Locksmith , 468 avis
I had great hopes for this app. It was easy to set up and I wanted to use it to lock one of my products - and make it only accessible to people with the 'secret link'. Sadly, it did not go well. People who had the link and purchased were not tagged with any Locksmith code, but everyone else who didn't have the secret link did had locksmith code added to their details. Someone who did not have the secret link was able to purchase the supposedly hidden product. I contacted customer support and they took over 24 hours to come back to me - with an answer that showed they had not read my question. Finally (over a period of days) they did help and the person was very nice, but the problems remained. Then I deleted the app but the code remained - my fault and they told me to reinstall the app and then disable it first. Which I did. Then they said they had to do it to remove code so I had to reinstall it a second time. They said they had cleared out all the code etc and I could delete the app. The app is deleted BUT now two days on I am getting random new customers having locksmith code applied to their details - and Locksmith is not even installed. I have contacted them again, but I know it is going to be at least 24 hours before I hear anything back to all.
The app is a great idea BUT my experience of it is that it is not great to use. And I just have dread now as I read other reviews as to what other problems its footprint through my site is going to cause.
Thank you for your feedback! I’m so sorry your experience with Locksmith was not a positive one. Not getting an answer to your email quickly is super frustrating and we totally get that. We know your online business is important to you, and feeling like something is actively causing you friction is not a good place to be in. We hear you, and we are taking steps to improve based on your feedback. So - genuinely - thanks for taking the time to let us know how it went for you.
For anyone reading this - a couple other quick things I'd like to add:
a) Locksmith code can be completely removed from your theme, swiftly and simply, from within the app: https://www.locksmith.guide/basics/removing-locksmith.
b) Using access control, via Locksmith or not, won't always be bulletproof. Secret links and passcodes, for example, can be shared.
c) For some Locksmith configurations (e.g. "secret links"), Locksmith may employ caching (“cookies”). Caching helps customer experience by improving the speed of the Locksmith app on the frontend of your store. The Locksmith cache is stored on the customer's browser, and the traces of this may end up in the "Additional Details" section of orders. If you've deleted Locksmith, seeing these in your orders is not an indication that Locksmith is still embedded in your theme, just that the customer in question is running on the same browser "session" that they were running when you still had Locksmith installed on your store.
All the best,
This app has caused me more bother than good. I would not recommend downloading locksmith! After downloading locksmith it has caused my products to be showing out of stock despite them being in stock. This has caused huge loss of sales. It has also stopped many website functions from working.
The code behind this app is very unstable and if you are downloading it, it will be at your own risk. I am now seeking to completely get rid of this bugged app from my shopify store. I'm extremely disappointed!
I’m sorry you had to experience this. The issue coming from Locksmith in this case was that the add to cart button, in the featured products area of your home page, was showing as “sold out” until the customer interacted with the variant selector. Your developer removed the Locksmith code from that template, which fixed the problem, but Locksmith automatically added its code again shortly after, and the issue resurfaced.
I totally understand your frustration, and while we did mention that Locksmith auto-installs, we should have brought up the ignore list functionality to prevent that from showing up again. Locksmith has an ignore list on the Settings page, which allows you to specify theme files that Locksmith should leave alone during its install process.
We did see that your slider navigation was not functioning, but it seems that was a side effect of the product object being “nil” in the featured product area, or perhaps something else in that template. Those are generally unrelated, and we're not sure why that happened, since the app is only working with your products and variants.
We’ve been able to duplicate the add to cart button issue on other themes, but not the unresponsive menu. That’s something specific to the theme you’re using, and fixing the add to cart also stopped the navigation menu issue.
I’m glad we were able to get this fixed for you, and that everything is working.
Again, I’m sorry for the frustrating situation. We’re here to help if anything else comes up.
DONT USE THIS APP!!!!! Be careful if you decide to DELETE it one day. My website was down for 3 days, and I couldn't detect the problem until Shopify detected that when I deleted this APP, was the problem that stopped my entire website!!
