Klarna On‑Site Messaging

Klarna On‑Site Messaging

by Klarna

Join the 11,000+ merchants already promoting pay later options

3.4 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    44% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    8% of ratings are 4 stars
    (7)
  • 3 of 5 stars
    3% of ratings are 3 stars
    (3)
  • 2 of 5 stars
    6% of ratings are 2 stars
    (5)
  • 1 of 5 stars
    39% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

7 reviews

Good Banana

Update: After posting our original review, we were contacted by customer support and received good customer service, resolving our current issues. We cannot recommend this app nor the customer service—both seem to be non-existent. We cannot get this app to show anything but a blank workspace, and despite scouring the support documentation AND contacting customer support (directly AND through Shopify) we've heard no response. Installation seemed easy enough (our site is not custom and all of our other apps work fine). We will have to search for a different BNPL service since we cannot get any assistance :(

Developer reply

December 4, 2020

Good Banana - We apologize for the technical issues and will ensure that merchant support contacts you if you have not already reached out to skosm@klarna.com. Thank you for your patience.

Endorfin

Placing the widget is always a little awkward but it gets the job done. The messaging that changes with order amount is nice on the cart page

Developer reply

December 3, 2020

Endorfin - Thank you for the positive feedback. We appreciate your business!

shavronproducts

I had trouble with the app. However, if you contact the support from customer service they are very well equipped and extremely helpful at trouble shooting the issues such as on-site messaging.

Developer reply

October 28, 2020

Hi shavronproducts,
Thank you for this review and feedback. We have recently enhanced this app with "Auto Picker" functionality to attempt to choose an appropriate location for on-site messaging by default to minimize efforts for merchants, but since Shopify themes don't have a consistent location for code to use to insert messaging on a page, the app code can't work well for every store and theme, especially since there are hundreds of Shopify themes.

As you wrote, our merchant support team is available and happy to help whenever merchants need assistance.

Harper Kendall

Very good does exactly as described once installed correctly and support is very helpful so recommended.

Developer reply

October 1, 2020

Hi Harper Kendall,
Thanks for the review & recommendation!

Steam Shower Universe

I can see how its really useful and i like it for the most part. I just can't seem to figure out how to replace my placement tags. So because of that i cant use this app.

Developer reply

May 18, 2020

Thank you for the review! Sorry to hear you've had a little difficulty replacing the placements tags. If you're looking to update / customise the placements, you'll need to log into the Klarna merchant portal. These are dependent on the Shopify theme you're using. You can find more information including the App Support Guide and an installation video here: https://www.klarna.com/international/business/shopify-on-site-messaging/

Alternatively you email skosm@klarna.com and our Support team will be able to talk you through the process. We hope this helps!

Green Valley Supply

It does what it says, allows placement of ads on product page, cart and home page. It doesn't allow a ton of customization around styling or configuring an explanation page.

Developer reply

June 17, 2019

The Klarna Merchant Portal now offers merchants the ability to customize the display options of their own On-Site Messaging placement, such as font size, link color, text alignment, border style, background color, and more. Customization made in the Klarna Merchant Portal will be updated on the storefront directly without any changes required in the Klarna On-Site Messaging app for Shopify (if the theme selected is the default theme). For more information, see: https://developers.klarna.com/resources/on-site-messaging/customization/

VICTRESS

Easy to install and use. A bit limited as to where you can place the ads. I am guessing because the app is new there will come more options eventually other than only the product page or cart.

However, there is still a big problem with Klarna as a payment service when using Shopify: ONLY customer that are from the same country as the Shopify store can actually use the Klarna payments. It's because they have to be using the same currency as the store.

So for example if someone from Norway tries to pay using Klarna in a Swedish Shopify store (that is using Swedish Krona as currency) they will not be able to complete the purchase, and instead get a message that "this payment option is not available" (without any further explanation why). This needs to be fixed.

Therefore this application is just confusing customers from other countries because Klarna actually doesn't work for them... Otherwise the app itself was nice and I'm excited to see more features! 4/5.

Developer reply

June 17, 2019

Alternative payment gateways, like the Klarna Payments gateways, are processed using a single currency: the store's base currency. While Klarna Payments can support many currencies, the Klarna order must be in the applicable currency for the customer's address. Shopify's multiple currency functionality applies to orders using Shopify Payments (per https://help.shopify.com/en/manual/payments/multi-currency), For Shopify Plus stores, custom scripts can be written to hide payment gateways based on the cart's presentment currency, for more info see the Multi-Currency section at http://cdn.klarna.com/1.0/shared/content/integration/guide/US/Shopify/KlarnaPaymentsonShopify-MerchantGuide.pdf