Mailchimp: Email Marketing

Mailchimp: Email Marketing

Free plan available. Additional charges may apply.
Rating (3.5)
Reviews
Developer
468 reviews
29 reviews
Overall rating
3.5
Counts per rating level
  • 62% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 7% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 20% of ratings are 1 stars
29 reviews
Edited December 6, 2022

UPDATE 12-6-22: Received an answer via Mailchimp for Shopify Support (app developer team) and they tried to help us. They rolled out an update and after that our problem was solved! Now everything is running as normal: perfect and smooth :-) 11-09-22: We are running into a technical issue with customers optin into our newsletter. Mailchimp is telling us we need to get in contact with the Mailchimp app developer, but if we get in contact with them via the email (no other option??) we receive the following: Thanks for reaching out. The support team for Mailchimp for Shopify is currently offline. If you have specific how-to-use Mailchimp questions (setting up Campaigns, Pop-ups, Automations, etc.), the support team for those features is online 24/7, 7 days a week. You can reach out to them anytime via this support link. Otherwise, we'll be in touch when we're back in the office as soon as we can! Have a great day in the meantime. So NO SUPPORT and in the meantime we have a BIG issue, but no help!

Your Wishes
Netherlands
Time spent using app: About 2 months
Mailchimp replied November 9, 2022

Hi there, we checked the support requests here at the app development team, and it looks like we replied to your initial question within a few hours. Perhaps our response went to spam? We want to help out with any questions you may have.

Don't hesitate to reach out to us at ecommappsupport@mailchimp.com, and we'll be happy to assist!

September 19, 2022

The initial sync went really well. My contacts, products and transactions all connected successfully, which was a huge relief. Later I got stuck on syncing my tags from Shopify to Mailchimp. So far I've been working on it for a few hours and the Shopify tags still aren't showing up in MailChimp. I only have ~ 200 customers and maybe five tags so I wasn't expecting this to be so frustrating. Now MailChimp is running in slow motion and its very confusing whether sync is causing this or something else? When you select the tags in Shopify to sync to Mailchimp, there is no "save" button or "sync" indicator to show its working. Overall, I love Shopify and Mailchimp. Amazing, incredibly powerful products. But this tag sync issue has me stumped and I'm spending too much time trying to figure it out.

FlipFresh - Elevate Your Spices
United States
Time spent using app: About 3 hours
Edited December 10, 2021

I've been using MailChimp and the ShopSync app which MailChimp now bought. Having problems with high abuse complaints, although I have no idea how that is possible since we are a small company that follows all the strict guidelines. Then for some reason customers are not syncing correctly. People who have unsubscribed can't resubscribe. It's a mess. However, the customer service is helpful if you have a paid plan and they are helping me sort it out, which is nice to know they are reliable in that sense.

GNL Footwear
Switzerland
Time spent using app: Over 2 years
July 30, 2021

Very Buggy, Whenever I want to update products onto a email template, it always ask me to reconnect my Shopify store.

Shop BBJ
United States
Time spent using app: About 1 year
Mailchimp replied July 30, 2021

Hello there!

Thanks so much for the feedback. We would like to point out that this is not an issue with ShopSync, but it could very well be a Mailchimp interface bug that we should submit to them to resolve.

ShopSync does not have any connection with the Mailchimp app itself, as our primary job is to get e-commerce data from your store into your Mailchimp account for segmenting or reporting etc.

Can you please reach out to your support team at Mailchimp and explain what's happening with your account? They should be able to help you resolve this issue. If you're still running into issues, you may also reach out to our support team as well and we'll be glad to assist further.

Thanks!

Edited July 12, 2021

I had subscribed for chat support a while ago and when I had my subscription made I have asked them for help via live chat and I got just an email from them telling me that I should subscribe for chat support before they can help me via chat. I just got sent some general information via email to solve a problem. I was waiting for hours for an answer but I did not got any further help . No answers via live chat and no emails but in the end they came back to me and explained it had to do with a kind of delay on their side. I still question this answer because I had this subscription a few days already before I had my first question via live chat made. This time delay cannot be a few days? In the end we were able to solve the problem via chat then. If you would like to reach them via chat they are working only at ET time. I give them 3 stars for now and if they turn to out to be really useful in future I may update my star rating to a higher score. I stay with them for now because far more difficult problems may arise in future and it is good to stay with them for now.

