Oberlo ‑ Dropshipping App

Oberlo ‑ Dropshipping App | Reviews

by Shopify

Find products to sell on Shopify

4.3 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

  • 5 of 5 stars
    83% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    6% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    2% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    2% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    8% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

31 - 40 of 2427 reviews

HappyBuy Mall

Very disappointing app. Rest on its laurels, it's worthless compared to "shopmaster". It's a pity that shopmaster is going to be taken off the shelves. Shopify will buy it to replace oberlo, otherwise the shop will have to be closed. It is too difficult to do dropshipping without shopmaster. No app can replace it. This is sad.

Developer reply

March 23, 2021

Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm really sorry to hear that you didn't have an enjoyable experience using the app. I can imagine it is difficult to switch tools mid-operation, and I'll bet the transition for you has been tough as it has been for many other merchants having to scramble after the Shopmaster announcement. We'd love to help you get ramped up and acquainted with the app in more depth, so please don't hesitate to reach out if you needed some guided assistance. If you're moving on, we're sorry to hear that too, but we wish you the best in your business regardless of which tools you choose to use. -Jasper

Rooster Antiques

First off, the price they set the product at is the resale price, NOT wholesale. I'm sorry, but I cannot waste my time trying to add products to my store and make zero money, walmart big lots target ect sell most of all of these products at the same cost you're wanting to sell to us a dropshipping reseller which is wrong. I will NOT be doing buisness with this app.

Developer reply

March 16, 2021

Hi there! 👋 Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback. I understand what you mean, and some product prices do match prices in popular local stores! The Oberlo app helps you import and fulfill products directly from AliExpres. AliExpress sellers set product prices, and most are competitive. That said, Oberlo does not have control over the wholesale prices.

As with anything in life, on AliExpress, some suppliers are better than others. I suggest using Top Brand suppliers on AliExpress since they are rated the best for their products and customer support. Always ensure reliable suppliers with great feedback in most aspects (shipping time, product quality, customer support, etc.). It's best to aim for a 4.5 rating and above. We want to see you succeed, and we hope you can give Oberlo another chance. Nevertheless, I wish you the best of luck with your business, no matter which app you choose to use. 💪 -Iris

Bijuz

well... ive used in past with almost trouble free, but miss some features like others app offer.... like advanced price match, etc a lot of features that OBERLO since 3-4 years ago what does is just change layouts.... support always give some type of answers like templates without almost 0 information we need, also if you came from another app they do not help in import, you have to manually override each one by one... in 2021 its the solution??????? price rules dont work good, and still use the "multiplyer" ONLY!! after 3-4 years they cant change or add more option? like change price only if price raise... set % multiplyer, set the product price cost with Shipping!! yes this is a must for nowdays... so now only way i see is manully set prices each time they change! to be 100% safe!!. OBerlo and sohpify, come on guys you are better than this i think.....

Developer reply

March 12, 2021

Hi there! 👋 Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback. I understand what you mean, and those are fantastic suggestions! I will make sure to pass it on to our development team. ✌️ The Auto Updates feature works as expected. However, delays happen as AliExpress pushes new inventory data out to Oberlo every 24-72 hours. With so many products, it can take some time to update across the entire platform. If you ever get an order while your supplier has that item out of stock, you can override products in existing orders with products in stock from other suppliers. Process steps are outlined here (https://bit.ly/3cn5aBz).

I would also want to apologize for the poor experience with our Support Team. That is not the standard we strive to achieve and how we want to be perceived. We've dropped the ball here, and for that, there's no excuse. We hope you might give Oberlo another chance. 😊 I wish you the best of luck with your eCommerce business, no matter which course you choose to use. 💪 -Iris

EverBelle Skin Rejuvenation

Poor Customer support also needs more advanced features. I contact their team about 4-5 days ago and no response.

Developer reply

March 5, 2021

Hi there! I'm really sorry to learn that you have had a poor experience while trying to get in touch with our customer success team. We do our best to be responsive to all inquiries, and it sounds like in this case we have let you down. Please accept our apologies. I certainly hope that by now the issue you were facing has been rectified and I invite you to send us a direct message on Facebook so that we can learn more about what happened here. Hope to hear from you soon. 🙂 -Jasper

mavreckshopsclothing

This app helped me a lot with my pugyou.net store by saving time and money. I recommend, and i hope you'll enjoy it as much as I did

Developer reply

March 5, 2021

Hey there! Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review. We're super pleased to hear that you have benefited from Oberlo. All the best! 🙂 -Jasper

Merino Flair

Its the best dropshipping app feature out there. The UI is easy to use, large quality product selection and smart ordering system. 5 stars.

Developer reply

March 1, 2021

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! I'll pass on your compliments to our dev team! Keep up the hustle. 🙂 -Rio

Webizzle

I totally love this app!! helps me a lot with the products that I need to find. Would def recommend

Developer reply

February 2, 2021

We totally love your review! 🎉 We work hard to provide a great app for entrepreneurs, so this type of feedback makes us super happy. 🤩 All the best with your dropshipping business, and don't hesitate to reach out if you need help! -Iris

Digiton Express

The app works great and is very reliable. Fast and easy setup. Support is very nice as well. Will recommend this

Developer reply

February 2, 2021

Hi there! 👋Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such great feedback. We're beyond happy to hear our merchants are satisfied and confident with Oberlo. I will make sure to pass your kind words to our Support Team. This always puts a smile on their face! 💃 Best of luck! 💙 -Iris

Snapberry

This app is very useful. Helps a lot to make work more efficiently and faster. I would most definitely recommend this one.

Developer reply

January 19, 2021

Hi there! 👋 Thanks for the awesome review! 💙 We really appreciate it. I couldn’t agree more that Oberlo makes life easier for entrepreneurs. 🙌 Happy dropshipping, and don't forget to reach out to us when you're in need. -Iris

CoolLifeHome

Developer, please tell me whether this app has stopped running? Because I couldn't open this app at all, the goods uploaded by this app appeared incomplete information loading in the store

Developer reply

January 14, 2021

Hey there! Wow, I'm really sorry to hear you've had such a poor experience using the app recently. There aren't any widespread outages of note, but it is possible there a brief and intermittent issue. That said, all systems are a go right now. If you're still experiencing the issue, please reach out to us at hello@oberlo.com so that we can take a closer look. In the meantime, please make sure you're using Google Chrome to access Oberlo and Shopify. And if you haven't yet done so, make sure you clear cookies and cache, then restart to make sure the issue is not happening locally. We are keen on helping you get this issue sorted out, so please make sure to message us if the issue persists. Apologies for the inconvenience and we look forward to hearing from you soon. 🙂 -Jasper