UPDATED: If you have had the misfortune of getting involved with this awful app, check your auto generated customer email notification settings carefully. The code to email customers that the order has shipped is wrong. I've had customers going to dead end links that say invalid tracking numbers. Customers are calling me a scam and giving me poor reviews. All because they cannot get the accurate tracking information I provided for them in the settings of the auto-generated emails. I would just advise anyone to run from Oberlo. Every step of the way it has been an absolute disaster of incompetence and utter willful abandonment. There is zero customer support, not one thing works as it should, and all they do is gaslight you with bots, and when a live (allegedly) person actually DM's, they just send links to videos to teach you why you aren't doing something properly (even though you are doing exactly as the videos say) when the app is really just total junk. They won't acknowledge the "instructions" are wrong; they'll just send you another irrelevant training video. They don't fix ANYTHING. They admit to fault. They take absolutely zero responsibility for their incompetent failing ineffective error ridden app. It's an absolute disaster and a death sentence for small budget just starting out. Really Oberlo is shopify's way to point the finger instead of providing support. I mean really, why are email tracking notifications set up in Oberlo in the first place? What about the plethora of other (better) apps I use? I'd actually skip Shopify too if I had it to do over. I'm working everyday to sever my ties with both shopify and oberlo. Buyer be warned.
Meanwhile, Oberlo is absolute worthless garbage. I really believe it will HURT your business to use this app. I'd get away from it fast. It just goes from bad to really bad to worse to I cant believe it just got even worse.
Pricey for an Aliexpress add on. Really doesn't do anything but import products from aliexpress and then collect a substantial monthly cut. And since it only works with Aliexpress, you're at the mercy of Aliexpress ethics. Aliexpress sellers are notorious for misrepresenting shipping times (bait and switch is illegal in the USA) which leads to a very high return rate and unsatisfactory reviews. In short, it will ruin your reputation, costing you money and time. Now that Shopify is keeping their fees on returned goods you will really be getting stuck from all angles. You will be paying for unethical business practices from every app involved in the process. Not a good way to start (or keep) your business. Also, the phone app is a cluster of frustration. It doesn't work, won't connect with shopify so I can't place any of my customers orders from my phone. It's the gatekeeper between my customers' orders and aliexpress, but it doesn't work on the iphone 11 pro max. What a waste. Absolutely unsatisfactory. And finally there is a practice of late by apps with poor reviews to try to convince you that your experience is wrong and you need to change your review. That is a dead give away that the company is a scam and they will not be changing bad practices anytime soon.
Hey, Lynda Anne! Thanks for sharing your thoughts and feedback with us, it helps us to improve. As you likely know, we do have paid versions of our app, but you are also able to use Oberlo for free indefinitely with no cap on monthly orders. Our first paid tier is only $29USD and if your store is doing well, and you're scaling, then it's not an unreasonable fee to pay to unlock features one would need at that point.
When it comes to AliExpress, you're right. They're a largely unregulated company and so it's important you do what is necessary to protect yourself. We suggest working with suppliers who have a longstanding track record of excellent customer service. We also suggest that you sell generic products so that you can avoid selling products that may infringe on copyright or trademark.
Anyhow, we're sorry to hear that you didn't see value in our tool and we sincerely wish you the best in your business endeavors. 🙂 -Jasper
Cool Tees & Things
I want the option to manage orders in Shopify as I previously could using Oberlo rather than being forced to use Oberlo for all aspects of the ordering and fulfillment process.
Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review and offer feedback. We really appreciate it and it helps us to improve. You've been heard! And I've added your request to our feature suggestion wish list from merchants! All the best and our apologies for the inconvenience. 🙂 -Jasper
I do dropshipping from more than one websiteand not onlyAliExpress and I cannotarchive or add those sites
Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to write a review, sorry to hear you've not found our tool as useful as you thought it might have been. I can understand the need for wanting to have more integration with other marketplaces, for sure. As you know, all products sourced via Oberlo today only come from AliExpress. Thanks again and best of luck in your business endeavors. 🙂 -Jasper
Lot of bugs, I can't my find my 4 first sells in the app and I have to do the work manually because oberlo don't find any command. shitty app
Hey there! Sorry to hear you've had some trouble processing your first few orders. This is a part of the growing pains of new dropshipping businesses -- the issue of the missing orders is common and easily fixed using help docs like this (https://bit.ly/2zT0iUv). You're right, it does require that you manually override the products to re-initiate the connection, but this only occurs when you do an action in your store that breaks the sync. Once you know how to avoid this, you won't run into the issue again. Check out that guide for more information and when you have technical issues, please reach out so we can help you rectify them. 🙂 -Jasper
This app makes drop shipping incredibly easy. It only takes a few clicks to add a product to your store.
