Locksmith

Flexible access control for the Online Store channel.

Shopify app insights
  • Popular with businesses in the United States

From $9/month. 15-day free trial.

App highlights

  • Seamless workflow: use directly in Shopify admin

  • Speed tested: low impact to your online store

Reviews

4.5 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

Counts per rating level
  • 88% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 1 stars

Filter and sort reviews

1 - 10 of 25 reviews

ARCHEUS | NatFem Botanics

Location New Zealand
Time spent using app 8 days

I had great hopes for this app. It was easy to set up and I wanted to use it to lock one of my products - and make it only accessible to people with the 'secret link'. Sadly, it did not go well. People who had the link and purchased were not tagged with any Locksmith code, but everyone else who didn't have the secret link did had locksmith code added to their details. Someone who did not have the secret link was able to purchase the supposedly hidden product. I contacted customer support and they took over 24 hours to come back to me - with an answer that showed they had not read my question. Finally (over a period of days) they did help and the person was very nice, but the problems remained. Then I deleted the app but the code remained - my fault and they told me to reinstall the app and then disable it first. Which I did. Then they said they had to do it to remove code so I had to reinstall it a second time. They said they had cleared out all the code etc and I could delete the app. The app is deleted BUT now two days on I am getting random new customers having locksmith code applied to their details - and Locksmith is not even installed. I have contacted them again, but I know it is going to be at least 24 hours before I hear anything back to all.
The app is a great idea BUT my experience of it is that it is not great to use. And I just have dread now as I read other reviews as to what other problems its footprint through my site is going to cause.

Developer reply

October 24, 2022

Hi there!

Thank you for your feedback! I’m so sorry your experience with Locksmith was not a positive one. Not getting an answer to your email quickly is super frustrating and we totally get that. We know your online business is important to you, and feeling like something is actively causing you friction is not a good place to be in. We hear you, and we are taking steps to improve based on your feedback. So - genuinely - thanks for taking the time to let us know how it went for you.

For anyone reading this - a couple other quick things I'd like to add:

a) Locksmith code can be completely removed from your theme, swiftly and simply, from within the app: https://www.locksmith.guide/basics/removing-locksmith.

b) Using access control, via Locksmith or not, won't always be bulletproof. Secret links and passcodes, for example, can be shared.

c) For some Locksmith configurations (e.g. "secret links"), Locksmith may employ caching (“cookies”). Caching helps customer experience by improving the speed of the Locksmith app on the frontend of your store. The Locksmith cache is stored on the customer's browser, and the traces of this may end up in the "Additional Details" section of orders. If you've deleted Locksmith, seeing these in your orders is not an indication that Locksmith is still embedded in your theme, just that the customer in question is running on the same browser "session" that they were running when you still had Locksmith installed on your store.

All the best,
Erica

Milpali

Location United States
Time spent using app About 1 month

The app worked very well but when the trial expired, all my products got locked and were not accessible by any customers, even the products that were not locked. I had to pay a subscription fee to go back in the app and disable the locks. I was under the impression that all the locks would be disabled when the trial expired, which would be the logical next step. So I did not go into the app and disable it. After a few days, I realized all my products were locked and the app had disappeared. Cold sweat!!!! I did receive a warning email but it was not clear. The logical process would be to disable locksmith when the trial ends and let all products be visible again. They hold us hostage instead of letting us try the product and disable it when the trial is over. Not impressed by that.
No amount of: "we told you by email" will make this process better. It feels like a scam to me.

Developer reply

August 9, 2022

Hey there! There’s no need to subscribe to Locksmith to unlock your content. Locksmith can be disabled from the settings page in the app, using the “Disable Locksmith” button.

I can definitely appreciate why finding that your products are still locked when you didn’t expect them to be would be an unpleasant surprise! For this reason we mention specifically in the emails that are automatically sent out, that a subscription doesn’t need to be started, and that customer access to your locked content will be disabled when a trial lapses. We do not hold stores hostage.

​I understand why you might expect Locksmith to automatically disable your locks. The reason we've chosen not to automatically disable all of a store's locks is because some shops may let their trials lapse before subscribing, or they may simply need to update their billing information with Shopify, causing the payment to not be processed.

​If that happens, we want to make sure the locks are still in place, since shops rely heavily on us to protect content. We're first and foremost an access control application, and so disabling locks could open up shops to showing content or selling products to folks who shouldn't have access.

Thank you for your feedback. These are important points that we want merchants to be informed about. Again, I know that situation wasn't ideal, to say the least, and I'm sorry for the confusion and issue.

