Access control, for anything in your online store :)

  • Popular with businesses in the United States

From $9/month. 15-day free trial.

App highlights

  • Seamless workflow: use directly in Shopify admin

  • Speed tested: low impact to your online store


4.5 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

  • 5 of 5 stars
    89% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    3% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    2% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    5% of ratings are 1 stars
1 - 10 of 22 reviews


Avoid this app at all costs. We set it up and unfortunately it did not meet our needs. We disabled the app per their instructions and then deleted it. On our busiest shopping day of the year their app was still holding our collections hostage and I had to pay for a subscription to go in and shut it down. Beyond disappointed.

Developer reply

December 8, 2021


I'm very sorry for the hassle you experienced here. I'm not 100% sure how things transpired, but according to our records this store didn't have an active subscription at the time, and the trial period ran out more than 10 days before. Locksmith would have been suspended at that point, and so your keys wouldn't work to open any locks.

Locksmith does have an uninstall process to remove its code from your theme, and that can be initiated by disabling the app on the settings page, or by clicking the Remove Locksmith button on the Help page. No subscription is required for these actions, but Locksmith does need to be authorized to complete them.

We definitely don't want to cause your store issues in this way, but we do aim to make sure we don't surprise you by opening up all of your locked content in any situation. We want to you know, 100%, that your locked areas are being opened up to the public. That's why the locks stay locked until you disable them.

Again, I know that situation wasn't ideal, to say the least, and I'm sorry for the confusion and issue.

Looking into your account, I do see that you still have an active subscription to Locksmith. I can't cancel that for you, but you can do that by removing the app from your Apps list. At the time of this writing, you have no locks in place, and so Locksmith has no code in your theme, so it's safe to do so.

If/when you do, be sure to send us a message and we'll issue a refund for that charge. We're here at team@uselocksmith.com, so just let us know. ❤️

Best regards,


RMC Events

The app will not download correctly. I have sent two emails to customer support with no answer to either. Anyone know any other apps that will work to lock collections?

Developer reply

October 29, 2021

Hello! Not getting answers to your emails is super frustrating, and we totally understand that.

I looked into our records, and the only message we have from your store came in today, and we replied as soon as we saw it. That was just over an hour from when the message arrived. It sounds like your other messages didn't get through to us, and I'm sorry about that.

I totally understand if you've found another solution. The most important thing is to get your needs met. ❤️

All that said, we are definitely here to help. If you still have questions or need assistance, feel free to reply to our message, or send another to team@uselocksmith.com

Kind regards,


Kitchener OutGROW OutPLAY

Trying to set up a lock to my store and the app doesn't do that. I've tried several different combinations to make it work and it doesn't. There isn't a number to call to talk to someone which means this will take hours or days to resolve, rather than a few minutes. Was told this was a good app and will continue to try and make it work.

Developer reply

August 26, 2021

Hey there! Looking at followup emails, it does sound like you were able to create the Locksmith setup you needed – locking storefronts *is* something Locksmith does well, and it looks like you're all squared away.

To the rest of your note: thanks for letting this know how this went for you. All of our support *is* offered via email, with a turnaround time up to 24 hours, and often much less. (A note to this effect is included in the auto-response we send to all new support messages.)

This works well in most circumstances – but not all, and that's absolutely legitimate, and those stories are important too. It's our intent to be as straightforward as possible about what we do and do not offer, so that you can choose the tool that works best for what you need – whether that's Locksmith, or another tool with a different support structure.

If you do choose to keep using Locksmith, you know where to find us. :) We'll always do our best to help.



IV Wardrobe

im extremely disappointed in this app that was recommended by shopify, my entire store is locked and wont let me disable it. I also have to wait now for someone to email me back rather talk on live chat.

Developer reply

August 4, 2021

Hey there! It looks like the locking on your store is caused by another app. Looking at our records, Locksmith *was* installed (and uninstalled, and reinstalled several times), but no locks were ever configured, and thus far Locksmith has not made any changes to your store's theme.

For background, Locksmith will never modify your store's theme unless there are locks configured. And, on the other side of that, *removing* all locks will result in Locksmith removing all of its code from your theme. Locksmith works hard to have a light touch. :)

Locksmith isn't currently in your apps list, so we're not able to take a closer look at your theme's internals to see what code is causing the locking of your store. But, as far as we can tell, Locksmith isn't involved – it's likely another app, or perhaps some custom code in your theme.

We've replied to your emails; just let us know in either of those threads if there's something we can do here to help. Re-adding Locksmith to your apps list could help us see what's going on under the hood of your theme, if that's useful. :)

All the best,


Safari Zone Collectibles

We tried using this app to hide certain items on our website, which it did do, however there were still automated bots that were able to purchase items that were designed to only be purchased by certain people, so it did not work as intended/described.

Developer reply

July 14, 2021

I hear you – thanks for letting us know. If it helps: because of the way Shopify's Online Store channel is built, it's impossible for any third-party access control app (including Locksmith) to fully block all bot activity. We talk about this in our user agreement, which everyone sees and accepts when they install Locksmith, and which we wrote to make sure we're clear and up front about all this. You can see the user agreement here: https://uselocksmith.com/agreement.