Thanks for letting us know how uninstalling Locksmith went for you! It sounds like Locksmith wasn't fully uninstalled, and was deleted from your apps list before running the removal process to ensure none of Locksmith's code is left in your theme. We disclose that it's critical to disable Locksmith before deleting it off your Shopify apps list in our usage agreement upon installation, which can also be found here:
It looks like you wrote in and one of my teammates took care of helping you remove any leftover Locksmith code from your theme, so you should be good to go. If anything else comes up that we can help with, please be sure to write back in. :)
Tried to create a lock on a page with a passcode - a very simple setup. Nothing. Didn't work. Not a good UX.
I'm sorry you encountered an issue when trying out the passcode key. I saw your email, and replied, about 30 minutes after it came in (20 minutes after this review), but by that time Locksmith had been removed.
A lock not working is exceedingly rare, and is generally something which can be fixed. That's why we have our 15 day trial period: We want to make sure you have time to test things and work out any potential conflicts in the theme, or with other apps, before you have to pay for Locksmith.
It's also important to note that passcode keys will remember you in the browser when you enter the code, and it may seem like they aren't locked at all. If that seems like it might be the issue, using a new private browsing session will show you what a new visitors sees.
I can't diagnose what happened at the moment, since Locksmith has been removed from your store. But, feel free to reach out if you'd like to try again. We're here for you, and I'm sure we can get things working. :)
All the best,
Was charged for this app even after it’s been uninstalled
I'm sorry you were charged unexpectedly for Locksmith! No one likes that type of surprise, and we’re always available at firstname.lastname@example.org to sort out any billing issues and are happy to answer any questions you may have about your bill.
If you write in, we’re happy to refund you for the days you did not use Locksmith. It looks like Locksmith was most recently installed, then several locks were created and/or updated, and after 15 days, Locksmith was uninstalled. Since this is not the first time Locksmith has been used for this store, you no longer have a free trial and a paid subscription was started on the last installation.
Locksmith follows Shopify’s recurring monthly app subscription model, and we do not have yearly or usage-based subscriptions. You are invoiced every 30 days for your Shopify app subscription, and you pay in advance for the following 30 days. Just in case you're curious about the Shopify app billing cycle, I've linked more about it below from Shopify's website:
So, canceling your active subscription during a billing cycle means that you’ll still see an app charge when that billing cycle ends and you receive that month’s invoice. If anyone ever has an issue with this, where a subscription is canceled near the beginning or middle of a billing cycle and you see a charge for Locksmith, we’re happy to refund or prorate a refund for the days Locksmith was not used. We’re always happy to help out with any issues with billing at email@example.com :)
The app worked very well but when the trial expired, all my products got locked and were not accessible by any customers, even the products that were not locked. I had to pay a subscription fee to go back in the app and disable the locks. I was under the impression that all the locks would be disabled when the trial expired, which would be the logical next step. So I did not go into the app and disable it. After a few days, I realized all my products were locked and the app had disappeared. Cold sweat!!!! I did receive a warning email but it was not clear. The logical process would be to disable locksmith when the trial ends and let all products be visible again. They hold us hostage instead of letting us try the product and disable it when the trial is over. Not impressed by that.
No amount of: "we told you by email" will make this process better. It feels like a scam to me.
Hey there! There’s no need to subscribe to Locksmith to unlock your content. Locksmith can be disabled from the settings page in the app, using the “Disable Locksmith” button.
I can definitely appreciate why finding that your products are still locked when you didn’t expect them to be would be an unpleasant surprise! For this reason we mention specifically in the emails that are automatically sent out, that a subscription doesn’t need to be started, and that customer access to your locked content will be disabled when a trial lapses. We do not hold stores hostage.
I understand why you might expect Locksmith to automatically disable your locks. The reason we've chosen not to automatically disable all of a store's locks is because some shops may let their trials lapse before subscribing, or they may simply need to update their billing information with Shopify, causing the payment to not be processed.
