B2B Login/Lock & Hide Price

Lock Wholesale, Secret/Password, B2B Login, Hide Price/Product

Shopify app insights
  • Popular with businesses in the United States

Free plan available

App highlights

  • Speed tested: low impact to your online store

Restricts Access To Specific Customers With B2B Login

Reviews

4.9 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

Counts per rating level
  • 93% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 1 stars

Filter and sort reviews

5 reviews

Level Up Experience

Location United States
Time spent using app 28 minutes

I read 24/7 support, but that's not the case. I just downloaded the app, and emails from created accounts are not coming through, which means the app is useless to me. I subscribed to the app, and I need it operational tomorrow - Saturday. It's Friday afternoon, and support is gone for the day and won't return until Monday.

Developer reply

April 26, 2022

From BSS Commerce Team.

Kindly accept our sincere apology for your experience and please sympathize for us during the weekend.

Emma from our team contacted you shortly on Saturday to further check it.

Hope you can give us another chance and work with us to solve the problem.

Thank you.

ZIZARI

Location United States
Time spent using app 27 minutes

Hide price and add to cart does not work. When you add rule it hides everything from the product page or collections. Not user friendly at all.

Developer reply

February 15, 2022

From BSS Commerce:

So sorry for hearing about your problem. Normally, the errors are caused by theme incompatibility and we can fix it quickly.

Our team has tried to reach back to you from sales@bsscommerce.com. Kindly check and reply to us.

Thank you and sorry again for the inconvenience.

Lizosoft B2B

Location United Kingdom
Time spent using app 14 minutes

took money from me after uninstalled, now need to file a chargeback.
Far to quick to take payment used it for less than 20 minutes and didnt meet my needs

Developer reply

August 25, 2021

Dear,

We're sorry for your inconvenience.

Can you contact us at sales@bsscommerce.com to further discuss your problem so that we can help?

We're all ears and hope you give our team to chance to fix your bad experience.

Thank you.

Nasa Depot

Location United States
Time spent using app 1 minute

These guys are trying to charge $50/month for the most essential features - not a good way to build your customer base if you ask me. Reply To Developer: You guys are absolute price gouging small businesses, entrepreneurs, and people just starting out by holding the most essential features at an insane amount per month - especially in the time of covid where people have lost their jobs and are continually trying to find new avenues to provide for their families, what you guys do by holding out the features that people need behind a $600/year paywall is despicable.

Developer reply

March 10, 2021

Hi, I'm Steph from BSS Commerce.
Sorry if you are not satisfied with our pricing plans. However, it would be not fair for us that you installed the app for one minute and left a bad review for its prices without trying to find out how advanced it is.
Honestly, the whole team has been ready to work days and nights to improve the app, introduce new features, and give advice for customers. Thus, hope you give us another chance to understand your problem and help.
I'm always available at sales@bsscommerce.com or in Live Chat.
Hope to hear from you.

Missy Ave.

Location United States
Time spent using app 40 minutes

I think this app is messing up my website, I can only see one item in a collection I created. Need help please contact me!!!

Developer reply

August 21, 2020

Dear,
First off, sorry for any inconvenience caused. We are sorry to hear about your experience with our app. Secondly, we promise to fix all professionally.
I've sent you an email. Please kindly check it and give us a chance to further discuss the problem and help.
Thank you.