I understand you were expecting Locksmith to block those bots; given the specifics of how Shopify itself works on this one, the best we as a team can do is to be clear about what Locksmith can and can't help with. If there's a way we can communicate this better going forward, let us know – team@uselocksmith.com. We're here to help, however we can. :)

All the best,



We removed the app but our website remains locked. Very unpleasant experience with this app. Watch out what you install, there are many amateur works out there.

Developer reply

March 24, 2021

❤️ I feel you; this kind of thing can be unpleasantly surprising. Because Shopify doesn't allow recently-removed apps to go back and clean up their theme code, it's really important to disable Locksmith within the app (or simply delete all of your locks) *before* removing Locksmith from your apps list.

If this is still affecting you, here's the place to start: https://docs.uselocksmith.com/article/221-removing-locksmith

Or, send us an email at team@uselocksmith.com. We're here. :)

For those looking in on this review, it's worth mentioning that we work *hard* to communicate the uninstallation process:

* We send an automatic email to the store owner immediately upon app removal, if we detect that Locksmith's code is still in your theme.
* We include the uninstall requirements in our required user agreement, on the first screen of the app.
* There's a link to our uninstall process at the end of every page within the Locksmith app, and in our immediate auto-response to new inquiries to team@uselocksmith.com.

We're here to help, always, always. :) To the reviewer: thanks for letting us know how this affected you. We haven't heard from you via email, so I'm hopeful that you've been able to get this sorted. Please reach out if there's anything we can do to help you further.

All the best,


Born Clothing

I downloaded this application and at first it was great. Then the day after, my site speed dropped to staggeringly low (14 seconds+). I deleted the application and somehow, the java has still stuck around and is causing massive delays on my site. I have tried reaching out to Locksmith's customer service and no response. DO NOT download this application!

Developer reply

March 15, 2021

Heyo! It's exceedingly rare, but some Locksmith configurations *can* have an effect on site performance. If you (dear reader) are encountering this yourself, start here:


Writing in to team@uselocksmith.com is also a good idea – we'll always work to help.

If all else fails, disabling Locksmith from within the app will automatically remove all of its code from your theme. (Note that this is different than removing Locksmith from your apps list! We work hard to communicate this, and sometimes it still slips through: because Shopify removes Locksmith's permission to clean up as soon as it's out of your apps list, it's really important to disable your locks beforehand, to give Locksmith an opportunity to clean up after itself.)

To the reviewer: it's rough to not get support in the timeframe that you need it. I hear you, and thanks for letting us know how this went for you. If it's useful, your message came in from the email address on file for the store, and it looks like this address is your store's customer support address – this is the address we replied to. If this is still an outstanding issue, please do let us know. We'll always do our best to help.



Mama We Got You

This app is not easy to use and there's no support. Emailing and awaiting an answer when your running a business isnt for me.

Developer reply

February 11, 2021

❤️ We've responded to each of the two messages we've received from you, within the same day. In one of those responses, we reached out from a different email address, in hopes of bypassing any spam filters that might have been in the way.

We're here, and we're trying to get back to you. :) If you still aren't seeing our messages, I have two ideas:

1. Email us directly at team@uselocksmith.com. It looks like your messages have come in via the in-app messenger and via the app store contact form, which means our replies are going to the address Shopify has on file for you (n[...]a@m[...]u.org). If that's *not* your email address, that would explain why you're not seeing the replies. :)

2. If that doesn't help, please do check your spam box, or any other place where filtered messages might end up.

All the very best,


Cali Tiger

Appalling support. Must of sent over 5 emails still no reply. Really frustrating. Can someone get back to us?

Developer reply

January 27, 2021

Hey there! ❤️ We reply to everything we receive, and – doing some digging into our team mailbox – we've received three messages from you this month, all of which we've replied to, all well within our 24hr response time cap. We've also emailed you directly (in a new email thread – look for an email with the subject "Locksmith App for Shopify"), to see if we can get through to you this way.

Not getting responses is not great, and I get that. Please know that it's not for lack of effort – every time you try to reach us, we're trying to get back to you. :)

If you're still not getting our replies, please consider writing in from another email address, perhaps outside of your store's domain. We're here to help. ❤️

All the best,


Wild Seed Project Shop

At first, I thought this was a great app, but I had trouble with configuring effective locks, after significant trial and error, not only by myself but my colleagues. The only way to seek help from Locksmith was to email the developer. I did that twice and never received a reply. I'm on a 15-day free trial, and unless I get some support that is effective and timely, I will seek a different app. EasyLockdown seems to get strong reviews.

Developer reply

September 9, 2020

I hear you. ❤️ Looking back at the emails from yesterday, everything was good to go at that time – it sounded like you were really happy with where things were at. :) I understand that things come up, and I'm sorry that we weren't able to get back to you in time for what you needed today. I get that it's frustrating to have an emergent situation, in which you need help on a tight timeline.

We only received one of the two emails you mentioned in your review. The email came in at 11:12am today (local), about a launch scheduled for 1pm. We were able to get back to you at 3:04pm, two hours after the launch, and just under four hours after your initial email.

Realizing that your deadline has already passed, if there's anything more we can do to help, please let us know. We can't guarantee specific turnaround times, and I understand and respect if that means you need to find a different solution. By all means, do what's best for you and your business.

Thanks for letting us know how this went for you. It all matters.

All the very best,


Previous 1 3
Previous 1 3