Petra's Design Shop
United Kingdom
Time spent using app: 5 months
Mailchimp replied July 12, 2021

Hi there, we responded to your latest email and chat is now online. Please let us know how we can help!

Edited July 11, 2021

There is absolutely no reason, why this app has to sync my products. Big red flag for us, and immediate uninstall.

FittedHats.com
United States
Time spent using app: 15 days
Mailchimp replied July 12, 2021

Hi there, thank you for your feedback. The reason why we sync products over to Mailchimp is so you can utilize it in your email marketing. For example, say you'd like to make product recommendations on campaigns that are sent out in the future. Also, syncing of the products helps you segment and tag your customers in Mailchimp; it's a great value-add when you're trying to learn about what your customers are buying and following up after the transaction.

Let us know if you have any thoughts on why this wouldn't be ideal in your case, we're happy to consider any future enhancements. Feel free to reach out to us at support@shopsync.io.

March 4, 2021

Acabo de sincronizarla con mi tienda online así que no se como me va a funcionar, lo que echo mucho de menos es que no esté en español, tengo que estar todo el tiempo utilizando el traductor y es muy incómodo.

Turulata
Spain
Time spent using app: 16 minutes
January 15, 2021

Pretty efficient except for one tiny detail that ends up being problematic : the `create date` field from Shopify is not synchronized with MailChimp when a new customer is created via Shopify API. Any chance this could be fixed?

Spaō
United States
Time spent using app: 5 days
Mailchimp replied January 15, 2021

Hi there, thanks for your review. We do pass the "date added" to Mailchimp as shown here in this example: https://a.cl.ly/nOuD0ww1. If you create a segment in Mailchimp, you can also filter those users by "date added".

Create date per se, would be the same thing, correct? Let us know if we're missing anything and we'll be glad to see what we can do.

October 20, 2020

I am not sure how it will work as it's a bit of a mystery. I had an import issue for an "Age Verification" field that was a required merge and their support put me through rigours that did not resolve the issue. The age verification field was a mandatory field and there was no alternative to map it to in the pop up field entries. I just mapped it to Customer Notes so it would merge my date between Shopify and Mailchimp but who knows if that can be changed later or fixed so it records proof of age properly - we sell alcohol so this is important!! I wish I could call and talk with someone but no such option exists so I am still riding blind and wondering if it will work at all - confidence is low right now.

Long Table Distillery
Canada
Time spent using app: 8 months
Mailchimp replied October 21, 2020

Hi there, we saw your review and wanted to reach back out. We also replied to your support ticket that was posted for some of your other questions. With the situation you're describing in the review, you would need to contact Mailchimp if you're having any trouble getting that age verification merge tag put in. Once that's done, ShopSync's merge tag mapper can populate data in that field with no issue. If you want to fill in past data for any reason, you could initiate a force resync from the ShopSync app inside of Shopify.

Please let us know if you need additional support around the features in ShopSync, we're happy to help anytime.

October 16, 2020

The app technically works, but there is a glaring bug that I'm not sure anyone has figured out a workaround for. If you send an email to a subscribed customer through Mailchimp and they click through the email and make a purchase but do not check the email opt in at the check out page, they get changed to transactional emails only. Meaning that you can't send them marketing comms moving forward. This leads to your highest quality subscribers essentially being opted out. Also, if they make it through the check out process AND check the box to receive email comms, the data gets passed through to Mailchimp as if they are a new subscriber and will get put into whatever onboarding workflow you have set up (if you have an onboarding program for new subs). So yes, this app works, but it often provides an experience for the end user that can make you and your site look like you don't know what you're doing an ultimately can turn people off to buying your products. I hope this gets sorted out eventually.

Oakland Roots SC
United States
Time spent using app: Over 1 year
Mailchimp replied October 19, 2020

Hi there, thank you for the feedback. We wanted to let you know that this behavior was patched on 10/12: https://shopsync.io/changelog.

Here is more information about it in our support area on how we handle those situations: https://support.shopsync.io/using-shopsync/syncing-information#subscribers-added-to-a-mailchimp-audience-prior-to-checking-out-in-your-shopify-store

If you're still having challenges with this after the update, please don't hesitate to reach out to us at support@shopsync.io.