Klarna On‑Site Messaging

Klarna On‑Site Messaging

by Klarna

Join the 9,000+ merchants already promoting pay later options

3.1 of 5 stars(78 reviews)

Show users they can pay later

Promoting the availability of payment plans on product and checkout pages increases your sales

Personalize your messaging

The messaging can be personalized, creating a more intimate and unique online shopping experience, and more conversions for you

Dedicated support team

A dedicated support team are standing by to assist with any app-related queries you might have, contact them at skosm@klarna.com


About Klarna On‑Site Messaging

Sell more with personalized payment offers

Klarna has been taking the friction out of payments since 2005 for over 90 million consumers globally, allowing shoppers to pay later in interest-free installments as an easy, flexible alternative to credit. Over 9,000 Shopify merchants are already using the On-Site Messaging App to continue that smooth journey, increasing risk-free sales through tailored messaging and showing your customers available payment plans while they’re still shopping.

On-Site Messaging is easy and simple to integrate. The app provides customized messaging ranging from banners promoting your partnership with Klarna and availability of payment options, to personalized promotions on product or cart pages. Advertising the ability to buy now and pay later before checkout improves sales

Let your customers know instantly how they can pay before they buy

Consumers are not always aware of the different payment plans available to them before reaching checkout. Knowing they can shop now and pay later, or split into installment payments prior to checkout, influences the purchase decision and is a way to affirm their spending power. Not just to buy, but also how much to spend.

While customers can pay over time Klarna pays you upfront. Your business is fully protected from fraud and credit risk, and shoppers are safe too.

Capitalize on payment preferences

Payment preference is highly personal. Payment preference and communication influences the likelihood of a customer completing a purchase. The On-Site Messaging app tailors messages to previous Klarna users based on their specific preferences and the products they are looking at, while new users are informed about what payment options are available to buy the goods in which they’re interested.

Any questions? Visit our FAQ page, watch the installation video, or email the team directly: skosm@klarna.com. Our dedicated Support Team are standing by, and will respond to your queries within 2 working days.

Sound good? Just make sure you're already up and running with Klarna Payments first.

To get Klarna active on your store, follow these 3 steps:

  1. Sign up for Klarna API credentials at eu.portal.klarna.com/signup

  2. Complete the Shopify Klarna Payments Installation Wizard Provided when you sign up for Klarna API credentials.

  3. Enter your Klarna API credentials in your Shopify admin under Alternative Payment Methods & you're finished! (Please make sure the Installation Wizard was successful prior to activating the Klarna payment method in your store).

Click the Developer Website link on this page if you are interested in finding out more about Klarna and our payment methods, need help, or have not yet signed up to offer Klarna.

See the app in action

Explore how the app works in an example store.

View example store

Media gallery

Support

Pricing

Free

3.1 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    37% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    9% of ratings are 4 stars
    (7)
  • 3 of 5 stars
    4% of ratings are 3 stars
    (3)
  • 2 of 5 stars
    6% of ratings are 2 stars
    (5)
  • 1 of 5 stars
    44% of ratings are 1 stars

Most recent reviews

Good Banana

Update: After posting our original review, we were contacted by customer support and received good customer service, resolving our current issues. We cannot recommend this app nor the customer service—both seem to be non-existent. We cannot get this app to show anything but a blank workspace, and despite scouring the support documentation AND contacting customer support (directly AND through Shopify) we've heard no response. Installation seemed easy enough (our site is not custom and all of our other apps work fine). We will have to search for a different BNPL service since we cannot get any assistance :(

Developer reply

December 4, 2020

Good Banana - We apologize for the technical issues and will ensure that merchant support contacts you if you have not already reached out to skosm@klarna.com. Thank you for your patience.

Wildlife World

It's terrible, you add Klarna to your site you try to add this app for messaging you have to manually put code on every page - when you ask for help they tell you to get a developer. Video makes it sound simple. But in reality it's crap.

Developer reply

December 4, 2020

Wildlife World - We apologize for the technical issues on our end and any response indicating that Klarna OSM will only work with help of a developer - we can assist in setup. Please contact skosm@klarna.com

Yililo

There was a conflict with my theme so placements didn’t work but Klarna helped put it right very quickly. Special thanks to Mimmi who went over and above on more than one occasion. Lots of report Klarna helps AOV so I’m glad it was sorted. Defo recommend the service.

Developer reply

December 3, 2020

Yililo - Thanks for recommending Klarna. We're glad that Mimmi could provide positive support!