整体评分
4.7
每个评分等级的数量
  • 91% 的评分是 5 星
  • 4% 的评分是 4 星
  • 2% 的评分是 3 星
  • 0% 的评分是 2 星
  • 3% 的评分是 1 星
2023年12月6日

Already uninstalled. A simple question was handled from November 16 to now open in the process, I do not understand for programmers this is difficult? I don't understand how hard it is for a programmer to do this, knowing that it's still being answered! At first it was fine, the developers could reply in time, now I don't know what's going on!

Aveliajewels
香港特别行政区
2个月 人在使用应用
Staytuned已回复 2023年12月9日

Thanks for taking the time to leave this honest review. I'm sorry about your poor experience so far. I know our team has been working hard on your case. Your setup is uniquely complex which has made the free customization we're providing quite challenging. I'll be overseeing the case personally from here on out to make sure it remains top priority.

Hannes Bez | Director of Customer Experience

2023年12月22日

Keep on getting asked to leave a review after every single click on the save button... So here I am, leaving a review, hope you are happy.

Elsenfair
美国
大约1小时 人在使用应用
Staytuned已回复 2023年12月28日

Thank you for this direct and honest feedback. We hear you loud and clear and will be working to improve this experience ASAP.

Hannes Bez | Director of Customer Experience

2023年6月9日

I was initially really excited when I discovered this app. The perspective of utilizing the size recommender to enhance the customer experience was truly promising. However, my enthusiasm quickly waned when I realized that the size recommendations provided by the app were inaccurate, despite providing all the necessary sizing information.

Seeking a resolution, I promptly reached out to the support team for assistance in rectifying the issue and getting the app up and running smoothly. Unfortunately, my disappointment persisted as the support team failed to address my concerns effectively. They assured me that they would examine the sizing charts and make the necessary adjustments, but it has now been nearly two months, and no progress has been made.

This situation is deeply regrettable because the app's features appeared to be excellent, and I was genuinely looking forward to implementing them in my store. However, after two months of having the app installed and being charged, I have been unable to enable it or benefit from its functionalities.

Overall, I am extremely dissatisfied with the inaccurate recommendations and the extremely poor support experience I have encountered. Dealing with the app's support team has been nothing short of a nightmare. Their promise to "have a look" at the issue has resulted in weeks of waiting without any meaningful updates or resolution. As someone who has been using Shopify for nearly five years, I can confidently say that this has been the worst support experience I have ever had with any app thus far.

Techno Outfit
法国
3个月 人在使用应用
Staytuned已回复 2023年6月9日

Hi Omar. I appreciate you taking the time to leave this review. I'm sorry for the issues you've encountered with our app, and for the experience you've had with our support team.

I sent you an email with additional information on how we would like to proceed with this issue. I hope you choose to continue doing business with us. We really do care about your experience. We will do better.

Thank you,

Sharky
Team Supervisor - Kiwi Sizing

2023年9月12日

Has never worked on my site. Contacted support and received replies but it seems like there's a disconnect between support and the actual developers who can fix the problem. Waited 4 days for it to be fixed, still no progress so I'll move on to another app instead of continuing to miss out on sales.

Forever Everton
英国
3天 人在使用应用
Staytuned已回复 2023年9月13日

Hi Rob,

This is Sharky, Team Supervisor here at Kiwi Sizing.

I apologize for the problems you've encountered with our app. This is not the type of support experience we would like you to have, and I apologize for failing to meet your expectations.

I sent you an email so we can talk about how we can improve this situation. I know you've already uninstalled our app, but please know that if you give us a chance, we will do everything we can to resolve this as soon as possible.

Respectfully yours,
Sharky
Team Supervisor - Kiwi Sizing

2023年12月22日

Normal

My Store
英国
13天 人在使用应用
Staytuned已回复 2023年12月28日

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I have to be honest: we're not sure what the issue is for you. Your review isn't clear to us, we couldn't find anything wrong with your account, and we have no support tickets with you. I'll be reaching out to you independently to follow up - we'd really love to fix whatever problems you've been having with Kiwi to turn this experience around for you!

Hannes Bez | Director of Customer Experience

2023年10月31日

J'appel à l'aide depuis plusieurs jours car l'application ne fonctionne pas correctement et la prise en charge est laborieuse et très lente, mon problème n'est toujours pas résolu...

Ma Culotte Menstruelle
法国
7个月 人在使用应用
Staytuned已回复 2023年11月3日

Thank you for your honest feedback. I'm really sorry about your poor experience. We've reached out to you to see if we can rectify this for you. I am overseeing this case personally.

Hannes Bez | Director of Customer Experience - Kiwi Sizing

2023年7月9日

Size recommendations are inaccurate. How can I improve? I put all the measurements and set it up correctly I believe. Please help

Milpali
澳大利亚
大约1小时 人在使用应用
Staytuned已回复 2023年7月10日

Hi Milpali,

Thank you for reaching out. We just sent you an email to help. We want to make sure you have the best experience possible with Kiwi. Could you check your email inbox? Our customer service representative is ready and wants to make sure you have a delightful experience using Kiwi. We will get your issue resolved quickly there.

Best,

Serge

2022年11月27日

on the busiest time of the year (black friday) app decides to crash, have no access to the back end and charts take forever to load on product pages. Definitely ditching this app as soon as possible!

Bicycle Booth
加拿大
3年多 人在使用应用
Staytuned已回复 2022年11月28日

Thank you for taking the time to send this review. We're so sorry about the issues you're struggling with! We've reached out to you by email already to get you back up and running ASAP.

编辑时间:2023年7月21日

I have been using this kiwi size app and found it is very useful and convenient. However, Kiwi Sizing wants to charge us full while we place a store $9 monthly to shopify. So I do not recommend this app because it is not fair to pay their fee while the store is on-hold.

bettercycle
澳大利亚
接近3年 人在使用应用
编辑时间:2022年7月5日

Your app won't open. What's going on?/////??????There is a big problem with their app, now all the size charts don't show up, is their company out of business?

Luna's Wish
中国
接近3年 人在使用应用
Staytuned已回复 2022年7月5日

We're so sorry for the disruptions! We fixed the problem and the issue should now be fully resolved.

The issue was caused by a technical error on our servers triggered by the Shopify Admin outage earlier today. Unfortunately, this happened during our teams' offline hours, so it took longer to discover and fix than we would normally expect.

Please reach out to us if you're still experiencing problems - our support team is online and standing by.