We are now looking into how we can improve messaging in the app to make it clearer that a subscription isn’t needed to disable or uninstall Locksmith, and that a subscription is only required to keep using Locksmith.

All the best!

- Tristan

Chef Gina's® Mini Food

Location United States
Time spent using app 1 day

Using this app, causes my SHOP to not be active and interferes with sales. I am having to delete this app.

Developer reply

August 2, 2022

First off, thank you for your feedback. This is an important point, regarding our compatibility with the Shop App. I’m sorry this came as a surprise. Nobody wants to have a sales channel suddenly become inactive.

This is something that’s enforced by Shop itself, and while we hope that the two apps can work together eventually, it’s out of our hands at the moment.

We do mention the incompatibility with the Shop App in our usage agreement, and Shop also has that in their guidelines. It’s also super important to note that this restriction is in place for all access control apps, and not just ours.



Again, we apologize for any inconvenience. It looks like we were in the process of working through getting your store setup with Locksmith, and that this incompatibility means Locksmith isn’t an option for you. I hope you find the solution that works best in your case. We’ll be here if you need us. :)



Sincerely,



-Ken

jointcustodydc

Location United States
Time spent using app 12 months

Avoid this app at all costs. We set it up and unfortunately it did not meet our needs. We disabled the app per their instructions and then deleted it. On our busiest shopping day of the year their app was still holding our collections hostage and I had to pay for a subscription to go in and shut it down. Beyond disappointed.

Developer reply

December 8, 2021

Hello!

I'm very sorry for the hassle you experienced here. I'm not 100% sure how things transpired, but according to our records this store didn't have an active subscription at the time, and the trial period ran out more than 10 days before. Locksmith would have been suspended at that point, and so your keys wouldn't work to open any locks.

Locksmith does have an uninstall process to remove its code from your theme, and that can be initiated by disabling the app on the settings page, or by clicking the Remove Locksmith button on the Help page. No subscription is required for these actions, but Locksmith does need to be authorized to complete them.

We definitely don't want to cause your store issues in this way, but we do aim to make sure we don't surprise you by opening up all of your locked content in any situation. We want to you know, 100%, that your locked areas are being opened up to the public. That's why the locks stay locked until you disable them.

Again, I know that situation wasn't ideal, to say the least, and I'm sorry for the confusion and issue.

Looking into your account, I do see that you still have an active subscription to Locksmith. I can't cancel that for you, but you can do that by removing the app from your Apps list. At the time of this writing, you have no locks in place, and so Locksmith has no code in your theme, so it's safe to do so.

If/when you do, be sure to send us a message and we'll issue a refund for that charge. We're here at team@uselocksmith.com, so just let us know. ❤️

Best regards,

Ken

RMC Events

Location United States
Time spent using app 2 days

The app will not download correctly. I have sent two emails to customer support with no answer to either. Anyone know any other apps that will work to lock collections?

Developer reply

October 29, 2021

Hello! Not getting answers to your emails is super frustrating, and we totally understand that.

I looked into our records, and the only message we have from your store came in today, and we replied as soon as we saw it. That was just over an hour from when the message arrived. It sounds like your other messages didn't get through to us, and I'm sorry about that.

I totally understand if you've found another solution. The most important thing is to get your needs met. ❤️

All that said, we are definitely here to help. If you still have questions or need assistance, feel free to reply to our message, or send another to team@uselocksmith.com

Kind regards,

Ken

Kitchener OutGROW OutPLAY

Location Canada
Time spent using app About 1 month

Trying to set up a lock to my store and the app doesn't do that. I've tried several different combinations to make it work and it doesn't. There isn't a number to call to talk to someone which means this will take hours or days to resolve, rather than a few minutes. Was told this was a good app and will continue to try and make it work.

Developer reply

August 26, 2021

Hey there! Looking at followup emails, it does sound like you were able to create the Locksmith setup you needed – locking storefronts *is* something Locksmith does well, and it looks like you're all squared away.

To the rest of your note: thanks for letting this know how this went for you. All of our support *is* offered via email, with a turnaround time up to 24 hours, and often much less. (A note to this effect is included in the auto-response we send to all new support messages.)

This works well in most circumstances – but not all, and that's absolutely legitimate, and those stories are important too. It's our intent to be as straightforward as possible about what we do and do not offer, so that you can choose the tool that works best for what you need – whether that's Locksmith, or another tool with a different support structure.

If you do choose to keep using Locksmith, you know where to find us. :) We'll always do our best to help.

Cheers,

-Isaac

IV Wardrobe

Location Australia
Time spent using app About 1 hour

im extremely disappointed in this app that was recommended by shopify, my entire store is locked and wont let me disable it. I also have to wait now for someone to email me back rather talk on live chat.

