Oberlo ‑ Dropshipping App

Oberlo ‑ Dropshipping App

by Shopify

Find products to sell on Shopify

4.2 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    83% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    6% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    2% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    2% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    7% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

51 - 60 of 2380 reviews

Sunny Sombrero

I like this app....browsing products is really easy and helpful...also adding products to my store is great

Developer reply

July 21, 2020

Thanks for taking the time out of your day to leave a review! I hope you're finding the products you want to sell! 🙂 -Rio

little tee london

on my app its saying shipping methods not available and i dont know why ?am very disapointed as it is

Developer reply

July 9, 2020

Hey there. Thanks for reaching out and leaving us a review. Sorry to hear that there were issues selecting a shipping method on your product, but I’d be happy to help. This error would appear if you haven’t set up your shipping methods in Shopify correctly for the shipping destination. I’ve got the right guide to help out with that here (https://bit.ly/2ZRFhmX). Once your shipping settings are set correctly you should be able to order that product with no issue! Try that out and if you still need any further assistance fire us a message at hello@oberlo.com and we’re happy to help resolve that for you! 🙂 -Rio

Kupora

I though I would Oberlo another go and I can see Shopify have removed my 1 star rating from before. Well done Shopify on deleting 1 star ratings.

Your compare at price formula is still illegal. Because when the item in AliExpress is not on sale, the sell price will never equal the compared price. I suggest you go to a retail store and see how pricing works.

Your pricing formulae do not take into consider any delivery costs offered by AliExpress. One item could have a delivery cost of $20 and another $0. So the $20 would put me out of pocket. This was mentioned to Oberlo I think 2 years ago. You still have not done anything about it.

Developer reply

July 9, 2020

Hi there! I'm really sorry you had this experience, I’d never want our merchants to feel frustrated or neglected.
When it comes to price changes we always encourage merchants to set up Auto Update notifications to your needs so you can ensure you’re always aware of any product changes from supplier’s end. You can contact our Customer support team at hello@oberlo.com who will be happy to help you review your current setup.

You are correct that shipping cost is not calculated in the formula and we understand this may be the pain point in the process so once again thank you for providing us with feedback on that.
Shipping rates vary greatly depending on the origin and destination of your parcel so we highly recommend checking product rates for each country you aim to sell to before forming your retail price to ensure you’re not at loss. This will also help you determine whether it’s better to include the shipping cost in the price and offer free shipping or setup shipping rate within your Shopify store.

Hopefully we can make this experience better for you in the future and all the best with your business, regardless of which tools you decide to use in the future.🙂 - Iris

Elizeal

Excellent app, great integration. Makes life so much easier! Can even browse products right in the app.

Developer reply

July 9, 2020

Hey there. Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to leave us this sweet review! I love that our app is helping make your life easier. If you have any other questions, feel free to fire us a message at hello@oberlo.com. 😃 -Rio

Hygge4You

Great app!!! I really like the demo video on how dropshipping with Oberlo works! Thank you for making this

Developer reply

July 9, 2020

Hey there! Thanks for your feedback on the app! I love that our videos are helping you find what you need easily. I’ll make sure to share your feedback with our team! Don’t hesitate to reach out if you need anything. 🙂 -Rio

Guy & His Dog

This app works as it should; however, it's connected to AliExpress, which is a shot in the dark. I understand that AliExpress is a platform with various storefronts for customers of all sorts. Still, it works, and it doesn't. I've had some lost orders, which makes my business look terrible. Items are slow for delivery, and things are lost continuously or untrackable. It's best to have the product at home and send it out with a FedEx, USPS, Etc., with a tracking number so that you know where your sent items are going and delivered.

Developer reply

July 9, 2020

Hello there! Thanks so much for your review - we always appreciate getting feedback as it helps us improve as quickly as possible where it matters the most for our merchants. I completely understand where you’re coming from regarding the shipping process and time when dropshipping from AliExpress, particularly from China suppliers. While this is something we are unable to control we have a great set of guides and tutorials on how to overcome and alternatively position the long shipping wait with your customers. This one is my personal favourite - (https://bit.ly/2W31gGr).👍

Another thing that might interest you is AliExpress does offer a large variety of dropshipping products from their warehouses outside of China which may significantly reduce shipping times.
No matter what country, always make sure to find a reliable supplier with great feedback in most aspects (shipping time, product quality, customer support etc). It’s best to aim for a 4.5 rating and above.

I’m really happy you know the value Oberlo adds to your business and I want you to make the most out of it. Our team enjoys helping any business as if it’s our own so you can always contact our Customer Support at hello@oberlo.com. They'll be more than happy to help you with anything. Stay relentless! 😊 - Iris

Steel My Mug

The thing I like the most about this app is the possibility to explore many new products to sell in my store

Developer reply

July 9, 2020

Hi there! It’s so great to hear you have been enjoying our app to the fullest. I couldn’t agree more that the most exciting part is how easy and fast you can access such a variety of products and have them in your very own store! 💃
We're always working on new features to help merchants to grow quickly, so if you ever have a new great idea of what you’d like to see as a new feature please let us know 😉 Thanks for your great feedback and keep up the great work. I know you got it! 🌟 - Iris

NintendoMemories

if your making hundred of dollars, get out of this game. if your making thousands you NEED this. period.

updated** this "APP" is just inventory freeware that exists at big box retailers. LEARN YOUR INDUSTRY PEOPLE. RETAIL.

Developer reply

July 9, 2020

Hey there! We appreciate the review and kind words! We make our app for merchants like you, I’m happy to see it was able to provide you value. Also hundreds isn’t always a bad thing, because you need to make hundreds before you get to thousands, and you need thousands before tens of thousands! Happy dropshipping. 🙂 -Rio

Toys Jungle

I wouldn't recommend this app for anyone the shipping takes forever and you cant track your packages. If you enjoy giving refunds then this the app for you. If you don't like giving refunds then stay away from this app. Customers are unhappy waiting so long. I can't tell them where is the package( tracking is a joke) and when it will be delivered. I paid for shipping 16-26 days and it is over a month and wasn't delivered yet. I can't say if it is in China or Canada , Last tracking updates where two days after the package was shipped and no more tracking. Customers already asking me where is the package and I was told that they will report me to the bureau for fraud. Oberlo app is working good but making business with aliexpress is not the way Oberlo is telling you.

Developer reply

July 9, 2020

Hey there. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Apologies for the experience you had shipping and tracking your packages. I’ve dealt with similar situations before so I know how this can feel. Customers may wait a while for their packages, but in my experience outlining a shipping policy clearly can help curb that question; and set the expectation that packages may take some time to ship. Check out our template for a shipping policy in this blog (https://bit.ly/3e9O3lh). If you have an order that has tracking but isn’t being updated, I’d suggest opening an appeal on AliExpress to get a refund for that product if possible. I’d also suggest checking out our guide on handling these situations (https://bit.ly/2DpGxGv). If you need some extra eyes on this case we’re happy to help! Just shoot us a message at hello@oberlo.com and we’ll see how we can assist you! 🙂 -Rio

Finest Tea House

很不错的软件,有库存同步,还可以直接把速卖通上的产品listing导入到我的店铺里面。目前还没有尝试直接下单的功能,如果直接下单功能也能同步的话那真的是相当不错了。 另外一个问题就是如果软件后台可以显示物流表现的话,会更好。