Mailchimp: Email Marketing

Mailchimp: Email Marketing

Free plan available. Additional charges may apply.
Rating (3.5)
Reviews
Developer
468 reviews
22 reviews
Overall rating
3.5
Counts per rating level
  • 62% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 7% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 20% of ratings are 1 stars
22 reviews
November 29, 2022

To save me time and look more professional, I need a good supply of email templates to choose from. I also need it to integrate with my Shopify. MailChimp was a bit of a disappointment. I found their app did not allow me the customization I need and their templates were not what I thought they would be. So far Wix has them beat and that's the app I was wanting to switch from.

Carol M Studio
United States
Time spent using app: About 6 hours
November 23, 2022

I have been trying the past two days to integrate my shopify site with mailchimp. When trying to download the app it says "URL Not Found"

Cliodhna Doherty Art
United Kingdom
Time spent using app: Almost 2 years
Mailchimp replied November 23, 2022

Hi again, we see your store is now connected and syncing as expected. Don't hesitate to get back in touch with us if you need any other help.
---
Hi there! Sorry you're having trouble we definitely want to help out.

Can you do us a favor and try to install the app again? We spotted something on the back end that may have caused this issue and has been resolved.

Also, be sure to clear your cookies/cache prior to the retry. Let us know if you have any additional problems and contact us at ecommappsupport@mailchimp.com.

Thanks!

December 11, 2021

Received an email saying "Your automations and data syncing will continue uninterrupted with the Mailchimp for Shopify integration", but when I checked today, the syncing had stopped at some point and as a result, people who had subscribed to my newsletter recently (Including Black Friday deals) had not received their newsletters. Disappointing to say the least.

Maarit Hänninen
Netherlands
Time spent using app: Over 2 years
Mailchimp replied December 13, 2021

Hi there, thanks for your feedback. We saw your review and we wanted to try to clarify the scenario you're experiencing. When the sync is initiated any subscriber at checkout will still receive an automation business as usual. Also, the sync was initiated on 12/11, and was completed in under 2 hours.

We'd like to troubleshoot further if you're missing a subscriber in your Mailchimp Audience. We'll be happy to investigate with you to see why any customer didn't receive an Automation. Can you drop us a note at mc4shopifysupport@mailchimp.com?

Edited March 9, 2021

I don't typically write bad reviews, but My orders aren't being tagged on mailchimp and I'm not able to send an email out to my customers. I added 2 tags in shopsync but in mailchimp it says there are no tags. Can you help me? Please email Josh@movingmoments.com

Moving Moments
United States
Time spent using app: About 2 years
Mailchimp replied March 10, 2021

Hi there, I'll respond to this reveiw and also send you an email as mentioned. To get tagging working, it's a two-step process described here: https://support.shopsync.io/features/tag-mapper.

You'll first need to add the tags in the settings of ShopSync and then add the tags to your customers in Shopify. These need to be spelled exactly the same in order for them to sync. Also, you may also need to execute a Force Resync for past data to show up.

Please don't hesitate to reach back out to us at support@shopsync.io if you continue to have any trouble.

January 15, 2021

I've had this app installed for a while and for the most part it seems to work fine, but after reading some reviews today about customers being unsubscribed if they don't check the "accept marketing" box at checkout, I looked and sure enough I think this has happened with my account too which is terrible! Some customers have been with me for years and then all of the sudden they're off my mailing list because they didn't check a box? I'm uninstalling this app today.

Sweet Paprika Designs
Canada
Time spent using app: Over 1 year
Mailchimp replied January 18, 2021

Hi there, thank you for your feedback. After extensive testing, we've figured out how this could be happening after finding a bug in Shopify during checkout. We've been in contact with their technical team, and they have acknowledged this is a glitch on their end. They are working hard to deploy a fix for this problem.

Here's why you are having the previous subscribers moved to unsubscribed (or transactional).

1. Let's say jim@gmail.com checks out in your store and opts out of marketing on their first checkout. In Shopify, this customer is NOT subscribed at this point.
2. Later on, you decide to connect ShopSync with an existing Mailchimp Audience.
3. jim@gmail.com IS currently subscribed in Mailchimp in this example - perhaps you gathered their email address previously via another platform or curated them from a pop-up/landing page or social media.
4. With ShopSync now connected, jim@gmail.com comes back to place an order for the second time, and this time they opt-in at checkout.
5. Here's the bug...Shopify doesn't update that customer to be subscribed to marketing on the second order.
6. Because the user is still deemed to be opted out of marketing, Shopify passes this information to Mailchimp as unsubscribed; if they don't complete the checkout, they would be marked as transactional.