Developer reply

August 4, 2021

Hey there! It looks like the locking on your store is caused by another app. Looking at our records, Locksmith *was* installed (and uninstalled, and reinstalled several times), but no locks were ever configured, and thus far Locksmith has not made any changes to your store's theme.

For background, Locksmith will never modify your store's theme unless there are locks configured. And, on the other side of that, *removing* all locks will result in Locksmith removing all of its code from your theme. Locksmith works hard to have a light touch. :)

Locksmith isn't currently in your apps list, so we're not able to take a closer look at your theme's internals to see what code is causing the locking of your store. But, as far as we can tell, Locksmith isn't involved – it's likely another app, or perhaps some custom code in your theme.

We've replied to your emails; just let us know in either of those threads if there's something we can do here to help. Re-adding Locksmith to your apps list could help us see what's going on under the hood of your theme, if that's useful. :)

All the best,

-Isaac

Safari Zone Collectibles

Location United States
Time spent using app 4 days

We tried using this app to hide certain items on our website, which it did do, however there were still automated bots that were able to purchase items that were designed to only be purchased by certain people, so it did not work as intended/described.

Developer reply

July 14, 2021

I hear you – thanks for letting us know. If it helps: because of the way Shopify's Online Store channel is built, it's impossible for any third-party access control app (including Locksmith) to fully block all bot activity. We talk about this in our user agreement, which everyone sees and accepts when they install Locksmith, and which we wrote to make sure we're clear and up front about all this. You can see the user agreement here: https://uselocksmith.com/agreement.

I understand you were expecting Locksmith to block those bots; given the specifics of how Shopify itself works on this one, the best we as a team can do is to be clear about what Locksmith can and can't help with. If there's a way we can communicate this better going forward, let us know – team@uselocksmith.com. We're here to help, however we can. :)

All the best,

-Isaac

KARAVAN WHOLESALE

Location Greece
Time spent using app 21 days

We removed the app but our website remains locked. Very unpleasant experience with this app. Watch out what you install, there are many amateur works out there.

Developer reply

March 24, 2021

❤️ I feel you; this kind of thing can be unpleasantly surprising. Because Shopify doesn't allow recently-removed apps to go back and clean up their theme code, it's really important to disable Locksmith within the app (or simply delete all of your locks) *before* removing Locksmith from your apps list.

If this is still affecting you, here's the place to start: https://docs.uselocksmith.com/article/221-removing-locksmith

Or, send us an email at team@uselocksmith.com. We're here. :)

For those looking in on this review, it's worth mentioning that we work *hard* to communicate the uninstallation process:

* We send an automatic email to the store owner immediately upon app removal, if we detect that Locksmith's code is still in your theme.
* We include the uninstall requirements in our required user agreement, on the first screen of the app.
* There's a link to our uninstall process at the end of every page within the Locksmith app, and in our immediate auto-response to new inquiries to team@uselocksmith.com.

We're here to help, always, always. :) To the reviewer: thanks for letting us know how this affected you. We haven't heard from you via email, so I'm hopeful that you've been able to get this sorted. Please reach out if there's anything we can do to help you further.

All the best,

-Isaac

Born Clothing

Location Ireland
Time spent using app 18 days

I downloaded this application and at first it was great. Then the day after, my site speed dropped to staggeringly low (14 seconds+). I deleted the application and somehow, the java has still stuck around and is causing massive delays on my site. I have tried reaching out to Locksmith's customer service and no response. DO NOT download this application!

Developer reply

March 15, 2021

Heyo! It's exceedingly rare, but some Locksmith configurations *can* have an effect on site performance. If you (dear reader) are encountering this yourself, start here:

https://docs.uselocksmith.com/article/432-what-should-i-do-if-my-site-is-loading-slowly

Writing in to team@uselocksmith.com is also a good idea – we'll always work to help.

If all else fails, disabling Locksmith from within the app will automatically remove all of its code from your theme. (Note that this is different than removing Locksmith from your apps list! We work hard to communicate this, and sometimes it still slips through: because Shopify removes Locksmith's permission to clean up as soon as it's out of your apps list, it's really important to disable your locks beforehand, to give Locksmith an opportunity to clean up after itself.)

To the reviewer: it's rough to not get support in the timeframe that you need it. I hear you, and thanks for letting us know how this went for you. If it's useful, your message came in from the email address on file for the store, and it looks like this address is your store's customer support address – this is the address we replied to. If this is still an outstanding issue, please do let us know. We'll always do our best to help.

Cheers,

-Isaac

Previous 1 3
Previous 1 3