Klarna On‑Site Messaging

Klarna On‑Site Messaging

by Klarna

Promote interest-free installments and pay later payment plans

2.9 of 5 stars(8 reviews)

Show users they can pay later

Promoting the availability of payment plans on product and checkout pages increases your sales

Personalize your messaging

The messaging can be personalized, creating a more intimate and unique online shopping experience, and more conversions for you

Control what, where, and how

Placements can be tailored to show payment plans available, or highlight promotions


About Klarna On‑Site Messaging

Sell more with personalized payment offers

Klarna has been taking the friction out of payments since 2005 for over 60 million consumers globally. Klarna allows shoppers to pay later in interest-free installments as an easy, flexible alternative to credit. The On-Site Messaging App continues the smooth journey, increasing risk-free sales through tailored messaging and showing your customers available payment plans while they’re still shopping.

On-Site Messaging is easy and simple to integrate. The app provides customized messaging ranging from banners promoting your partnership with Klarna and availability of payment options, to personalized promotions on product or cart pages. Advertising the ability to afterpay before checkout improves sales. Customers are identified from their first interaction, so the shopping experience can be tailored to suit their needs.

Let your customers know instantly how they can pay before they buy

Consumers are not always aware of the different payment plans available to them before reaching checkout. Knowing they can shop now and pay later, or split into installment payments prior to checkout, influences the purchase decision, and is a way to affirm their spending power. Not just to buy, but also how much to spend.

While your customers can pay over time Klarna pays you upfront. Your business is fully protected from fraud and credit risk, and your customers are safe too.

Capitalize on payment preferences

Payment preference is highly personal. Some people pay the same way for everything, while others choose the option best suited for a particular situation. In all cases, payment preference and communication influences the likelihood of a customer completing a purchase. The On-Site Messaging app tailors messages to previous Klarna users based on their specific preferences and the products they are looking at, while new users are informed about what payment options are available to buy the goods in which they’re interested.

How to make On-Site Messaging work best for you

1.Display Custom Payment Solutions & Promotions: Promote buy now pay later and monthly payments with promotions on product and cart pages. Klarna will display the most relevant payment option, or not load any content if a payment option will not be available.

2.Message within your Footer and Side-bar: Show your available payment methods with Klarna, as a footer or sidebar. These placements always let your users know how they can pay.

3.Available Banner Placements: Use our library of branded and payment method specific messaging on your homepage and landing pages.

Click the Developer Website link on this page if you are interested in finding out more about Klarna and our payment methods, or have not yet signed up to offer Klarna.

See the app in action

Explore how the app works in an example store.

View example store

Media gallery

Support

Pricing

Free

Overall rating
2.9 of 5 stars
Based on 8 reviews

  • 5 of 5 stars
    13% of ratings are 5 stars
    (1)
  • 4 of 5 stars
    25% of ratings are 4 stars
    (2)
  • 3 of 5 stars
    25% of ratings are 3 stars
    (2)
  • 2 of 5 stars
    13% of ratings are 2 stars
    (1)
  • 1 of 5 stars
    25% of ratings are 1 stars
    (2)

Most recent reviews

Pure Living Space

I was hesitant to use the app after reading the reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised. I was able to install the Klarna messaging on our product pages without too much trouble. We use the Atlantic theme. Although I wasn't able to place the messaging where I would have liked, I was able to find a spot within the product description to place it. I received an error message when I tried to place it near the product pricing information where it really belongs notifying me that there was a conflict. Typically, with this type of install, the user must modify the liquid, so it was great to have a free app that allowed me to place the Klarna message.

Developer reply

August 8, 2019

Thank you for your review. We're glad you tried the app and you were pleasantly surprised. Regarding the error, when dragging the pink box on the store preview page, the code is trying to attach to a CSS element on the page that will work across all product pages. That CSS element is how the code knows where to insert the placement code into the page. The error you received happens when the code determines that the chosen position will not work well, meaning the CSS element chosen is not a good choice across pages. The code is designed to guide to an appropriate element on the page and enable adding on-site messaging to a store without requiring you to update any code directly, but of course that isn't always simple. If desired or necessary, the app does also allow the option to instead manually enter an appropriate CSS element (under the Ad Position->CSS option).

FreshForPandas

Worst support experience ever with Klarna. Their support appalling and not suitable for such a critical service like customer checkout.

Klarna app was giving customers error messages when they chose it as their funding source.

For support, I was told to email 4 different support teams after I got no response from the support contact form. This took 7 days of chasing each department - no resolution other than the responder saying either email MOA, email Integrations or email merchant support.
In the end I removed Klarna as a service entirely (however to be fair the ticket was eventually picked up and I was contacted about it - 4 weeks after I uninstalled the app)

They have some beautiful marketing and branding. Shame some of that budget didn’t go to customer support.

Developer reply

August 2, 2019

We are sorry to hear that you had an unsatisfactory experience.

In our app listing we provide a dedicated support email: skosm@klarna.com which we closely monitor and use to respond to any app queries as quickly as possible. We have not received any correspondence using the above address, and can see that you have been speaking to another support team about your checkout error message. We do apologise that you did not receive a more timely response.

We are working hard to continue to improve our support for all our merchants, and hope that you will return to Klarna in the future.

Kick Game

App doesn't work properly, and when you remove it, it leaves code in your files.

Contacted developer for help, no response yet.

Developer reply

July 24, 2019

We're sorry the app didn't work for you. If you email skosm@klarna.com we are happy to debug any issues with the app on your store.

The app has been updated to remove all code if you first disconnect the Klarna account (in the app Settings) before you uninstall the app. For more details, please see the "Removing the Klarna On-Site Messaging app" section at https://x.klarnacdn.net/plugins/KlarnaOnSiteMessagingapponShopifySupportGuide.html

We try to respond to support requests quickly, but based on workload, it may take up to 1 or 2 business days.