contacts isn't ideal! It looks like we imported your contact list within the same business day, but I'm so sorry for not meeting your expectations here. We're actively working on adding a contact import functionality to the Jilt app, which should be available in the next few weeks.

2) Our list management tool is still in beta, so we really appreciate feedback like this which can help us improve. We've shared your specific feedback with our product team so we can be sure to address these issues going forward.

3) We do occasionally see issues with test emails ending up in spam/junk folders. While we can't control how every email client identifies spam emails, we do offer the ability to send from your own email domain! This improves deliverability across email clients, which would likely resolve this problem.

4) The email editor is another area where we're working hard to improve! Our product team is currently evaluating different options for how to upgrade our email editor.

5) The {{ customer.id }} tag brings in an ID that is added to customers synced from your Shopify store. It looks like for your shop, there are only 125 customer records with this ID and 736 customers without it. We'd recommend using a different merge tag in this case, since most of your customers won't have a value for that tag. You could handle this by using a default value {{ customer.id | default: 'text-here' }} , but you might be better off using a different merge tag, such as for first name.

6) We've seen an increase in support volume recently, and it's certainly slowed us down. We're currently growing our customer service team and are expecting to nearly double in size in the next month, so you should see major improvements in our response time soon.

Thanks again for leaving your feedback here! Since so many of our responses are "we're working on it!", we've also offered you an extension on your free trial. We hope you'll give Jilt another chance, but if not, we wish you the best of luck in your business.

Ninja Brand Inc

So far it seemed great until about 10 different attempts to add a tag to customers didn't work. That pretty much wipes out 90% of the reason for going with this app.

I asked support and received one email which helped show how to do reviews, but I never heard back for any of my other questions.

Lastly, the actual formatting available in the emails is pretty inadequate. You can type a line of text and adjust the font size, but that's pretty much it. No vertical or horizontal alignment, color, or the other things that you think you'd be able to do. Image sizing/adjustment and other things you'd expect are also not there. Cmon, give me the basics!!!

I really really really wanted to love this app, but if I can't make a great looking email, and I can't use add tags and build lists based on that, then I'm pretty much dead in the water.

Fix these things and I'm on board!

Developer reply

May 28, 2019

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. Our goal at Jilt is for every customer to have a 5-star experience and it sounds like we fell short of the mark here -- We're very sorry for that!

We've reached out directly to address your concerns and we wanted to leave a few updates here as well.

For adding customer tags, our team reviewed the feature and found that while it's functional we could improve the interface to provide in-app feedback for certain user actions. We issued an update yesterday to address this and we'd be happy to help tag your contact records accordingly.

There are various layout and text styles available in Jilt and you can see the drag-and-drop editor in action in this video: https://skyverge.wistia.com/medias/7umipdn1qa. For instance, our editor provides alignment options, a color selector, and a selection of web safe fonts to choose from. Plus normal, bold, and italic options depending on the selected font.

We agree that other features will improve the editing experience and provide more creative control. Your feedback here is very appreciated as it helps us identify which features are a priority for our customers. While a couple of these options are not yet available in the editor, like image block resizing and vertical alignment, our support team is adept at customizing the HTML of your emails to ensure the final layout meets your needs and we'd like to offer our help here.

Garrison D

i havent really used it yet an have gotten to see the results but it seems that it has potential to be something