The only workaround we can advise is to resubscribe the customer via the Shopify admin manually. This action will POST a customer update to Mailchimp with the correct subscriber status to your Audience.

Thanks again for the feedback, but please understand the unsubscribe behavior is not because of ShopSync specifically. Because of the bug, any app listening to a customer update from Shopify would pass the wrong information at this point on the customer's marketing status.

We don't have visibility into Shopify's product release or bug fix roadmap, but I'm happy to reach back out directly when this issue is patched. In the interim, please let us know if there's anything else we can do to help.

November 17, 2020

I would like to use this app to sync my subscribed customers between Shopify and Mailchimp. It seems a bit one way - if a customer subscribes on a hosted Mailchimp form, it appears to import that data into Shopify. However, if a customer subscribes using Shopify's form, it does NOT seem to import those subscribers into Mailchimp so I have to check frequently and manually add them!

Pop Karma
United States
Time spent using app: 4 months
Mailchimp replied November 18, 2020

Hi there, we saw your review and wanted to clarify things. When someone signs up on a MailChimp pop-up form, it is expected behavior that they will only be added to MailChimp. Likewise, when someone signs up on a Shopify form, they will only be added to Shopify.

By design, the only form that will add to both MailChimp and Shopify is the footer form located on the bottom of your Shopify Theme.

If it does not currently sync to MailChimp, you can use this guide: https://mailchimp.com/help/add-a-signup-form-to-your-website/ and with the help of the Shopify Gurus, you should be able to get that embedded code added to the footer of your store.

For your convenience, we have the link to reach out to the Gurus here: https://help.shopify.com/en/questions#/questions

August 17, 2020

Be careful! If your Mailchimp subscribers make a purchase from your Shopify shop and don't choose to subscribe to your mailing list at checkout (because they think they already are on your mailing list) they will become non-subscribed and only eligible to receive transactional messages from you. They cannot be added back to your email list. I didn't realize this was happening until a friend asked me why I stopped sending out a newsletter. I suspect I have lost dozens, maybe hundreds, of my most engaged Mailchimp subscribers because of this.

The Chilly Dog
United States
Time spent using app: Almost 2 years
Mailchimp replied August 27, 2020

Hi there, we saw your review and wanted to write back. If return customers who were previously subscribed do not tick the box at checkout, we pass them over to Mailchimp as transactional.

We understand in some situations that this doesn't work for everyone, but since we are not seeing them subscribed in Shopify at the time of the (latest) transaction, the best compromise we can muster is to pass that customer as transactional to Mailchimp. That way, you can still use Mailchimp's automations to trigger abandoned carts and order notifications.

If it's possible in your store, we recommend some help text at checkout to remind returning customers to opt-in each time.

June 1, 2020

Installation Is easy and the initial sync is working, however impossible after to sync any new entry except if I am forcing new sync.
The most frustrating issue is to have to pay to access support to solve the issus

Brutal Art
Germany
Time spent using app: 40 minutes
April 28, 2020

I've installed this app, but I'm not totally sure it's syncing everything properly. I'm still using mailchimp, but I'm not sure any of my automations are sending.

Jaipur Atelier
United States
Time spent using app: 3 months
Mailchimp replied May 13, 2020

Hi there, thanks for reaching out. We looked at the connection you have with ShopSync on your store and everything looks great on our side. We see successful syncs of data as recent as today.

If you're having trouble or have questions about Automations in Mailchimp, you can reach out to their excellent support team at https://mailchimp.com/help/mailchimp-support-options/. If you need us for anything else, don't hesitate to get in touch at support@shopsync.io.

February 17, 2020

Great import and connection with Mailchimp. But, I lost all my tracking in GA and on FB :/ So uninstalled again... and tracking worked.

Too bad, what I experienced with Shopsync seemed awesome until I discovered the tracking issue.

O. Store
Sweden
Time spent using app: 4 days
Mailchimp replied February 17, 2020

Hi there, we saw your review and wanted to reach out right away.

Can you help us understand what you're referring to regarding tracking? We don't see any support tickets open and this isn't something we're familiar with in regard to the core functionality of our app; we would definitely like to learn more about the problem you're experiencing.

You can reach out to us anytime by contacting us at support@shopsync.io.