If that happens, we want to make sure the locks are still in place, since shops rely heavily on us to protect content. We're first and foremost an access control application, and so disabling locks could open up shops to showing content or selling products to folks who shouldn't have access.
Thank you for your feedback. These are important points that we want merchants to be informed about. Again, I know that situation wasn't ideal, to say the least, and I'm sorry for the confusion and issue.
We are now looking into how we can improve messaging in the app to make it clearer that a subscription isn’t needed to disable or uninstall Locksmith, and that a subscription is only required to keep using Locksmith.
All the best!
Avoid this app at all costs. We set it up and unfortunately it did not meet our needs. We disabled the app per their instructions and then deleted it. On our busiest shopping day of the year their app was still holding our collections hostage and I had to pay for a subscription to go in and shut it down. Beyond disappointed.
I'm very sorry for the hassle you experienced here. I'm not 100% sure how things transpired, but according to our records this store didn't have an active subscription at the time, and the trial period ran out more than 10 days before. Locksmith would have been suspended at that point, and so your keys wouldn't work to open any locks.
Locksmith does have an uninstall process to remove its code from your theme, and that can be initiated by disabling the app on the settings page, or by clicking the Remove Locksmith button on the Help page. No subscription is required for these actions, but Locksmith does need to be authorized to complete them.
We definitely don't want to cause your store issues in this way, but we do aim to make sure we don't surprise you by opening up all of your locked content in any situation. We want to you know, 100%, that your locked areas are being opened up to the public. That's why the locks stay locked until you disable them.
Again, I know that situation wasn't ideal, to say the least, and I'm sorry for the confusion and issue.
Looking into your account, I do see that you still have an active subscription to Locksmith. I can't cancel that for you, but you can do that by removing the app from your Apps list. At the time of this writing, you have no locks in place, and so Locksmith has no code in your theme, so it's safe to do so.
If/when you do, be sure to send us a message and we'll issue a refund for that charge. We're here at firstname.lastname@example.org, so just let us know. ❤️
Using this app, causes my SHOP to not be active and interferes with sales. I am having to delete this app.
First off, thank you for your feedback. This is an important point, regarding our compatibility with the Shop App. I’m sorry this came as a surprise. Nobody wants to have a sales channel suddenly become inactive.
This is something that’s enforced by Shop itself, and while we hope that the two apps can work together eventually, it’s out of our hands at the moment.
We do mention the incompatibility with the Shop App in our usage agreement, and Shop also has that in their guidelines. It’s also super important to note that this restriction is in place for all access control apps, and not just ours.
Again, we apologize for any inconvenience. It looks like we were in the process of working through getting your store setup with Locksmith, and that this incompatibility means Locksmith isn’t an option for you. I hope you find the solution that works best in your case. We’ll be here if you need us. :)
Fantastic app but the support is absolutely poor. If you're savvy with Shopify and can manage to work the app out on your own, it will definitely do the trick. As soon as you have an issue, though, you're stuffed.
Support is something we work hard at, and do really well with – keep reading our reviews. "Extremely helpful", "responsive", "the team at Locksmith are beyond helpful, beyond wonderful". We are consistent with what we bring to the table. Every so often, the wires get crossed. In this case, they got massively crossed. Our support, offered in good faith and positive intent, was labeled "disgusting" and "disappointing", and we were interpreted as "disinterested". If someone holds this perspective, I *understand* why they'd feel stuffed. No one wants to feel unheard and un-aided, and I'm sorry that's the impression that was struck. The intent, as always, is to help. ❤️
To the reviewer: I'm sorry this went this way. We work hard to enable, which is why we generally don't reconfigure things *for* our users – instead, we send along screenshots and instructions, illustrating what could happen next. I understand the instructions you received weren't enough. You weren't kind about letting us know that. I'm glad you got it figured out (thanks for letting us know that you did); if you need help in the future, we'll be here.
horrible web site the worst in the world. Very difficult.