Hey there! Thanks very much for taking the time to write us a review, we're really pleased you found our tool easy to use. We wish you the very best with your business and look forward to working with you in the longterm! 🙂 -Jasper
Awful experience! The app does not work properly! I have spent hours to write descriptions of the products only to find out that they could not be uploaded to my store after I have imported the products. Now I have to start all over again. Such a waste of time, they could even ensure smooth sync btw oberlo and shopify! Plus, many products are not available for import due to some mysterious reasons.
Hi there! Sorry to hear you've had some trouble using the system. It's no fun when tools don't work as you expect.
It sounds like you were writing descriptions in a CSV, is that right? It's too bad you had to find out that way that you cannot upload descriptions in that format. Descriptions must be written in the Shopify Admin product editor. Apologies if we were not clear on this.
When products are blocked from being imported, it's because we're prohibiting products that infringe on copyright or trademarks. This is for your protection. Whether it's obvious that a product violates terms of service, or not, it's blocked to mitigate your personal liability. That's why you cannot import certain products.
Sorry to hear you had that issues with the product descriptions. You definitely won't have that issue if you edit within the Admin moving forward. -Jasper
BEWARE! The vendors are not vetted properly by Oberlo. In particular, Ali Express. Although, Oberlo is the application they do make the decision to procure the vendors that source products using their application. I've received copyright infringement complaints. And one of my social media accounts was shutdown due to unlicensed products.
When using the Oberlo application there should be some level of approval of vendors and legal sourcing.
I would not spend anything to upgrade since the vendors used are not legally vetted and not liable for the faults of the vendors.
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Oberlo is simply a tool used to import products from AliExpress, we do not have any governance over AliExpress.
That said, you're correct, AliExpress is largely unregulated and there are many inauthentic sellers on the platform. Shopify works diligently to block products that infringe on copyright and trademarks, but a major challenge is that there are millions of products on AliExpress, and many slip through the cracks or have not yet been flagged. It's our job as merchants to ensure that we do our competitive research and that we're not selling products that infringe on trademarks.
I'm really sorry to hear that one of your social accounts was shut down, that's not ideal. I think it's important to make the distinction here that these vendors are not affiliated with Oberlo or Shopify whatsoever. They simply sell on AliExpress and we've simply got a tool to import any and all products from AliExpress. I hope that helps to explain how the ecosystem works. -Jasper
Rien de plus pratique qu'une application qui entre les adresses des clients automatiquement. J'aime aussi pouvoir comparer de façon claire le prix d'aliexpress avec celui de ma boutique.
Hi there! Apologies, but at this time we're only able to respond in English. I've used Google Translate to reply to your message. Thank you so much for the feedback. We wanted to make the ordering process easier for our merchants, so I'm glad to hear you are enjoying that aspect. Thank you again. -Kitana
I gave the chance to this app twice, and I had to uninstall it because products never arrived to destination .
Hi there! Sorry to hear that happened. When selecting products to sell it's important to make sure you're using trustable suppliers. If you're not sure about the suppliers you're using please reach out to us and we can check out the suppliers for you. Thank you for the feedback. -Kitana
Be careful, I had a letter from Picrights demanding money because images imported on Oberlo products infringed copyright. They were no help and just said i was liable.
Hi there. I'm sorry you had that experience with the product images from AliExpress. Please note that Oberlo does not have its own products or product images. I suggest taking your own product photos to avoid any type of copyright issues. Thank you for giving us the feedback. We always want to make the Oberlo experience better for our merchants. Hopefully we see you again in the future. 🙂 -Kitana